Hi folks
I am looking at buying a SUVs and so far i am looking at Rav4 or Fortuner.
Want to hear you expert's comments and advices...
Thx
Fortuner some MSCP must take note.
fortuner, suzuki APV..... ![]()
rav4... others too big...
I would go for Grand Vitara. Got the looks without burning a big hole...compared to other SUVs..
4x4 or 4x2?
Originally posted by ALN:fortuner looks like a bulky monster… 7 seater and so high… wonder safe or not leh….
Rav4 looks better and should handle better lah…
but i rather take odyssey loh… 7 seater yet nice styling
odyssey = mpv.
and whats your logic of high = not sure safe anot?
Originally posted by Mid9Sun:Hi folks
I am looking at buying a SUVs and so far i am looking at Rav4 or Fortuner.
Want to hear you expert's comments and advices...
Thx
first, u must tell us what u r looking for in the suv. if not, hummer h3, porsche cayenne also fits the bill.
from what u have said, i think u r looking for a crossover vehicle. can consider nissan murano and hyundai santa fe too. if u want a more rugged looking one, suzuki grand vitara or mitsubishi pajero.
oh man i rented the hyundai santa fe in US (it's called Saturn there though, instead of Hyundai. wonder y...), n it's really cmi. but probably cos our luggage bags were too heavy =O
Saturn (owned by GM) and Hyundai are two totally diff brands.
Suzuki Jimny might fit the bill for a mini-SUV but no more liao...
Hmmm thanks for all the replies so far.
I think will drop Fortuner already.
Also I aiming Rav4 cos it looks really nice...haha I am sucker for eye candies..and plus I have a friend who is driving a 2 door version telling me to buy also.
Just curious, why you like SUVs? I mean they are sorta fuel inefficient and troublesome to manouvere around MSCPs. Don't mean any offence by this question though.
Well... it all depends...if they have $$$ , nobody's stopping them...
Ok to be honest, I am aware of the fact suv is not as spaceous as mpv and also not fuel efficient, hard to park etc etc.
But then.............they look so niceeeeeeeeeee :P
To be honest, I am into none practical models ..like suv, convertibles..that sort... sigh
Originally posted by Mid9Sun:
Ok to be honest, I am aware of the fact suv is not as spaceous as mpv and also not fuel efficient, hard to park etc etc.
To be honest, I am into none practical models ..like suv, convertibles..that sort... sigh
In today's markets, SUVs doesn't just have the plain 4x4 looks... They incorporate safety features and luxury masterpieces into the vehicle as well... hence it's no doubt that they attract a fair share of supporters sometimes.
Originally posted by Mid9Sun:
Go for some nice convertible, anything from Mazda MX-5 to Audi RS4. Especially in the sunny Singapore they're so much better to drive than a clumsy SUV.
Originally posted by lianamaster:In today's markets, SUVs doesn't just have the plain 4x4 looks... They incorporate safety features and luxury masterpieces into the vehicle as well... hence it's no doubt that they attract a fair share of supporters sometimes.
I find that an extreme load of bullshit. SUVs are in general no more luxurious than the other models of their brands - and why should they be when the average buyer is an American family mother (or "soccer mom" as they say). And as for the safety, in Euro NCAP crash tests the SUV models haven't done any better than much smaller cars of the same manufacturers. Actually the dangerous tendency of the bigger SUVs to roll over creates a serious safety risk that doesn't exist with most other cars.
That said, I perfectly understand what especially families with many children see in smaller and highly functional (read: sensible) SUVs such as the Volvo XC90. Sometimes you just need more seats than 5, and then such a car can be a decent option. For anything else... no.
dont get an SUV in singapore bah. COE high, road tax high, fuel $ high.
MSCP small, lots small, turn into up/downslope tight.![]()
Don't like SUVs personally. But if it rocks your boat, I believe that for the price that you pay, nothing looks better than the Suzuki Grand Vitara.
Originally posted by Lauri:I find that an extreme load of bullshit. SUVs are in general no more luxurious than the other models of their brands - and why should they be when the average buyer is an American family mother (or "soccer mom" as they say). And as for the safety, in Euro NCAP crash tests the SUV models haven't done any better than much smaller cars of the same manufacturers. Actually the dangerous tendency of the bigger SUVs to roll over creates a serious safety risk that doesn't exist with most other cars.
That said, I perfectly understand what especially families with many children see in smaller and highly functional (read: sensible) SUVs such as the Volvo XC90. Sometimes you just need more seats than 5, and then such a car can be a decent option. For anything else... no.
I can tell you really dun like SUVs.... sorry but I am impartial... SUV may have higher center of gravity and tend to be more 'dangerous' than other counterparts, but it doesn't make other non-SUVs safer either. It all depends on the likes and habits of the driver. If he drives safely, I dun care if the vehicle is an SUV or not, safest car in the world or not, he will still come home in 1 piece. Furthermore, those premium brands have engineered their SUVs as much as they can to overcome the handicaps that they possess, so times have certainly changed and you will still see people drive SUVs on the roads no matter what.
Originally posted by Lauri:Go for some nice convertible, anything from Mazda MX-5 to Audi RS4. Especially in the sunny Singapore they're so much better to drive than a clumsy SUV.
Is SUV that clumsy?? Never drove one so dunno.
But then if get convertible ppl will say not practical la, show off and other nasty remarks.
Originally posted by lianamaster:I can tell you really dun like SUVs.... sorry but I am impartial... SUV may have higher center of gravity and tend to be more 'dangerous' than other counterparts, but it doesn't make other non-SUVs safer either. It all depends on the likes and habits of the driver. If he drives safely, I dun care if the vehicle is an SUV or not, safest car in the world or not, he will still come home in 1 piece. Furthermore, those premium brands have engineered their SUVs as much as they can to overcome the handicaps that they possess, so times have certainly changed and you will still see people drive SUVs on the roads no matter what.
Perhaps I have a misconception here. I have the impression that SUV tends to be more ruggard and tougher then normnl cars, hence abit "safer" then normal tin can type of cars.
So is Jeep brand of cars considered SUV???