Originally posted by Hwaimeng:been a civil defend myself
i when i see the picture of the car crash
i suspect that he cornor his car at high speed leading to lost control and crash stright front. high speed turning at wet road normally cause car to skip
tat kid either watch too much initial D(tv) or head got too big...
how he got hold of the key?
deserved it. though its sad that a life is lost. my fren drives his gf's car w/o a license too. keep telling him and his gf to stop it but he just wont stop. really hope that one day he kena stopped by TP.
He was warned and choose not to listen. His fate was in his own hands, as he had choosen it. Sad as it may be, that is Darwin at work.
I loved cars too but never ever drove on public roads before I was legally entitled to. Age limits are in place for a reason.
do be4 u think.
if u gamble,then b prepare 2 lose.
Originally posted by toyota-corolla:That's not your car! Is your dad's van!
And you speed once when I was sitting beside you. You are one farking reckness yet hilarious driver!
But I rike.
reck ur lan la
that time no car summore
and dunch sexpose me la
Originally posted by cairocks:Wah, so if a learner driver beat red light and get 12 points, then he pass the driving test. His provisional license would be automatically suspended the day he pass as new license drivers cannot get more than 12 points in the first year of passing? Just wondering.
yeah duh
u 1st day pass, u pass red light
camera flash u
gg
i do that all the time, but i freaking heng
Originally posted by BrUtUs:
tat kid either watch too much initial D(tv) or head got too big...
no la, now is maximum tune
the jerlyn case 1 also same same
i still laughing about the initial D thing
they thought they drive like some pro
butbutbut, NO CLUTCH
AHHAHAHAHAHHA
i let my cousin drive, he self proclaimed maximum tune pro
and when he drive, he ask, how come gear cannot move 1?
and then when i told him about the clutch thing, he say, ohhhhhhhhhhhhh
and then, instant stall
and he dun even know what to do to resolve the stall
stupid
Originally posted by Unknown_X:deserved it. though its sad that a life is lost. my fren drives his gf's car w/o a license too. keep telling him and his gf to stop it but he just wont stop. really hope that one day he kena stopped by TP.
Your friend is a major hazard to everyne! Plus if he gets caught with his gf in the car, gf licence immediately revoked.
But the worst part is that if anything should happen, insurance can't claim a cent.
Goodluck to the cars he hit, or the people hes maimed.
I too hope that hes caught ASAP.
Such irresponsible, showoff behavior is so unbecoming..
Originally posted by Unknown_X:deserved it. though its sad that a life is lost. my fren drives his gf's car w/o a license too. keep telling him and his gf to stop it but he just wont stop. really hope that one day he kena stopped by TP.
Better show your friend this thread. Let him know the dangers of driving W/O a licenses whether he knows or not.
Originally posted by cairocks:Wah, so if a learner driver beat red light and get 12 points, then he pass the driving test. His provisional license would be automatically suspended the day he pass as new license drivers cannot get more than 12 points in the first year of passing? Just wondering.
no.the learner will get licence revoked only when he/she goes above 12 points(ie 13 and above)...so the day the learner passes his/her test and gets a qualified licence...he/she will have 12 points on record....He/she can still drive...but all it takes is 1 mistake and the licence would be revoked...essentially it means that he/she can keep the licence in the drawer until the 12 points get cleared...which is about 1 year later I believe.
Originally posted by gasband:i dun think anyone needs to pity the boy. To be honest, when someone dies in such accidents, what the point of coming unto this forum and say u do not pity him and that he deserves it? He cant hear you anyway and he wun need you pity. The people who needs our pity is his mother and family. So you wan to tell his mother in her face that he deserves to die? He is wrong and naive and stupid, but does he deserve to die?
depends on how U define the "deserve" part...
he died as a direct result of his action...yes his action is wrong.naive and stupid...and he unfortunately paid for it with his life...if U look at it from this point of view then yes...I think he would deserve it...especially when his action endangered other road users.
but if U look from another point....he make a wrong judgement call which could have been avoided...then no...he wouldnt have deserved it...
All in all...I think its a tragedy which could have been avoided.
Why the car owner allow those underage to drove their car, they should hold the responsible too. Singapore Fine city..Fine,Fine,Fine. For those rich one, fine is to cheap for them, must state a rule, if that family is rich jailed them more instead of fine...lol
Safety experts call for more public education to curb underage driving
By Imelda Saad, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 02 September 2008 2219 hrs
SINGAPORE : Safety experts are calling for road safety education to be extended to upper secondary students.
This comes after the death of a 16-year-old boy who slammed into a tree while driving without a licence on Monday.
In Singapore, anyone below the age of 18 is not allowed to drive.
A 17-year-old youth, who wants to be known simply as "John", could very well typify your average youth on the verge of getting his driving licence.
