Yar, but we are not talking about OccRates, we are talking about how is OBS going to make additional US$35 million (profit, not sales) from a F1 weekend with just 2 hotels.Originally posted by yousure??:I apologise that I missed out on the underlined section. However, the hilton and FS's have one of highest ADRs in Singapore. You can be pretty sure that the OccRates for luxury hotels will benefit whether over looking the track or not if the F1 comes to Singapore.
Even if Fullerton could charge US$10,000 (per night), Fullerton would then need another 499 suites (according to your calculation). Hotel rooms are not the only one to benefit - about 30% of top line revenue comes from F&B. Furthermore, if OBS gets the deal - most of the bosses and celebrities would be funnelled to his hotel. On top of that, you have the functions and banquets which will increase the F&B revenues higher.Originally posted by Gazelle:Yar, but we are not talking about OccRates, we are talking about how is OBS going to make additional US$35 million (profit, not sales) from a F1 weekend with just 2 hotels.
US$35,000,000/500 rooms/7days = US$10,000 per night (that is only sales, not profit) You think it is possible?
If you ask me if it is possible to charge US$10,000 per night at Fullerton suite over looking the marina bay and esplanade. I think it is highly possible.
Have you ever ask yourself why the government is involved in this project?Originally posted by yousure??:Even if Fullerton could charge US$10,000 (per night), Fullerton would then need another 499 suites (according to your calculation). Hotel rooms are not the only one to benefit - about 30% of top line revenue comes from F&B. Furthermore, if OBS gets the deal - most of the bosses and celebrities would be funnelled to his hotel. On top of that, you have the functions and banquets which will increase the F&B revenues higher.
If he does strike a deal with Mr Ecc, its going to be after he runs his numbers - and I am sure its not going to solely revolve around hotel room sales.
It is obvious that you are not a F1 fan, PERIOD!Originally posted by weiqimun:F1 will not be in SGP.
OBS is not stupid. there is no money to be made here....unless the gahmen pass the $ to OBS and he passes it as his...generally the overall economy may benefit but can u imagine OBS being generous and passes the benefits to others where he coughs out the $millions? i cannot envisage that. if it's pride he's after, then nothing to say [like chel$ki, abra guys can lose $$$mmm a year and not be bothered...)
i also mentioned in my other posts tt logistically it is going to be tough to host it on the streets of Sg. SGP roads generally too narrow and overly confined to be able to hold a race where there can be overtaking, etc. i can't think of a 5km stretch ring road that can facilitate that. that's why monaco race is one of the most boring. there's few stretches of the road where 1 can overtake a car.
ya .. maybe at marina south area .. or tuas ...Originally posted by alleggerita:Yeah..quite true..but I would seriously hope Singapore think of something and bring Formula One to Singapore..lol..maybe build a race track..we definitely have a piece of land big enuff for it..haha..![]()
on the contrary, i am a fan.Originally posted by Gazelle:It is obvious that you are not a F1 fan, PERIOD!

Originally posted by kiss29:1) Would the F1 drivers agree to race at night? F1 cars got NO headlights! F1 cars got small rear view mirrors! F1 drivers would risk their life driving in a totally new low light situation?
2) Are the roads 'flat' enough for the F1 cars? Singapore roads are 'choppy' and full of potholes and are not of the 'F1' or racing circuit quality. Can F1 cars handle the uneven and slippery road?
3) Narrow two-three lanes are not wide enough for F1 cars to overtake!
4) Singapore road is totally new. There are no simulations or past records for the F1 team to rely on! Even if farrari/mclaren willing to pay $$millions of dollar to book the race track for a day, it is nigh-high impossible, unlike other fees-collecting racing circuit! Do you think F1 driver will risk their life on a unfamiliar race track, furthermore at night!!??
5) How is the police going to control human traffic along the whole track? totally ban, only those paying $$ tickets can watch?
6) Shenton way, Esplanade, Suntec, City hall all need to shut down. Remember the recent 4million smiles convention at Suntec? What about 'terrorist' security precautions, these visitors are Multi-millionairs.
7) What can Singapore offers besides Nice hotels(Fullerton/Raffles/Marina) and Shopping center?Most visitors will be from this region mainly Malaysia or Indonesia. Just like how some Singaporeans go to Sepang to watch the malaysia F1. Do these people need introduction to their neighbour, Singapore? They will come simply because they already know Singapore, not to learn about Singapore.
Ok...Melbourn race was shown on TV.....how many people were introduced to Australia/Melbourn thru StarSport telecast of the F1 race? Did anyone see/remember any buildings or features of Melbourn, something that makes you want to rush out to buy a ari tickek to visit Australia?
All I saw was racing cars zooming around, never did notice any interesting landmarks(even if there were, commentators will not be telling the viewer anything other than race details).
