Originally posted by L.lawliett79:hahaa.. den wait for parents to finish using la. i also just passed driving test, my ma dun dare let me drive on road myself. heehee. still cannot park w/o poles sia. go out with car need to park car somewhere de.
summore her car is mpv.
TS, just share car first lor.. since u just passed anyway no point getting new car at this point.
Haha... actually I'm quite in the same situation as TS. Just that I passed TP about 3 years ago... My family do have a car but my parents use it and I don't get a chance to drive it. I did want a car (any car) to drive on my own but my parents sometimes good mood will say that they will buy for me; sometimes they foul mood will say, "car where got cheap? Need to pay this and that!..." Just recently abt 2 weeks ago, they say they will buy for me. I was so happy initially but it keeps going on and off. 3 years have passed and I really feel cheated 'cos they keep giving me false hopes yet, I am still hoping that one day they will buy for me. I feel kinda suffocated right now... ![]()
Originally posted by lianamaster:Haha... actually I'm quite in the same situation as TS. Just that I passed TP about 3 years ago... My family do have a car but my parents use it and I don't get a chance to drive it. I did want a car (any car) to drive on my own but my parents sometimes good mood will say that they will buy for me; sometimes they foul mood will say, "car where got cheap? Need to pay this and that!..." Just recently abt 2 weeks ago, they say they will buy for me. I was so happy initially but it keeps going on and off. 3 years have passed and I really feel cheated 'cos they keep giving me false hopes yet, I am still hoping that one day they will buy for me. I feel kinda suffocated right now...
aiyo.. poor thing sia.. my mum also like that. haha lucky (for now) i dont have any wishes to have car.. cos i no $$.
tell ur parents ah, daddy mummy dont keep making empty promises can?? haha!
i still scared to drive car sia. see green light only i forget still must see if got oncoming car before turning right =X heng nv accident.
Too bad I am a car lover. I can't erase off my mind the thought of driving one. I see cars everyday, everywhere and there's no doubt I will think of when my parents will buy me one.
I was so desperate for a car that I dreamt my family and I went to AML and my father asked me to choose any one.... Lol!
Originally posted by lianamaster:Haha... actually I'm quite in the same situation as TS. Just that I passed TP about 3 years ago... My family do have a car but my parents use it and I don't get a chance to drive it. I did want a car (any car) to drive on my own but my parents sometimes good mood will say that they will buy for me; sometimes they foul mood will say, "car where got cheap? Need to pay this and that!..." Just recently abt 2 weeks ago, they say they will buy for me. I was so happy initially but it keeps going on and off. 3 years have passed and I really feel cheated 'cos they keep giving me false hopes yet, I am still hoping that one day they will buy for me. I feel kinda suffocated right now...
Sounds like they using the car as an emotional barganing chip.. Actually, I've long given up hope on my parents buying a car. Last time still will listen to them talk this and that, but now whenever my parents mention a car, I will simply ignore because I know they're just 'chui kong lam par song' only, what I have personally realized for my family is that if they really wanted to buy one, they would have bought one long long time ago.
The era of cheaper COE is more or less over (at least for now), and I've come to terms to the fact that it is highly unlikely that the will buy one in the near future, and that overall I'll be much better off saving and working towards one myself.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Too bad I am a car lover. I can't erase off my mind the thought of driving one. I see cars everyday, everywhere and there's no doubt I will think of when my parents will buy me one.
I was so desperate for a car that I dreamt my family and I went to AML and my father asked me to choose any one.... Lol!
Aiyah, should have dreamt that your family and you went to Leng Kee, Stuttgart Auto or Performance Motors and your dad ask you to choose any one! ![]()
Originally posted by lianamaster:Too bad I am a car lover. I can't erase off my mind the thought of driving one. I see cars everyday, everywhere and there's no doubt I will think of when my parents will buy me one.
oh icic..do u have any car in mind?? save save save! i think now can pay by instalments right..?
Originally posted by nightsky87:Sounds like they using the car as an emotional barganing chip.. Actually, I've long given up hope on my parents buying a car. Last time still will listen to them talk this and that, but now whenever my parents mention a car, I will simply ignore because I know they're just 'chui kong lam par song' only, what I have personally realized for my family is that if they really wanted to buy one, they would have bought one long long time ago.
The era of cheaper COE is more or less over (at least for now), and I've come to terms to the fact that it is highly unlikely that the will buy one in the near future, and that overall I'll be much better off saving and working towards one myself.
Exactly, I am buying time now... just sort of impatient here.... haha....
I did a simple calculation and the earliest I can afford one is 5 years from now.
But 5 years.... think of it make me feel very sianzz...
Originally posted by lianamaster:Exactly, I am buying time now... just sort of impatient here.... haha....
I did a simple calculation and the earliest I can afford one is 5 years from now.
But 5 years.... think of it make me feel very sianzz...
I calculate that it will take me more than 79.16 years to get a GTR ![]()
But self calculation not very accurate, because once you grad from uni, start work, your savings rate will increase, so the time taken to get a car will also decrease.. not to mention once you have a stable income, you will be eligible for car loans, etc.
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:oh icic..do u have any car in mind?? save save save! i think now can pay by instalments right..?
U bet.. it's the Honda Jazz I'm aiming for. I started waiting since the previous 2006 model was launched. Till today, that model was gone and I am still waiting...
One thing is I do not have much $$$ right now, and I need to get a stable job. I have a job waiting for me... just a bit impatient to work right now... ![]()
chery QQ off peak car. 10k. monthly installment go as low as 200.
Originally posted by lianamaster:U bet.. it's the Honda Jazz I'm aiming for. I started waiting since the previous 2006 model was launched. Till today, that model was gone and I am still waiting...
