hey, who mentioned abt disliking contis in anyway?? dun read so much into it.Originally posted by HENG@:so ultimately, it doesn't pay for u guys to dislike contis the way u do. let the japs gain total control of your market and then they dictate what sort of cars u get, instead of the consumer dictating the market![]()
not u la. sg in generalOriginally posted by tiggersgd:hey, who mentioned abt disliking contis in anyway?? dun read so much into it.
i've driven contis myself...so i know what i m going after. imho, cars are pretty much a consumer market still...
as for japs dictating the mkt...i really dun see it that way. they're the manufacturer n so have a say in what model/looks get to be launched...they certainly didn't consult the would-be consumers in the respective mkts regarding their car launches...be it jap or contis...feedback would be taken in but not all will be implemented.
just put it simply, its the management (partly sales/biz dev/marketing) decision.
dun think so bro...its conflicting and confusing...perhaps they can think of bringing in a 3 dr version of civic (JDM if any).Originally posted by ceecookie:other than PI...is kah motor considering to bring it in as another model of it?
Originally posted by HENG@:not u la. sg in general
management, esp sales, biz n marketing, are driven by the market itself. so must blame the market lohwho's the market? you guys again
what conti did u drive?
actually the whole world will be receptive of green cars.. esp with oil prices reaching stratospheric prices... and toyota juz relaunched thier pirus ad in sg...Originally posted by HENG@:just need to clarify ma. u dun say, i wun know.
hmmmm dunno. why honda not pushing the hybrid in uk, this u have to ask honda itself. esp since europe is being very receptive towards "green" cars now.
curious.Originally posted by tiggersgd:wahahaha...ok, fair enough.
driven a ford mondeo n beemer 3 series b4. y did u ask?
yeah...it looks gd too.Originally posted by n0x:actually the whole world will be receptive of green cars.. esp with oil prices reaching stratospheric prices... and toyota juz relaunched thier pirus ad in sg...
i thought so too.. but it wasnt well received last time... and with the civic hybrid now.. i dun think it will be well received also.. hahaOriginally posted by tiggersgd:yeah...it looks gd too.
no lah...i think got chance. warranty also counts. plus it has more horses (slightly) than the civic 8th gen hybrid...Originally posted by n0x:i thought so too.. but it wasnt well received last time... and with the civic hybrid now.. i dun think it will be well received also.. haha
certainly hope ur no cat...dun wanna kill u that way.Originally posted by HENG@:curious.
not hot lah, juz cannot tahan ppl who dunno sh|t but like to blabber anyway.Originally posted by HENG@:wah ah pek u so hot against the other fella.
hmm ok la. u feel its respectable, I feel they didn't do as well as most ppl hoped they would.
hmmm this year... season is still far from over. The Seats are looking dangerous, and James Thompson and Jason Plato looking hungry.
Say i never realised it, till one day i was watching 5th gear and it clicked in my head, that the Jason Plato of 5th gear is the same jason plato of BTCC! 5th gear, that channel five equivalent of top gear, which also has tiff and vicki butler in it, u know?
ah, now u trying to assume that i have job insecurities? nice try in throwing the debate off course. say "another vtec junkie" "i can't even be bothered liao" for wad? if u were so smart, why couldn't u be bothered? ur attempt at sounding aloof is patheticOriginally posted by n0x:i reccomend a career change.. go be english teacher... not happy with boss izzit.. come forum shoot pple.. veh shiok right.. aim me for a long time already right.. cos i say ur vtec system not good right.. another vtec junkie.. sheesh.. i cant even be bothered liaoz...
u are damn farny leh. wad u have juz done is tell everyone you know nothing. cut and paste one link means u know alot? wah, like dat i go cut and paste a link about rocket science means i can make space shuttles liao wor.Originally posted by n0x:go read this.. dun come and bother me.. know how to read english right... know how to see graph right... http://www.geocities.com/gkurka2001/CarTech/vvt_3.htm and pls do go and read.. dun say i dunno anything juz know how to cut and paste.. then start shooting all over the shop...
u are humble "most of the time" when ppl do not bother to correct ur mistakes. but when i bothered to, u juz couldn't swallow it. in wad manner were ur previous responses "humble"? in my time here, i've offended a few forumites and befriended a few more in the process. those are the ppl who understand what is humility. and if i have to wait for someone to criticize me before i can voice my views, might as well dun call this a forum. call "kindergarten" betterOriginally posted by n0x:i am humble most of the times esp towards older forumites cos they have been there done that and provide valuable info.. check my postings la.. but u have to ignite the flame in me.. din even critisize u.. next time want to point out pple's mixtake say in a nicer way..cos u might not be all right in the first place... dun open mouth offend pple.. the way u talk is so full of contempt.. why 33 veh old ah.. can go ard claiming to eat salt more than pple eat rice ah... work stress ah.. take it out on family memebers la.... go bar get wasted la... why hide behind screen give pple english lesson...
