http://www.energybulletin.net/6005.html
Dun like dat la....people gahmen so good subsidise 4.8 billion riggit for their people, you all go into take advantage..now people stop you you kbkb....
Ask our gahmen got subsidize or not???? Our gahmen only see 'Subsidies' as a DIRTY WORD!!!! Bus no subsidies, let fake private companies make money and squeeze us dry. Taxi no subsidise and let companies song song up rental and slowly murder taxi drivers like carbon monoxide.
Our gahmen let us die; M'sia gahmen let us die. Then we die lor. When we die, we also pull our gahmen along. Then our neighbour also affected cos no one shops there cos they ban petrol, sugar, and rice. Sing KTV also will not fill stomach....chum ah....
What good things will most probably turn out?? Mas Selamat will kuai kuai and volunter to return to Whitney cos costs of living is too high outside, he can run forever, swim to indonesia is too far and got earthquake! Inside Whitney still go free 3 meals a day, clothes to wear and free laundry service, private body Gurkhas body guards, cute officers to TCSS with, got private room no need to share with others; maybe still can continue to watch new season of Prison Break...
Originally posted by manjieass:i thought this surprises will stop after the era of Dr M.. but then..........
there is a different...
During Dr.M, they surprise us... During Abdullah era, they surprise us AND their own ppl...
Dr.M was just protecting himself, and his people (Malaysian) ... Uncle Ab is protecting himself and Malays...
I think its a bad move to do so, lesser people going in Malaysia mean less income for the people.
hopeless government always like to come up with stupid ideas and think it will win over their own people.
Hope the food prices there is gonna drop.. From now 4 ringgit to the last time 2 ringgit.. Haha..
malaysian think it is good... singaporean think it is bad...
This is what is called in English - Penny wise pound foolish..
in cantonese - Human head but pig brain..
They also come out with ideas that will shoot themselves in the foot. I remembered last year when they want to implement the RM$20 per entry at the checkpoint for foreign cars. The meters and holes were all drilled outside the customs booths..suddenly, everything went quiet and the porject sort of vaporized away. Most likely, no mud department wants to take the responsibility to collect the RM$20 toll fees.
This stupid ban will just fizzle out from their track record. Their Iskandar Project is big enough for them to use their brains for a change.
Malaysia really Ta Boleh..!
Originally posted by citymax:I think its a bad move to do so, lesser people going in Malaysia mean less income for the people.
hopeless government always like to come up with stupid ideas and think it will win over their own people.
didn't they just changed govt?
ha.. was watching the news yesterday.. most malaysian interviewed say the move is good this and tat la.. hee hee haa haa la..
wait til u no business see u stil hee hee haa haa not..
yen tao ju lou..
use arse to think..
ha.. was watching the news yesterday.. most malaysian interviewed say the move is good this and tat la.. hee hee haa haa la..
wait til u no business see u stil hee hee haa haa not..
yen tao ju lou..
use arse to think..
they complain ;]
give them no bussiness lor
Confirm will have black market la..even i also will support black market.
Its funny from the way I see it. Its like when we are small, our neighbours keep giving us sweet daily but one fine day, the sweets stop coming. What do we do? Complain... Your own parents never give you sweet. What do we do? Complain..
Other nations see us as whiners which slowly and gradually seems to be true. Maybe we ourselves should really buck up and not leech on others? As the richest nation in South East Asia, don't think its nice for us to look cheap lah.
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:
Not all, some is enough to give them troubles...Qn:How many % of tourists do you think are S'poreans?
Singapore tourist might make a certain percentage, but how much do you think Singaporean are spending there? Most of them go in only for cheap stuff.
The Arabs are currently the biggest spender there, all those Posh Condos in Bukit Bintang, KL, starting from RM4mil are100% sold and majority of them are from Arabs buying 2 or 3 units as their holiday chalet.
why singapore got 3/4 tank rule.......
but the big big signboard near the checkpoint... the needle slightly less than 3/4.....
so follow 3/4 or needle... hehehe..
Latest News...singaporean got one week grace period to pump petrol...aha ![]()
Kena extended, yet again....
Singapoleans paying mkt rate still viable meh? Or just out of practicallity? With 3/4 tank rule sure got enough to move around JB wat.
Separate pump for Aliens...not bad siah...then the robbers can just station at one pump instead of scurrying all over the place...not bad...more productive!
June 2, 2008 KL puts off 50km petrol ban planCabinet to review practical issues related to curbs on foreign motorists MALAYSIA has put off plans to ban foreign-registered vehicles from filling up on subsidised petrol in its border areas with Singapore and Thailand, Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak said yesterday. The ban was originally to start today for Thai-registered vehicles in the north and on June 9 for drivers of Singapore-registered cars in the south.
But Datuk Seri Najib, who is in Singapore to attend a security summit, told reporters that an anti-inflation Cabinet committee would meet tomorrow to review the plan.
'We have to find a new effective date because there are other matters, like for example, can we have separate pumps because the Singaporeans are saying that they don't mind paying the market rate,' he said.
His comments indicated that the government may allow foreigners to buy higher-priced fuel, whereas the earlier plan was to impose a total ban on foreigners buying fuel.
He said that the postponement was made following requests by Singaporeans.
Many Malaysians who work in Singapore have also complained that they should be allowed to enjoy subsidised rates for their Singapore-registered vehicles, he added.
The move is part of Malaysia's measures to curb soaring subsidies, which are expected to cost the government RM45 billion (S$19 billion) this year as global oil prices skyrocket.
It bars foreign-registered vehicles from refuelling at petrol stations within 50km of the country's borders with Singapore and Thailand. The penalty for station owners who flout the rule is a fine of up to RM250,000 or a jail term of three years.
