Well, I do tailgate the road hogger who hogs the fast lane. But most times, I would overtake the road hogger and if I have time, I would just reduce my speed and since road hoggers love the express lane, they have to brake and slow down as well. I usually make it a point that they move to the second or third lane, so after a while they understand and shift to the 2nd lane.Originally posted by epImetheus:what would you do if someone tailgates you?
increase speed or switch to another lane?
for me.....: i light up my brake lights for them to see
but nearly had an accident last night. was driving on the ECP at around 1am. few cars on the road & i was cruising at 90km/h in the 2nd lane.
then when i pased this honda(not sure what model), the guy suddenly cut into the 2nd lane & directly behind me. at first, thought that he just want to travel on the same lane or going over to the 1st lane soon. when i realised that he was tailgating me, i accelerated but still he remained close behind.
just to scare him off, i stepped lightly on the brake pedal a few times & he E-braked & stopped in the middle of the ECP.![]()
however, i would not try that again, it was scary when the car is tailgating you & then braking suddenly.![]()
it is not so much of claiming...it is the inconvenience to hav your car to be sent for repairs....all the inconveniences...Originally posted by sgedw:Let them tailgate lah,wait until they buay tahan,they will overtake u!!!!Anyway if the car bang you from behind,can claim his insurance.![]()

Originally posted by sgboy2004:it is not so much of claiming...it is the inconvenience to hav your car to be sent for repairs....all the inconveniences...
y dun everybody just be more courteous about it?Originally posted by FERRARIman:Well easy......move to the left lane let he pass ur right side.. and stare at the fucker show him/her ur centre finger!!... tap ur gear down and floor the pedal.. and there u go....
....what the blue hell he/she tailgating me? cant he/she just overtake me or so whatever...tailgating is isn't necessary unless u doing a slipstream pass....but singapore cars is nothing to slipstream about... and tailgating is an offence by traffic police.. cummon guys u all had taken ur license.. im sure ur instructor told u about dat aren't they?? at least 1car/2car length behind...so if that happens to me.. i'll do my style......honestly..Originally posted by HENG@:y dun everybody just be more courteous about it?
i SAID EVERYBODY didn't i? doesn't that include those discourteous tailgaters?Originally posted by FERRARIman:....what the blue hell he/she tailgating me? cant he/she just overtake me or so whatever...tailgating is isn't necessary unless u doing a slipstream pass....but singapore cars is nothing to slipstream about... and tailgating is an offence by traffic police.. cummon guys u all had taken ur license.. im sure ur instructor told u about dat aren't they?? at least 1car/2car length behind...so if that happens to me.. i'll do my style......honestly..
i will not tolerate "tail-gators". Do you get me son?Originally posted by HENG@:i SAID EVERYBODY didn't i? doesn't that include those discourteous tailgaters?
yes i did perfectly "dad".Originally posted by FERRARIman:i will not tolerate "tail-gators". Do you get me son?
ahaaa, im a decent and a courteous driver i can be. But, the Hooligans, the Satans of the road forced me to do so... isn't it they play cheeky?? If they can why not me? Once a while light up a fire doesn't cause so much of damage.. i've done that many times and i still get awarded from TP every year... in malay says, "PANDAI-PANDAI MAU HIDUP!"Originally posted by HENG@:yes i did perfectly "dad".
but i think u don't get me.
i am saying EVERYONE, you AND tailgaters included, would do well to be more courteous on the road.
LOL!! u know what?? in BTT says extreme right lane is only for EMERGENCY VEHICLES... but the the 'driver' is in 'emergency' too so it becomes "emergency driver".. so y not? use dat lane.. haha...Originally posted by sgRaC3r:do know why singapore driver all think right most lane is the fastest lane, and it is for those cars that are "fast" enough ONLY?
isn't it that the right most lane is for over taking purpose? everyone should return to second lane after overtaking. after got the licence, all the theory trow away already...
most of the time i drive on second lane. And you know what, after a while the stupid car that over take me just now is behind me again. Sure he will be surprise this car look familiar.![]()
ayah... dun tit for tat all the time lah... lidat not sian meh?Originally posted by FERRARIman:ahaaa, im a decent and a courteous driver i can be. But, the Hooligans, the Satans of the road forced me to do so... isn't it they play cheeky?? If they can why not me? Once a while light up a fire doesn't cause so much of damage.. i've done that many times and i still get awarded from TP every year... in malay says, "PANDAI-PANDAI MAU HIDUP!"
How about if someone was to overtake you and slow you down in front?Originally posted by sgedw:Let them tailgate lah,wait until they buay tahan,they will overtake u!!!!Anyway if the car bang you from behind,can claim his insurance.![]()
ahhaa i think that driver must be a 'kid' or mayb just graduated from M.O.HOriginally posted by :How about if someone was to overtake you and slow you down in front?