You mean M.S. is your idol? Hahahaha.....Originally posted by weiqimun:on the contrary, i am a fan.
i supported michael s. since his benetton days and enjoy the thrill and spills of F1. i enjoyed the spat bet. damon hill and him. i keep memorabilia of of michael's merchandize like his renault and ferarri cars, helmets etc. i buy F1 magazines to read and ogle at the babes.
i watched most F1 races on telly though i must admit tt i have not been to a live F1 race nearby, esp in Msia. i dun fancy sitting on grass patch under the hot sun and have to pay for it.
u shudn't mix the two. whether i am a fan or not is not impt., but the reality is there are technical and $ obstacles. one can generalize ROI of this, but for the guys forking it out from his own pocket, it is a different proposition all together, unless he is flithy rich or the gahmen takes the money from our coffers...
C'mon, its HIS idol.Originally posted by rojak12:You mean M.S. is your idol? Hahahaha.....
Senna. The Best. Period.
Obviously you are not aware the all trackside advertisement money doesnt go to the organiser but Bernie E.Originally posted by dracky:To make F1 a reality, we need more corporate sponsors to present a good business case to government. Get the tobacco companies for sponsorships. Get the MNCs with huge advertising budgets. Look at Sepang. People laughed at Malaysia but the government there is fully committed to F1 as a prestige project and it worked out well.
STB have been sitting on their arse for too long and FYI the ministry that initiate this negotiation doest come from STB and thats why STB is not leading the negotiation with Bernie E.Originally posted by yousure??:Becos STB and MAS were involved at the start of negotiations in 2002 without Mr Ong. Plus you would need permits to organize such an event. And its smart, in my opinion to get the govt involved from the start, becos when the event is up and running and successful, they will want to stick their thumbs in anyway - so you might as well get them to take some of the risk from the start.
Sorry, I did not know that you were Mr Ong's investment analyst to be able to say with such definite language that he would not be able to make a decent return from his invested capital. if I were the banks and approached by OBS to provide him with a loan for such an event... why would i want to lend to him?![]()
i like MS cannot meh?Originally posted by rojak12:You mean M.S. is your idol? Hahahaha.....
Senna. The Best. Period.
it's laughable tt just becos u think monaco f1 is interesting and hence everyone needs to agree with you. even if it is majority's view, some begs to differ. learn to accept differing views, for a start.Originally posted by Gazelle:I am not sure how you call yourself a F1 fan by saying Monaco race is boring and that Singapore road is too narrow for F1. Maybe you should attend a F1 race to enrich your knowledge on F1.
You might want to spend some time reading the previous post about returns in hosting F1 here in Singapore. Like what we have been saying, that decision to host F1 in Singapore will lies in the hand on the government not private investor themselves
As usual when government intiate something there is always people talking about coffers' money. Whats new...
Monaco race is probably the most watched race of the season hence your view of it being boring is definitely a wrong one. Monaco race is the shortest race on the calender and it is also one of the most demanding and unforgiving track which involves constant gear change and corners. The narrow road and corners are also a test of driver's gut, skill and their concentration and this help to seperate the man from the boys.Originally posted by weiqimun:it's laughable tt just becos u think monaco f1 is interesting and hence everyone needs to agree with you. even if it is majority's view, some begs to differ. learn to accept differing views, for a start.
sorry i wun read previous posts; ain't got time for it. but it takes a few parties to agree. even if the gahmen says yes, without investors coming forward to fill bernie's coffers, all these talks about f1 in sgp is a moot discussion. the fact the OBS is in the thick of it indicate it takes more than the gahmen's effort to make it work.
u r putting the cart b4 the horse. u need to find pte investors first ready to part wif their millions first, then the gahmen will sign it off, or otherwise. for the gahmen to openly say yes and then couldn't find someone to bankroll it will be embarassing to ....LHL? girly Vivian?
in the case of malaysia, u reckon the MY gahmen will build a f1 circuit without petronas committing to be the event sponsors first, and a dozen other companies to prop it up? it takes 2 hands to clap. i dun see a `petronas' in the midst here and no disprespect to OBS, but I doubt OBS can come up with a multiple year investment $ to keep this going.
hear hear!!! I may be a schumi fan but then again senna is still the god of F1Originally posted by rojak12:You mean M.S. is your idol? Hahahaha.....
Senna. The Best. Period.
You seem pretty sure that OBS will not be able to work things out with Mr Ecc. One can easily fathom why the Sing govt would rather let the private sector lead negotiations (what more by seasoned businessmen) than to do it themselves. Plus like you said, its not exactly the cheapest event to bring in. One can only imagine the outroar from Singapore tax payers if the govt were to singlehanded organize this. The govt is also smart to know the benefits. Parliament has been notified that the Sing Govt will not only provide financial support but also other forms of support. i am sure this gives OBS or Arthur Tay an assurance that Big Brother is behind whoever wins the contract.Originally posted by Gazelle:Contrary to what you are saying, the biggest problem between OBS and Bernie's negotiation is that the Singapore government prefer the Singapore GP to be 100% private, ie. nothing to do with the government.
You dont need to be an anaylst to estimate the ROI for the F1 organiser. All you need to know is that cost of staging the F1 is US$35million in fee to bernie, and additional US$20 to 30mil for setting up the stage for F1 circus. Plus you must also know beside collecting tickets, there isnt much left for the organizer to make, because all track side and TV ad money goes back to Bernie, not the organizer.
