Originally posted by furb:Ya... Been trying to correct it, though sometime habits still pop out. No time to worry liao since tomorrow is my TP test, just hope I can concentrate 100% on the road since sometime I have a habit of dazing off (mind drifting away after driving for too long) because too tired or something. <-- Someone gonna flame me for this and I admit its quite abit of problem.
the actual TP test is like 30mins..the warm up before that is also around there...so if U can drive like 1 hour with a break in between...U should be fine...
Originally posted by jgho83:correct method of breaking ----> Assuming u are at 4th gear, u see a red light... here is the procedure...
1) clutch in,
2)brake,
3)wait for speed to become 30kmh,
4)change to gear 3, slowly release clutch and brake at the same time
5)wait for speed to become 20kmh,
6)change to gear 2, slowly release clutch and brake at the same time
7)clutch down fully, and brake until u come to a complete stop.
8)change to gear 1 (at this point, no need half clutch, just watch out for traffic lights whether its turning green soon) (also, if u know u need to stop quite long, engage hand brake, otherwise, stopping for zebra crossing no need to use hand brake)
9)once u know the green light is coming soon, go into half clutch.
10)Do not start to half clutch immediatdly once u stop, this is totally wrong. Can cause damage.
I disagree with ur step 1 and 2.
It should be brake then clutch in.
Originally posted by Agenda:I stop at junction all those i neutral and step foot brake only, never use handbrake o_o
can anot?
@giga - my timing 1.55pm to 2.35pm
I dont think it would be a problem although I was taught to change back to 1st gear and wait to avoid "delay in moving off".
hey all,
i read so many steps in all your posts to stop the car. so im contributing how i stop the car.
Usually on normal roads, the highest gear you can shift to is the 4th. But if you are on the 3rd, it does not matter anyway.Engine brake is a more efficient way to slow your car, not stop cause if you do your engine will stall (unless you driving auto lah, then doesnt matter)and also keep your brake pads in its optimum lifespan. So when i need to stop a car on the road from 4th gear (usually travelling around 70km/h or less), i lightly step the brake first. This is to slow down the car and also to indicate the car behind that you are slowing and maybe stopping (very impt). The car will still be rolling but less than 70km/h. Then i shift 1 gear below ie the 3rd gear.i slowly release the clutch so it can 'bite' the engine without jerking the entire car.i let the engine slow down the car somemore (engine brake)with my foot still lightly on the brake. Depending on the stopping distance, you need to depress the brake harder upon reaching the exact stop until the car comes to a complete halt. Before the car totally stop, remember to depress your clutch so the engine wont stall. Depress brake (all the way)when car totally stop and put it in 1st gear, so later you can move off when needed. If your are on 3rd gear during the stopping process, just repeat the above except shift it to 2nd gear.
I did this for my lessons and my TP, no worries.hope it helps and good luck on your test ![]()
Originally posted by john_doe161:hey all,
i read so many steps in all your posts to stop the car. so im contributing how i stop the car.
Usually on normal roads, the highest gear you can shift to is the 4th. But if you are on the 3rd, it does not matter anyway.Engine brake is a more efficient way to slow your car, not stop cause if you do your engine will stall (unless you driving auto lah, then doesnt matter)and also keep your brake pads in its optimum lifespan. So when i need to stop a car on the road from 4th gear (usually travelling around 70km/h or less), i lightly step the brake first. This is to slow down the car and also to indicate the car behind that you are slowing and maybe stopping (very impt). The car will still be rolling but less than 70km/h. Then i shift 1 gear below ie the 3rd gear.i slowly release the clutch so it can 'bite' the engine without jerking the entire car.i let the engine slow down the car somemore (engine brake)with my foot still lightly on the brake. Depending on the stopping distance, you need to depress the brake harder upon reaching the exact stop until the car comes to a complete halt. Before the car totally stop, remember to depress your clutch so the engine wont stall. Depress brake (all the way)when car totally stop and put it in 1st gear, so later you can move off when needed. If your are on 3rd gear during the stopping process, just repeat the above except shift it to 2nd gear.
I did this for my lessons and my TP, no worries.hope it helps and good luck on your test
Very technical details u've got but they are correct nonetheless. Hard to apply everything single detail that you learn in the book to your driving lessons....Practice makes perfect... :)
Just keep calm and cool and u guys shld be able to make it.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Very technical details u've got but they are correct nonetheless. Hard to apply everything single detail that you learn in the book to your driving lessons....Practice makes perfect... :)
Just keep calm and cool and u guys shld be able to make it.
yes...theory/concept is the easy part...the difficult part is to apply them,hence the practical lessons.![]()
just impress your tester with great safety & smooth driving! ![]()
Very simple.
When meet tester.. "Good morning/afternoon/evening, sir".. then some small talk to build whatever rapport you can..
Circuit - go slower, use your half clutch technique. Parking, watch the poles and lotsa low speed control. S and crank courses are supposed to be the easiest part of circuit, if you lack confidence... just go slower.. you won't get penalized. For slope - if you kena the steeper one.. nvm.. just accelerate a bit more and be a li'l more generous with the clutch - technically, it's better to stall than allow your vehicle to roll back (you don't get penalized for stalling). Lastly, e-brake - just floor the brake then the clutch.. doesn't matter if you stall, just restart your vehicle quickly.