Like other boys Channel NewsAsia spoke to, he has heard of friends taking joyrides using their parents' car. They are underaged, without a driving licence, and just out to have a good time.
"John" said: "(They do this) partly (due to) peer pressure, partly to have fun, and they (do not) have to waste money on taxi fares."
But these bouts of fun can be dangerous, with some youths revving up to 140 kilometres per hour on the speedometer.
Tan Jin Thong, president, The National Safety Council of Singapore, said: "Driving on the road is already very dangerous, it is a skill that has to be acquired and learnt.
"These youngsters, the underaged especially, they think that driving on the road is so easy... just moving the steering wheel, controlling the car to go straight, left or right, and stepping on the accelerator and knowing how to apply the brake...
"But in fact, that is not true. There is a lot more to learn on road safety and safe driving. If you do not go through a proper course in driving and you do not have a valid licence, I don't see how they will be able to react in an emergency.
"And they not only pose a danger to themselves, but in fact also pose a hazard to other motorists, pedestrians; and (if) they are carrying passengers who could be their friends, they are also endangering their lives."
Police figures showed that the number of people caught driving cars without a valid licence shot up 30 per cent to 25 in 2007. There were five such offenders in the first half of this year.
One area that may be lacking is public education. One hears a lot about anti-drink driving messages targeted at youths, but hardly anything on underage driving.
Police have also said that currently they do not have any programmes with schools to address this.
Singapore's Automobile Association said it plans to widen its road safety education outreach to youths in tertiary institutions in the coming months.
Its CEO, Lee Wai Mun, said: "It is important for young drivers to understand that driving without a licence, as well as reckless driving and drink driving, are very serious offences, as such irresponsible acts could endanger not just their own lives, but also put other road users at risk.
"At the same time, driving is also a skill that one becomes more adept with through experience and practice."
Mr Tan said: "I think it is a good idea that it can start from the schools, especially the upper secondary, because those students are around 15, 16 years old and they observe the adults driving, and they think that they want to have a try, and one day sneak into their parents' car, their brother's car, and then just get a few of their friends to be around, and once they come across an emergency, they've had it..."
Anyone caught driving without a licence could be fined up to S$2,000 and jailed up to six months.
A first-time offender will face a maximum fine of S$1,000 or a jail term not exceeding three months. A repeat offender faces a maximum fine of S$2,000 or a maximum jail term of six months. - CNA/ms
Originally posted by gigabyte14:no la, now is maximum tune
the jerlyn case 1 also same same
i still laughing about the initial D thing
they thought they drive like some pro
butbutbut, NO CLUTCH
AHHAHAHAHAHHA
i let my cousin drive, he self proclaimed maximum tune pro
and when he drive, he ask, how come gear cannot move 1?
and then when i told him about the clutch thing, he say, ohhhhhhhhhhhhh
and then, instant stall
and he dun even know what to do to resolve the stall
stupid
haha... paisay not up to date...
turby: lol i dunno man. i still waiting for him to be caught. he drive his mum car w/o permission too. when his mum dont allow him to drive, he kpkb at his mum. when his younger bro who has a license drives abit slow, he say his bro lousy. knn.
trainicide: no use la. other friends kp him, he also don't care. he still going around driving.
Originally posted by Unknown_X:turby: lol i dunno man. i still waiting for him to be caught. he drive his mum car w/o permission too. when his mum dont allow him to drive, he kpkb at his mum. when his younger bro who has a license drives abit slow, he say his bro lousy. knn.
trainicide: no use la. other friends kp him, he also don't care. he still going around driving.
no offence to u, i hope ur friend gets into an accident.. really.. but dun die.. just lose a limb or two.. and maybe kills his gf in the process.. and while in the wreck he survives to see her bleed to death, screaming for help but knowing it's hopeless..
please convey what i said here to him..
government set the age at 18, for certain reasons, why cant just ppl listen? this boy's behaviour, donno should pity or say orbi. hai
Originally posted by purpledragon84:no offence to u, i hope ur friend gets into an accident.. really.. but dun die.. just lose a limb or two.. and maybe kills his gf in the process.. and while in the wreck he survives to see her bleed to death, screaming for help but knowing it's hopeless..
please convey what i said here to him..
erm, abit over? just get caught by TP, matter reported to gf's parents i think more than enough. the gf's parents dote on both of them alot. if they know abt it, i think more than enough problem for him already.
Originally posted by Rednano:Safety experts call for more public education to curb underage driving
By Imelda Saad, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 02 September 2008 2219 hrs
SINGAPORE : Safety experts are calling for road safety education to be extended to upper secondary students.
This comes after the death of a 16-year-old boy who slammed into a tree while driving without a licence on Monday.
In Singapore, anyone below the age of 18 is not allowed to drive.