One thing is I do not have much $$$ right now, and I need to get a stable job. I have a job waiting for me... just a bit impatient to work right now...
I wan a SUV! Saw one KIA and one LEXUS one that looks nice.. didn't research model and price tho =X I dare not ^^
Gimme free ride when u get ur car ~~
Originally posted by nightsky87:I calculate that it will take me more than 79.16 years to get a GTR
But self calculation not very accurate, because once you grad from uni, start work, your savings rate will increase, so the time taken to get a car will also decrease.. not to mention once you have a stable income, you will be eligible for car loans, etc.
U want a GTR? Cool... take loan next time la... ![]()
Well.... I hope to get a car before I get too old... ![]()
I shall try my luck to pester my parents again during the SPH Car-nival in July.... ![]()
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:I wan a SUV! Saw one KIA and one LEXUS one that looks nice.. didn't research model and price tho =X I dare not ^^
Sure, but have to wait patiently wor... not so soon... ![]()
Originally posted by Whatdatoot:chery QQ off peak car. 10k. monthly installment go as low as 200.
Thanks but I will rather wait longer for a Jazz... hehe...
Aiya.. why you all like to drive those "super" cars like GTR?
Insurance high leh.. Then FC also superb high..
Oh.. Lianamaster, i thought you owned a car..
Hey, drive cars like mine, and you will lose all the urge to "whack" that pedal.. cos my car very heavy.. about 1.5 ton.. so on the expressway you travel 100 also got ppl horn at you one.. so end up i give up and travel in middle lane 80km/hr :p
Originally posted by p228:Oh.. Lianamaster, i thought you owned a car..
Hey, drive cars like mine, and you will lose all the urge to "whack" that pedal.. cos my car very heavy.. about 1.5 ton.. so on the expressway you travel 100 also got ppl horn at you one.. so end up i give up and travel in middle lane 80km/hr :p
The car doesn't belong to me... It's my parents' one. I hardly get to drive it. There are some rare occasions when my family wants to go shopping will I take over the steering wheel. Now really got the urge to drive but couldn't. My parents forbid me to rent a car, say too expensive.
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:I wan a SUV! Saw one KIA and one LEXUS one that looks nice.. didn't research model and price tho =X I dare not ^^
Hi,
I think you are referring to Kia Sportage and Lexus RX350/450 / Toyota Harrier (same car, re-badged only).
Kia Sportage now stands around 62k w/coe.
Lexus RX350 stands around 182k w/coe.
Lexus RX450 stands around 198k w/coe.
Kia Sportage interior quite plain.. as i have considered that car before i purchased my Carens.
Hope this info helped :D
Originally posted by lianamaster:The car doesn't belong to me... It's my parents' one. I hardly get to drive it. There are some rare occasions when my family wants to go shopping will I take over the steering wheel. Now really got the urge to drive but couldn't. My parents forbid me to rent a car, say too expensive.
Hi lianamaster,
Rent car where got expensive?
Weekday Package Mon - Fri : $180 onwards (daily about $36)
Weekend Package Fri - Mon : $200 onwards (daily about $50)
You tell me honestly.. where got expensive?
It's the cheapest I can find and i always rent from them before i bought my car..
I still occasionally rent from them when i have the urge to drive a manual car.. :D
Originally posted by p228:Hi,
I think you are referring to Kia Sportage and Lexus RX350/450 / Toyota Harrier (same car, re-badged only).
Kia Sportage now stands around 62k w/coe.
Lexus RX350 stands around 182k w/coe.
Lexus RX450 stands around 198k w/coe.
Kia Sportage interior quite plain.. as i have considered that car before i purchased my Carens.
Hope this info helped :D
It seems you like these types of vehicles too... ![]()
Originally posted by p228:Hi lianamaster,
Rent car where got expensive?
Weekday Package Mon - Fri : $180 onwards (daily about $36)
Weekend Package Fri - Mon : $200 onwards (daily about $50)
You tell me honestly.. where got expensive?
It's the cheapest I can find and i always rent from them before i bought my car..
I still occasionally rent from them when i have the urge to drive a manual car.. :D
Wow... gd for you... I am still under the mercy of my parents... lol...
Originally posted by Whatdatoot:chery QQ off peak car. 10k. monthly installment go as low as 200.
True.. But China cars got QC problem.. You just need to go to SGCARMART to check the reviews on Chery QQ.. got at least 90% of the ppl complain of problems in the car..
It's true that you save upfront on car price.. but maintenance will kill you as you can visit the workshop very frequently for problems.
Originally posted by lianamaster:Wow... gd for you... I am still under the mercy of my parents... lol...
Lolx.. Dont worry lianamaster.. You will get your day soon..
:)
But hey all,
I would suggest to you that if you do not have a minimum income of 3K (car make: Honda Fit and below),
I would not suggest you get a car.. the yearly or half-yearly road tax will kill you.. Plus insurance premium going up every year.. heard it's going to shoot up by 20% this year end..
Maintenace is depends on usage of car.. can range from $100 to $800 (depends on type of servicing).
Unless if you buy OPC, it's another different story.
Originally posted by p228:Lolx.. Dont worry lianamaster.. You will get your day soon..
:)
Yes.. soooooo looking forward to that day....
Believe me, I am not saying my parents are wrong or stg... I understand they care about me and I really appreciate that. Well, time is a healer afterall...
Originally posted by p228:But hey all,
I would suggest to you that if you do not have a minimum income of 3K (car make: Honda Fit and below),
I would not suggest you get a car.. the yearly or half-yearly road tax will kill you.. Plus insurance premium going up every year.. heard it's going to shoot up by 20% this year end..
Maintenace is depends on usage of car.. can range from $100 to $800 (depends on type of servicing).
Unless if you buy OPC, it's another different story.
Yes, I considered that and I am prepared for it. Haha...