Road - Main road, 4th gear. Small road, 3rd gear. Before going up a ramp or negotiating a turn, shift down to 2nd gear. You'd get penalized if you don't use the correct gear, should be 2 points if I remember correctly. Check blindspots, check rear mirror every 5s - 10s to wayang. Give way to pedestrians, look ahead to anticipate 'surprises'. When braking, at the minimal shift down to gear 3 - use engine brake.. then brake.. Clutch in only when vehicle is coming to a stop..
After TP, go up the room, listen to tester talk talk.. collect your PASS slip.. go watch 20 mins video.. and proceed to TP counter to apply for your license ;)
e-brake is step brake hard, clutch in before stall and pull up handbrake?
Originally posted by Agenda:e-brake is step brake hard, clutch in before stall and pull up handbrake?
No handbrake... Don't... pull up handbrake....
And make sure you really zam the brake..
If you don't zam.. incorrect ebrake technique.. that should be 4 points..
If you don't react at all.. immediate failure.. aka.. thank you.. please come again :)
One thing to note.. the only time you need your handbrake in TP.. is for moving off at slope..
So don't play play with the handbrake.. ![]()
(unless parking.. need to neutral and handbrake.. but most of the time.. tester won't so bo liao ask u do the whole package... most of the time.. if your car go into the parking lot.. agar agar straight... ask you move off liao)
-tester bang dashboard-
you : eh why Sir? got mosquito in the car is it? ![]()
tester : ![]()
I passed my TP only on the 2nd attempt..
I had 0 points for circuit.. and below 18 on the road... and one immediate failure on my first attempt..
Why? Failure to give way to pedestrians at a zebra crossing.. It's a tad harder to see if anyone's crossing when they're crossing from the right.. the metal part by the windscreen would be blocking your view..
So always look ahead to anticipate.. and don't be afraid to shift your body to see clearer!
I only scared my parallel parking when i straighten car will strike pole or when leaving the lot.
any tips for that?
Originally posted by Agenda:I only scared my parallel parking when i straighten car will strike pole or when leaving the lot.
any tips for that?
It becomes intuitive once you do it enough - but that is, if you're seasoned.
For learner drivers, it really boils down to practice and confidence. Personally, when I was a learner, I find parallel parking easier than vertical.
Here's a step by step walkthrough, it's be similar to what you learned already, but heck.. it doesn't kill to revise..
1) Position your car at the center of the lane
2) Signal left, check mirrors, check blindspots. It doesn't kill you to even check 360 - you won't get penalized and still can score some wayang points
3) Reverse gear, move back.. just when the C* POLE almost disappear from your back screen.. turn your steering fully to your left..
4) When pole D* POLE appears perpendicular at your right mirror.. straighten steering..
5) Continue reverse till B* POLE reaches the middle of your right windscreen.. then fully turn the steering to right..
6) Go in.. Straighten steering.. Reverse (make sure ur checking your safety spot - back) Then make whatever adjustments.. Go slow.. and you won't hit the pole..
Same thing with leaving the lot.. make sure you open your eyes.. and check check check.. go slow and you won't touch the poles..
The trick is.. be consistent with the speed you're turning the steering wheel.. and low speed control..
You got 3 or 5 mins for your parallel parking.. don't even need to kan chiong
A* B*
C* D*
One important thing to note.. do not turn the steering wheel when your car is stationary..
Learner drivers tend to "full lock" left/right.. then reverse for fear that they can't turn fast enough if they were to move..
You'd get 2 points for that.. so watch out ![]()
my instructor teach me is when you see B* at the corner of your back windscreen,turn 1.5 revolutions left. then the side door is same line as C* turn back straight, when B* reach the bottom left of the front windscreen turn right 1.5 revolutions from here can increase somemore to straight car.
A* B*
CAR HERE
C* D*
Originally posted by Detached:One important thing to note.. do not turn the steering wheel when your car is stationary..
Learner drivers tend to "full lock" left/right.. then reverse for fear that they can't turn fast enough if they were to move..
You'd get 2 points for that.. so watch out
Not just 2 points. I bet the instructor will definitely rolls his eyes and says, " I will fail this person." unless he is super good elsewhere.
Originally posted by Agenda:my instructor teach me is when you see B* at the corner of your back windscreen,turn 1.5 revolutions left. then the side door is same line as C* turn back straight, when B* reach the bottom left of the front windscreen turn right 1.5 revolutions from here can increase somemore to straight car.
A* B*
CAR HERE
C* D*
Whatever you're comfy with.. just get the car in ![]()
Originally posted by sinicker:-tester bang dashboard-
you : eh why Sir? got mosquito in the car is it?
tester :
Tester bang dashboard
I: Excuse me?.... Can u please show some bloody freaking manners? I am driving you know, idiot.
Originally posted by Agenda:e-brake is step brake hard, clutch in before stall and pull up handbrake?
No handbrake please. In an event of e-brake just brake and clutch in fast will do.
Even if engine were to stall, the onus is on you to quickly start the engine when you move off...
yeah i guess everyone has a natural fear of stalling your engine, but hey its perfectly ok to stall in a tp, i think the max they deduct is 2 points? rolling back on a slope beyond a certain distance is a IF.
for the 2 courses just move slowly, you dont have to rush.. and yeah most instructors nowadays teaches you the formula method for parking with poles so it should be a 99% kinda thing if you followed it correctly.
on the roads just move slowly, pray for another L plater to be infront of you all the time, so you barely need to do anything except travelling from 0-40..![]()