Originally posted by tofushop193:chao chee bye!!!!!
Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:
Home > Latest News > Singapore
Oct 29, 2007
[b]Maximum ERP charge goes up to $5 from Nov 5
Third round of increases - by 50 cents - this year comes on the back of higher fuel charges.
By Christopher Tan, Senior Correspondent
CAR prices may be at their lowest in over a decade, but it is getting costly to drive. The Land Transport Authority on Monday announced that the Electronic Road-Pricing (ERP) rates will go up by 50 cents from Nov 5 - the third big-scale increase this year.
The latest adjustment brings the cost of entering the Central Expressway via the Pan-Island Expressway between 8.30am and 9am to a stiff $5. This route made news early this year when its ERP charge went up to $4. It was then raised to $4.50 in the middle of the year, before the latest record price.
Those who want to avoid paying $5 should wake up earlier. The charge for going through this gantry between 7.30am and 8am is $3.50 (also up 50 cents).
Central Expressway users once again bear the brunt of charges. Those passing the gantry north of Braddell Road between 7.30am and 8am will pay $2.50 from Nov 5; and those passing the gantry south of Braddell Road between 8.30am and 9am will pay $4 from that day. The $4 charge also applies to those joining the CTE from Serangoon and from Balestier.
Next, the Bendemeer Road rate will rise to $1.50, while the Thomson Road rate will go to $2 from Nov 5.
Motorists will have to contend with these higher usage charges on the back of higher fuel bills. Since June, there has been no fewer than six rounds of pump price increase, bringing the cost of two petrol grades past the $2 level.
Motorists who have been bracing themselves for the set of new gantries coming on on Nov 1 will now have temporary respite. The LTA has decided to postpone the starting day to Nov 5, to align with the new ERP rates.
The next ERP rate revision will be in November, when prices are expected to fall in line with lighter traffic because of the year-end school holidays.
Originally posted by tofushop193:chao chee bye!!!!!
yahh trueee la.. But u must understand.. some ppl need car for their working life.. the pt is ppl dun mind paying as long as the plan works... sometimes, public transport also gotta wait like forever and taxi like to play hide n seek...Originally posted by extrinsic:already anticipated.
it would go up to >=5.50 in another half a year to go.
driving is (again) for the rich, the poor? stick to public transport lah
if you wan face and get a car drive drive, cannot blame anyone. no1 force u get car de. u urself buy car. wan blame who?
so if wan car and wan cheap cheap how? wake up early if u dunwan pay lo, so simple
this world dun have best of both world de, time for ppl who complain so much to really wake up their idea.
i wld complain if gst, public transport such things goes up, as they are necessities, but for taxi or erp, u can only LPPL.
yup, i can see they dun.Originally posted by DayDreamer.SG:u think gahmen care sooo much to give u a gd explaination why they increase this n that? .. Its always up to them to decide. Forget it la... just expect more 'surprise' in yrs to come...
they suck u til u dryOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:ah!!! but they will increase public transport costs so that there is no escape... they don't take from you there, they will take from you here... they don't take from you here, they will take from you there...
it doesn;t matter as long as the 66.6% still votes for them in the end..Originally posted by extrinsic:yup..
if they increased public transport, then it's morally wrong to do so.
not every1 gets a fat pay increment every yr de.
a small increment per year is accepted. (cap at 2.5% inflation rate is acceptable. since they announed 2.xx% inflation. however, given the gst increment and public transport, i don't see why they say is 2.xx%.
gst from 5% last year to 7% -> 40% inflation.
or issit the inflation rate is referring to our pay?
pay increment 2.5% every year? haha)
i hope the govt dun forget the 80/20 rule. 80% of sgporean owns 20% of total sgporean wealth.
no use they wun read.Originally posted by dare2kill:an MP should read this post... And now i think the best thing for the govt to do is to upgrade public transport like siao. Make every bus double deck and make it more frequent to come.Make MRT more frequent to come. Like that even if they charge more for public transport , i dont mind. Comments?
Got whatOriginally posted by FireIce:if ppl no want pay the ERP, take public transport, then later they raise the mrt/bus fare again.... end of the day still $$ and $$ for them and kena f**ked both ways for us.....
and the line about implementing in nov bcos sch holidays?
got schs in town ma?
and after sch reopen, do they adjust back the ERP?
got anything more c0ck than this or not?
i agree on the fact that public transport should remain unchanged.Originally posted by FireIce:if ppl no want pay the ERP, take public transport, then later they raise the mrt/bus fare again.... end of the day still $$ and $$ for them and kena f**ked both ways for us.....
and the line about implementing in nov bcos sch holidays?
got schs in town ma?
and after sch reopen, do they adjust back the ERP?
got anything more c0ck than this or not?
no....packing fee nia...Originally posted by ahhui90:next time i wake up very early, then i drive my bicycle to work!
scarly next time bicycle also got ERP![]()