okie lets put this in another perspective... ur aiming me stems from the fact tt i say the new R18A1 engine which is supposedly i-vtec doesnt have cam phasing.. and u start shooting me from where there is a loophole in my argument.. lets juz say i am not out defaming i-vtec.. cos everyone is saying i-vtec is cam phasing and cam changing... obviously since my uncle juz bought the car and i loved the car.. i wld like the R18A1 to be a good engine..Originally posted by tailslide:u are humble "most of the time" when ppl do not bother to correct ur mistakes. but when i bothered to, u juz couldn't swallow it. in wad manner were ur previous responses "humble"? in my time here, i've offended a few forumites and befriended a few more in the process. those are the ppl who understand what is humility. and if i have to wait for someone to criticize me before i can voice my views, might as well dun call this a forum. call "kindergarten" better
btw, i'm not even past 30. i never told u i ate more salt and i like to spend my time flaming ignorant forumites like u. who are u to tell me wad i shd do?![]()
so far, when he's failed to score well, its due to accidents. Altho for the past few races, when he fails to win, often is because currently the field seems to have evened out enough that overtaking is not easy.Originally posted by tailslide:not hot lah, juz cannot tahan ppl who dunno sh|t but like to blabber anyway.
i never remember the names of the presenters anyway, so i'm completely duffus on who is jason plato
season is far from over, but looking at the gap between 1st and 2nd, i'd say matt has a pretty good chance. unless he's driving fails us of course.![]()
cat got 9 lives.Originally posted by tiggersgd:certainly hope ur no cat...dun wanna kill u that way.
Originally posted by HENG@:cat got 9 lives.
but im undead, so u can't kill me.![]()
lets juz say i couldn't care less if the R18 has i-vtec or not. i was less than impressed by wad u potrayed to know.Originally posted by n0x:okie lets put this in another perspective... ur aiming me stems from the fact tt i say the new R18A1 engine which is supposedly i-vtec doesnt have cam phasing.. and u start shooting me from where there is a loophole in my argument.. lets juz say i am not out defaming i-vtec.. cos everyone is saying i-vtec is cam phasing and cam changing... obviously since my uncle juz bought the car and i loved the car.. i wld like the R18A1 to be a good engine..
but looking at the torque graph above doesnt impress me... and i saying ivtec doesnt nessarily include cam phasing came frm 3 things.... and i wld like u to ponder abt this for once...
casually implied that cam phasing is exclusive to a DOHC i-vtec engine.....Originally posted by n0x:1. quote from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VTEC: i-VTEC introduced continuously variable camshaft phasing on the intake cam of DOHC VTEC engines. The technology first appeared on Honda's K-series four cylinder engine family in 2002. Valve lift and duration are still limited to distinct low and high rpm profiles, but the intake camshaft is now capable of advancing between 25 and 50 degrees (depending upon engine configuration) during operation. Phase changes are implemented by a computer controlled, oil driven adjustable cam gear. Phasing is determined by a combination of engine load and rpm, ranging from fully retarded at idle to maximum advance at full throttle and low rpms. The effect is further optimization of torque output, especially at low and midrange RPMs.
[b]In 2004, Honda introduced an i-VTEC V6 (an update of the venerable J-series), but in this case, i-VTEC had nothing to do with cam phasing. Instead, i-VTEC referred to Honda's cylinder deactivation technology which closes the valves on one bank of (3) cylinders during light load and low speed (below 80 mph) operation. The technology was originally introduced to the US on the Honda Odyssey, and can now be found on the Honda Accord Hybrid and the 2006 Honda Pilot. An additional version of i-VTEC was introduced on the 2006 Honda Civic's R-series four cylinder engine. This implementation uses very small valve lifts at low rpm and light loads, in combination with large throttle openings (modulated by a drive-by-wire throttle system), to improve fuel economy by reducing pumping losses.
With the continued introduction of vastly different i-VTEC systems, one may assume that the term is now a catch all for creative valve control technologies from Honda.[/b][/quote]
so u have conveniently cut and pasted one whole chunk of info on wad i-vtec does and wad vehicles are equipped with them......
[quote]Originally posted by n0x:
2. like u said.. it is introduced in k20a engine... but k20a is a DOHC found in the integra... if cam phasing were to be introduced in a sohc.. wldnt it be complicated...
followed on by bringing in a completely different car manufacturer using similar technology in a comparison using economics......Originally posted by n0x:3. i believe toyota is bigger than honda..no offence... its primed to take over GM as world no.1 auto maker. toyota also had a similar ivtec tt has cam phasing and cam changing( the thing tt alters lift) in the form of vvtl-i found in the celica... in fact vvtl-i is introudced 2 years earlier than the one found on the k20a unit.... as ernie has said toyota dun find it economical sensible to mass produce such engines...if a car maker as big as toyota cant find a way to successfully market this high tech engine.. do u think honda a smaller car maker can.. and if honda made ivtec with cam phasing mainstream.. wun it be losing money big time... yes honda cars are more ex than toyota's u might argue.. but ernie said tt toyota is reserving vvtl-i for its lexus range... if any... do u think a 10k plus premium btw a honda and toyota car can cover the cost of production and develpoment of the engine... and also how will toyota face the industry if honda can make a similar thing economically viable while toyota failed... so now the score is 1-1.. honda has this in the integra and toyota has this in the celica...