9) This race will not benefits the common Singaporean. Will you get to race on the track with your bikes/cars?
10) The only plus point is that it will generate many jobs for Singaporean.
I am not sure how you call yourself a F1 fan by saying Monaco race is boring and that Singapore road is too narrow for F1. Maybe you should attend a F1 race to enrich your knowledge on F1.Originally posted by weiqimun:on the contrary, i am a fan.
i supported michael s. since his benetton days and enjoy the thrill and spills of F1. i enjoyed the spat bet. damon hill and him. i keep memorabilia of of michael's merchandize like his renault and ferarri cars, helmets etc. i buy F1 magazines to read and ogle at the babes.
i watched most F1 races on telly though i must admit tt i have not been to a live F1 race nearby, esp in Msia. i dun fancy sitting on grass patch under the hot sun and have to pay for it.
u shudn't mix the two. whether i am a fan or not is not impt., but the reality is there are technical and $ obstacles. one can generalize ROI of this, but for the guys forking it out from his own pocket, it is a different proposition all together, unless he is flithy rich or the gahmen takes the money from our coffers...
Come on lah... there are tecnological advances in lighting especially floodlights that are strong enough... and alonso and hamilton have definitely been to a night race before in the current mclaren i believe.Originally posted by kiss29:1) Would the F1 drivers agree to race at night? F1 cars got NO headlights! F1 cars got small rear view mirrors! F1 drivers would risk their life driving in a totally new low light situation?
2) Are the roads 'flat' enough for the F1 cars? Singapore roads are 'choppy' and full of potholes and are not of the 'F1' or racing circuit quality. Can F1 cars handle the uneven and slippery road?
3) Narrow two-three lanes are not wide enough for F1 cars to overtake!
4) Singapore road is totally new. There are no simulations or past records for the F1 team to rely on! Even if farrari/mclaren willing to pay $$millions of dollar to book the race track for a day, it is nigh-high impossible, unlike other fees-collecting racing circuit! Do you think F1 driver will risk their life on a unfamiliar race track, furthermore at night!!??
5) How is the police going to control human traffic along the whole track? totally ban, only those paying $$ tickets can watch?
6) Shenton way, Esplanade, Suntec, City hall all need to shut down. Remember the recent 4million smiles convention at Suntec? What about 'terrorist' security precautions, these visitors are Multi-millionairs.
7) What can Singapore offers besides Nice hotels(Fullerton/Raffles/Marina) and Shopping center?Most visitors will be from this region mainly Malaysia or Indonesia. Just like how some Singaporeans go to Sepang to watch the malaysia F1. Do these people need introduction to their neighbour, Singapore? They will come simply because they already know Singapore, not to learn about Singapore.
Ok...Melbourn race was shown on TV.....how many people were introduced to Australia/Melbourn thru StarSport telecast of the F1 race? Did anyone see/remember any buildings or features of Melbourn, something that makes you want to rush out to buy a ari tickek to visit Australia?
All I saw was racing cars zooming around, never did notice any interesting landmarks(even if there were, commentators will not be telling the viewer anything other than race details).
9) This race will not benefits the common Singaporean. Will you get to race on the track with your bikes/cars?
10) The only plus point is that it will generate many jobs for Singaporean.
Becos STB and MAS were involved at the start of negotiations in 2002 without Mr Ong. Plus you would need permits to organize such an event. And its smart, in my opinion to get the govt involved from the start, becos when the event is up and running and successful, they will want to stick their thumbs in anyway - so you might as well get them to take some of the risk from the start.Originally posted by Gazelle:Have you ever ask yourself why the government is involved in this project? ...
No, it hasn't woked according to plan They nearly lost hosting F1 - but last minute negotiations, SIC managed to sign a contract for another 5 years (starting this year).Originally posted by dracky:To make F1 a reality, we need more corporate sponsors to present a good business case to government. Get the tobacco companies for sponsorships. Get the MNCs with huge advertising budgets. Look at Sepang. People laughed at Malaysia but the government there is fully committed to F1 as a prestige project and it worked out well.
Hahahahahaha....no money to be made?Originally posted by weiqimun:F1 will not be in SGP.
OBS is not stupid. there is no money to be made here....unless the gahmen pass the $ to OBS and he passes it as his...generally the overall economy may benefit but can u imagine OBS being generous and passes the benefits to others where he coughs out the $millions? i cannot envisage that. if it's pride he's after, then nothing to say [like chel$ki, abra guys can lose $$$mmm a year and not be bothered...)
i also mentioned in my other posts tt logistically it is going to be tough to host it on the streets of Sg. SGP roads generally too narrow and overly confined to be able to hold a race where there can be overtaking, etc. i can't think of a 5km stretch ring road that can facilitate that. that's why monaco race is one of the most boring. there's few stretches of the road where 1 can overtake a car.