Separately, the Malaysian High Commissioner to Singapore, speaking to The Straits Times yesterday, said that the Malaysian government is conscious of the 'practical issues' that have arisen from the proposed ban.
There are many Malaysians who own Singapore vehicles, including some who live in Johor Baru but travel daily to work here, Datuk N. Parameswaran said.
They should not be 'penalised'.
'Being Malaysian, they should be able to enjoy a Malaysian facility extended to Malaysians,' he said.
Mr Parameswaran said that government officials meeting tomorrow will discuss suggestions that Malaysians who own Singapore-registered vehicles be allowed to buy petrol by flashing their identity card, the MyKad.
'That's a very practical possibility,' he added.
It had been reported that some Malaysians who own Singapore-registered vehicles were upset by the ban.
But others, like Ms Jenny Leong, thought it was fair.
'I work in Singapore and live here, so I shouldn't get to enjoy the subsidy,' said the 60-year-old financial consultant, who is a permanent resident here.
ASSOCIATED PRESS
ADDITIONAL REPORTING BY CAROLYN QUEK
aiyah. dun go in loh.
If go M'sia so much problem, go to our next nearest neighbour - Indonesia lor. Just take a ferry over and pump super cheap petrol and come back. However, I'm not sure if you can actually drive a S'pore car to Indo in the first place.
AP - Monday, June 2
KUALA LUMPUR, Malaysia - Malaysia started enforcing a ban on gasoline sales to foreign-registered vehicles near the Thai border Monday, causing some stations' business to trickle nearly to a halt.
Government officers were deployed at stations in northern states to monitor the ban, which is meant to help tackle the problem of soaring subsidies that keep Malaysia's retail prices at nearly half of those in Thailand.
Thousands of Thais and Singaporeans drive into Malaysia every day to fill their tanks and take advantage of lower prices due to the subsidies, which were expected to cost the government 45 billion ringgit (US$14 billion; �9 billion) this year.
Abdul Wahid Bidin, acting president of the Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia, said 90 percent of the usual customers of some fuel stations near the border were from Thailand.
"There are complaints from the dealers that they've got no business, no customers at all," Abdul Wahid said, expressing hope the ban will be lifted soon.
Government authorities have indicated the ban will be a temporary measure until they revise the current subsidy system to help low-income Malaysians and to prevent waste or abuse of the system.
Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak said Sunday that the ban would be postponed for 300 stations within 30 miles (50 kilometers) of Malaysia's borders with Thailand and Singapore, but local media clarified Monday that the delay was only for the southern state of Johor near Singapore.
Regular gasoline in Malaysia costs 1.92 ringgit (US$0.61; �0.40) a liter, or 7.27 ringgit (US$2.34; �1.52) a gallon. Thailand sells regular gasoline at 31.59 baht ($1.01; �0.73) a liter, or 120 baht (US$3.87; �2.51) per gallon.
Alang Zari Ishak, president of oil company Esso Malaysia's dealers association, said the ban affected about 100 gasoline stations in the north near Thailand.
"The implications will be quite severe," he said, adding that a system in which foreigners pay higher prices _ instead of being completely barred from buying fuel _ would be better.
Channel NewsAsia - Thursday, May 29
SINGAPORE: Some Singaporeans said they may cut back on trips to Malaysia once the proposed ban on the sale of petrol and diesel to foreign registered vehicles within a 50—kilometre radius of Malaysia’s borders takes effect.
The ban is expected to kick in as early as this Friday in a move to prevent abuse of heavy fuel subsidies.
However, Malaysia’s Domestic Trade Minister, Shahrir Samad, said on Tuesday that the ban is a temporary one. It will be lifted once a new subsidy mechanism to replace the existing scheme, where everyone is subsidised, is put in place.
Still, the move is expected to affect hundreds of motorists who regularly cross over the border for cheaper oil.
Malaysia’s diesel and petrol prices are among the lowest in Asia due to high government subsidies.
The ban is expected to affect up to 300 petrol stations in the country. And Singaporeans who head to Johor Bahru for cheaper petrol will be the most affected.
For example, Loy Cheong, a businessman who is a regular traveller across the border, said he will cut back on his trips.
Mr Cheong, Business Development Manager, Medo Enterprises Holding, said: "Buying cheap petrol is one of the privileges and what attracts the Singaporean to go there. But with this implementation, it may deter people from visiting Johor.
"We go normally once a week or once in every two weeks. But if they implement this, maybe we will go less often, like once a month."
Also facing problems are Malaysians who are Singapore permanent residents.
Koh Ming Li, a Singapore permanent resident, lives near the border and has been coming to Singapore almost every day for the past two years for work.
He said: "The problem now is that it prohibits me from driving directly into JB. And as for the 50—kilometre radius from JB, I would say (there’s) almost no petrol kiosks within JB that I can pump petrol from."
Petrol kiosk operators who violate the ban face the possibility of a S$110,000 fine (RM$250,000) or a three—year jail term or both. — CNA/vm
wa lao now Malaysia hold back their discision..
Cannot consider carefully first and do some tests first meh?This is not the first time the Malaysian did something and canceled halfway - remember the Causeway project?
Malaysian built 1st w/o asking and yada yada Singapore untill finally sian and cancel it.
As the saying goes, Monkey See Monkey Do in Malaysia ![]()
Another typical example of "Malaysia Boleh!"
not good for high-performance cars going northwards ... can't go north now ... got to go hybrid now ..
Originally posted by ceecookie:
Cannot consider carefully first and do some tests first meh?
this sentence in the papers today ![]()