I agree with you.Originally posted by weiqimun:it's laughable tt just becos u think monaco f1 is interesting and hence everyone needs to agree with you. even if it is majority's view, some begs to differ. learn to accept differing views, for a start.
I believe Singapore has got the best infrastructure to organise a street race around the Marina/Esplanade area and with our experience from NDP I believe this shouldnt be a big problem for us. One has to note that the harder it is to organise one, it will mean it will be more difficult for other countries or cities to challenge us.Originally posted by yousure??:You seem pretty sure that OBS will not be able to work things out with Mr Ecc. One can easily fathom why the Sing govt would rather let the private sector lead negotiations (what more by seasoned businessmen) than to do it themselves. Plus like you said, its not exactly the cheapest event to bring in. One can only imagine the outroar from Singapore tax payers if the govt were to singlehanded organize this. The govt is also smart to know the benefits. Parliament has been notified that the Sing Govt will not only provide financial support but also other forms of support. i am sure this gives OBS or Arthur Tay an assurance that Big Brother is behind whoever wins the contract.
I do hope that F1 comes to Singapore, although I know I will hate the ensuing huddles resulting from stringent security chks as well as traffic flow interferences.
It is not really about how long you have been watching, but rather what are you actually looking at when you are watching.Originally posted by dansplace:I agree with you.
its kinda sad to think that just becos some pple have seen F1 longer than others, they think that they are a bigger fan than others. At the end of the day, its bringing pple together with similar interests that make the fan-base.
I guess the hype and excitment of Monaco is its history and its behind-the-scene dealings. However, having said that, with the winding and relatively sharp corners of the circuit, overtaking is always an issue. This makes the Monaco race seemingly boring. But if the cameras spend more time showing on-board shots, which allows the viewers to 'imagine' being in the F1 car, racing down the narrow streets at speeds, its going to be anything but boring.
That must be a reference to Christian MurchisonOriginally posted by Gazelle:I personally think that Singapore shouldnt just stop at organizing F1, we should also include MotorGP (if possible) or some other Asian formula seriese where there is a REAL singaporeans representing our country.
Agree... we shouldn't stop at organizing just F1... but F1 is the biggest money generator... and if like what you are saying, the F1 races are not making money for the organizers, what chances will the other races make money? The other series can easily be incorporated into the support races and need not have a separate race day.Originally posted by Gazelle:USD75 million is not a small sum of money and I am not sure if OBS and AT can pull this through by themselves. If government is not willing to take the lead, then I think OBS will probably have to work with companies like Genting or Las Vegas Sands to share the cost. Ultimately they are the 2 companies that has the deepest pocket and is going to gain most of out this event.
I personally think that Singapore shouldnt just stop at organizing F1, we should also include MotorGP (if possible) or some other Asian formula seriese where there is a REAL singaporeans representing our country.
Are you going to start telling us what to watch for now during a race?? I like to watch the number of times each car bottoms out... so how? I like to see whether blondes carry more of the odd number starting card for each race... so how? Everyone has their own preferences and likes.... there is no right or wrong so long as one enjoys what he/she is watching.Originally posted by Gazelle:It is not really about how long you have been watching, but rather what are you actually looking at when you are watching.
Not me... did you?Originally posted by Gazelle:plus who says that you dont have overtaking at Monaco.
Originally posted by dansplace:with the winding and relatively sharp corners of the circuit, overtaking is always an issue.
To the best of my knowledge, Singapore A1 Team is no longer being runned by Singapore - no more sponsorship money. Been like that since late Nov 06, just that the news has not broken cover.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:That must be a reference to Christian MurchisonI'm still disgusted with the way Hafiz and Denis were dropped.
I am not telling you what you should be watching, we are discussing about the commercial value of a street race. If you say it is boring, thats YOU, 1, UNO, and that doesnt represent what the majority of the F1 fans around the world feel.Originally posted by dansplace:Are you going to start telling us what to watch for now during a race?? I like to watch the number of times each car bottoms out... so how? I like to see whether blondes carry more of the odd number starting card for each race... so how? Everyone has their own preferences and likes.... there is no right or wrong so long as one enjoys what he/she is watching.
Dennis has already made that annoucement didnt he?Originally posted by yousure??:To the best of my knowledge, Singapore A1 Team is no longer being runned by Singapore - no more sponsorship money. Been like that since late Nov 06, just that the news has not broken cover.
disagree with race track...not worth the infrastructure cost..stick to street raceOriginally posted by alleggerita:Yeah..quite true..but I would seriously hope Singapore think of something and bring Formula One to Singapore..lol..maybe build a race track..we definitely have a piece of land big enuff for it..haha..![]()
I am sure the US$20m does not include the undisclose hosting fee which they are paying to bernie and also the cost of building and maintaining the track. I think US$412m might be too optimistic, however the unique part of the shanghai race is that CCTV is broadcasting it national wide for free and that itself is going to get in alot of TV ad money.Originally posted by oxford mushroom:The government is doing the sums...
F1 races today have the potential to bring in big profits. The Shanghai race costs USD20 million for the privilege to host it but the economic returns was USD412 million according to a survey by AC Nelson Corp. With that sort of returns, it maybe worth the disruption if the latter can be kept as low as possible. Night races may be less disruptive to businesses in the CBD and a street race will avoid the infrastructure costs of a purpose-built track.
There may be adverse environmental effects as was raised in the Straits Times Forum page. However, if the money is that good, it may be worth it..
Its Denis not Dennis - I already mentioned the date that the Team notified the Singapore govt.Originally posted by Gazelle:Dennis has already made that annoucement didnt he?and that sort of got him into some sort of trouble too.