before come up with conclusion that the R18 "most prob wun" have cam phasing? sure didn't convince me dude.Originally posted by n0x:this 3 points made me conclude tt the new R18A1 need not neccesarily has cam phasing and most prob wun... regarding the US lawsuit ernie point out tt i also dunno how to explain... if u can translate jap maybe i can read what the website tt ernie has posted is saying...and if u still think i do not know what cam phasing is... so be it.. if u wanna agrue some more.. i can pm u my msn...
hey dude.. i put in my own words u challenge my vocab.. i copied whole chunks of words for ur ref.. u say i conviniently copied one whole chunk.. and u meant to say i dun understand what i copied and pasted... c'mon those articles are meant to help people understand what valve varying techniques are all about...then what u want... u want come out we talk over kopi...then u want me summarize text for u then u happy izzit... face it.. u juz wanted to shoot me right from the start iregardless of wheather i got it right or wrong cos my previous entries sorta irked u one way or another..i cant be bothered anymore dude... say what u want.. mr know- it -all who says that retardation is turning the cam backwards...Originally posted by tailslide:before come up with conclusion that the R18 "most prob wun" have cam phasing? sure didn't convince me dude.
and for the record, i'm not here to argue with anyone. if u had valid points to convince me that u knew more about i-vtec or how cam phasing works, i might be less inclined to challenge ur views.
of the hybrids... i think the toyota has the better one.. apparently the system in the honda ain't that great.. nor as resolved..Originally posted by Tayysj:u shld seriously get the hybrid since petrol prices are like o.0
haha, from wad i gather, u STILL think retarding a cam equals slowing it down? fine. then how do u retard a cam at say, 8000 rpms? jam brakes ah? u know so much den explain this part to all the forumites reading this lah. i believe i have given u ample opportunities to explain urself.Originally posted by n0x:hey dude.. i put in my own words u challenge my vocab.. i copied whole chunks of words for ur ref.. u say i conviniently copied one whole chunk.. and u meant to say i dun understand what i copied and pasted... c'mon those articles are meant to help people understand what valve varying techniques are all about...then what u want... u want come out we talk over kopi...then u want me summarize text for u then u happy izzit... face it.. u juz wanted to shoot me right from the start iregardless of wheather i got it right or wrong cos my previous entries sorta irked u one way or another..i cant be bothered anymore dude... say what u want.. mr know- it -all who says that retardation is turning the cam backwards...
go read a dictionary.. retard is defined as delaying something from happening...
haha i think U r retarded..Originally posted by tailslide:haha, from wad i gather, u STILL think retarding a cam equals slowing it down? fine. then how do u retard a cam at say, 8000 rpms? jam brakes ah? u know so much den explain this part to all the forumites reading this lah. i believe i have given u ample opportunities to explain urself.
i think u should go and read a dictionary too. a retard is also a person with slow brain development.
ah, desperate liao muz scold ppl moron ah? relax relax. dun let ppl know u buay steady liaoOriginally posted by n0x:haha i think U r retarded..
at high engine speeds u advance the timing at which the intake vavle open.. at slow engine speeds u retard it.. not retard it at high engine speeds... cam phasing is controling the timing at which the valves open and shut WITH RESPECT TO the egine speed to ensure efficeint breathing...moron... eh i paste all those links u nv go and read ah.. afraid to face the truth.. i can bet it nv says anything abt turning the cam backwards...
a SOHC engine has a single cam with both exhaust and intake lobes built into the full length of the cam. when u advance it, the WHOLE sequence of intake and exhaust valve timing would have been advanced by turning the cam in the same direction of the engine. obviously, when u retard it, the WHOLE sequence of intake and exhaust valve timing is retarded by turning the cam in the opposite direction of the engine. u have a situation whereby the number of degrees advance (setting cams forward) or retard (setting the cams in the reverse direction) of a single cam is dictating the the timing of BOTH the exhaust and intake ports. thats the reason why DOHC is superior to SOHC. each cam is independant of the other. either cam be advanced or retarded without the exhaust cam affecting the intake cam and vice versa. thats also how DOHC engines equipped with variable valve timing are able run variable amounts of overlap at different rpms via the number of degrees of advance or retard programmed into the ecu.Originally posted by n0x:if going by ur saying tt the cam turns backwards and "the intake cam in a K20A can advance or retard 50 degrees relative to the exhaust cam at ANY engine speed" then in a SOHC intake camlobes needs to go foward and the exhaust camlobes has to turn backwards then how??? or what individually control each cam lobes ah.. this kinda engine u can afford or not... eh think b4 u say la...
so i have. and praytell from which one of my previous posts did u derive that i do not know the diff between vvt-i and DUAL vvt-i? eyes playing tricks on you or premature brain rot?Originally posted by n0x:eh how bout u so smart u write ur explanation here la.. let me have chance to shoot u also.. or if i cannot shoot u tt means i really dunno anything and u know everything liaoz loh... since i had my chacne i give u the chance to write ur thesis la.. cant even tell the diff btw vvt-i and dual vvt-i suggests u dun read much at all![]()