A 17-year-old youth, who wants to be known simply as "John", could very well typify your average youth on the verge of getting his driving licence.
Like other boys Channel NewsAsia spoke to, he has heard of friends taking joyrides using their parents' car. They are underaged, without a driving licence, and just out to have a good time.
"John" said: "(They do this) partly (due to) peer pressure, partly to have fun, and they (do not) have to waste money on taxi fares."
But these bouts of fun can be dangerous, with some youths revving up to 140 kilometres per hour on the speedometer.
Tan Jin Thong, president, The National Safety Council of Singapore, said: "Driving on the road is already very dangerous, it is a skill that has to be acquired and learnt.
"These youngsters, the underaged especially, they think that driving on the road is so easy... just moving the steering wheel, controlling the car to go straight, left or right, and stepping on the accelerator and knowing how to apply the brake...
"But in fact, that is not true. There is a lot more to learn on road safety and safe driving. If you do not go through a proper course in driving and you do not have a valid licence, I don't see how they will be able to react in an emergency.
"And they not only pose a danger to themselves, but in fact also pose a hazard to other motorists, pedestrians; and (if) they are carrying passengers who could be their friends, they are also endangering their lives."
Police figures showed that the number of people caught driving cars without a valid licence shot up 30 per cent to 25 in 2007. There were five such offenders in the first half of this year.
One area that may be lacking is public education. One hears a lot about anti-drink driving messages targeted at youths, but hardly anything on underage driving.
Police have also said that currently they do not have any programmes with schools to address this.
Singapore's Automobile Association said it plans to widen its road safety education outreach to youths in tertiary institutions in the coming months.
Its CEO, Lee Wai Mun, said: "It is important for young drivers to understand that driving without a licence, as well as reckless driving and drink driving, are very serious offences, as such irresponsible acts could endanger not just their own lives, but also put other road users at risk.
"At the same time, driving is also a skill that one becomes more adept with through experience and practice."
Mr Tan said: "I think it is a good idea that it can start from the schools, especially the upper secondary, because those students are around 15, 16 years old and they observe the adults driving, and they think that they want to have a try, and one day sneak into their parents' car, their brother's car, and then just get a few of their friends to be around, and once they come across an emergency, they've had it..."
Anyone caught driving without a licence could be fined up to S$2,000 and jailed up to six months.
A first-time offender will face a maximum fine of S$1,000 or a jail term not exceeding three months. A repeat offender faces a maximum fine of S$2,000 or a maximum jail term of six months. - CNA/ms
Another knee-jerk reaction.
Originally posted by Unknown_X:
erm, abit over? just get caught by TP, matter reported to gf's parents i think more than enough. the gf's parents dote on both of them alot. if they know abt it, i think more than enough problem for him already.
I rather he's the one who suffers rather than one day he knocks down somebody's mother or child then he come and say sorry.. just put yourself in the shoes of the person whose loved one gets killed. By a person who's not supposed to be behind the wheel somemore.
makes a complete mockery of the dead person.
if he is such a person who is incapable of thinking abt consequences, I wouldn't be surprised if he starts pushing the blame when he knocks down ppl..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:I rather he's the one who suffers rather than one day he knocks down somebody's mother or child then he come and say sorry.. just put yourself in the shoes of the person whose loved one gets killed. By a person who's not supposed to be behind the wheel somemore.
if he is such a person who is incapable of thinking abt consequences, I wouldn't be surprised if he starts pushing the blame when he knocks down ppl..
okay... then why his gf also need to die?
Originally posted by 4Justice:okay... then why his gf also need to die?
if he don't feel the pain, he wun know the pain.
Originally posted by purpledragon84:I rather he's the one who suffers rather than one day he knocks down somebody's mother or child then he come and say sorry.. just put yourself in the shoes of the person whose loved one gets killed. By a person who's not supposed to be behind the wheel somemore.
i think at most, my fren injured good enough liao. dont want him to die. need him to help solve my com probs FOC! =x
Originally posted by Unknown_X:turby: lol i dunno man. i still waiting for him to be caught. he drive his mum car w/o permission too. when his mum dont allow him to drive, he kpkb at his mum. when his younger bro who has a license drives abit slow, he say his bro lousy. knn.
how come his younger bro have licence already but he don't have. =/
That's even worse! means he's above 18 already and must take the full responsibility.
i agree with purpledragon84 also. If the law can't catchup on him, then he needs a bigger wake up call.
But hopefully not with the gf inside the car though. Hate it when the passenger dies but the driver gets away scott free, just like the EG civic accident in OG. And as the Colt VR accident also, its always the innocent passenger that has to suffer the ignorance and stupidity of the driver.
After the accidents, hear all the nonsense like "he was a safe driver.. nv speed at all.. blah blah." Ya right. Play with fire, prepare to get burnt.