Originally posted by WizQ:Science Park 1 (Science Park Dr) to Lavender (Singapore casket side) go which route?
Actual route taken : Buona Vista - Holland - Napier - Tanglin - Orchard - Scotts - Newton - Moulmein - Balestier - Lavender
take tis route good luck to cheapo pax
confirm kana jam from tanglin all the way to lavender,esp newton part,end up pax paying more
to me aye-ecp-rochor is the best way
Thanks for the suggestions folks!
How come no one here suggest : Buona Vista- Holland- Clementi Rd - Dunearn-Newton-..... ? Don't laugh OK, somone DID suggest this to me.
Anyway, I write about this experience here.
So guys, remember. If you happen to pick up a bespectacled, straight short haired, mid forty 75% woman pax from along Science Park Drive, you have been warned. This woman had been trained by the best uncle driver in Singapore !
AYE-ECP-rochor is a good suggestion. I would love to see the woman's expression when I suggest this. CTE is already "a big round" for her, I imagine she will flip when she hear ECP. LOLz
Originally posted by WizQ:How come no one here suggest : Buona Vista- Holland- Clementi Rd - Dunearn-Newton-..... ? Don't laugh OK, somone DID suggest this to me.
Don't laugh .
Once , the current new guru Teolk ..... previously he Advance only .
He picked up an Ang Mor from Changi Naval Base , wanting to go Swiss Club Road .
teolk , i called him Ken .
Ken actually whacked ECP > AYE > Clementi Road > Dunearn Road > Swiss Club Road .
So later he felt guilt and asked me .
I said i will go by PIE > Eng Neo Road > Bt Timah Road > Swiss Club Road .
Jam leh he said near Paya Lebar .
So i replied at least got the courtesy to go by ECP > KPE > PIE > Eng NEO etc .......
He said " Yah hor , how come i never thought of that ? "
We share , we learnt , we apply .
Nothing personal about all those teaching stuffs , just a way to improve yourself .
If wanna improve , must learn from your mistakes .
I also learnt from my mistakes . I admit about those mistakes .
Without mistakes , u'll never be a good driver .
Must confess to those blunders .
Originally posted by WizQ:
So guys, remember. If you happen to pick up a bespectacled, straight short haired, mid forty 75% woman pax from along Science Park Drive, you have been warned. This woman had been trained by the best uncle driver in Singapore !
U mean u street pickup??? No wonder la....pax at Science park 1 or 2 always no problem 1 but no street pick for me. Street pick mean wanna save call charge so what u think those wanna save save here save save there will wanna go long faster way or shortest way...??
Originally posted by FT:
U mean u street pickup??? No wonder la....pax at Science park 1 or 2 always no problem 1 but no street pick for me. Street pick mean wanna save call charge so what u think those wanna save save here save save there will wanna go long faster way or shortest way...??
Yes, street pick-up. This happen few weeks ago when I was still learning to drive.
Nowadays I aim for CBD calls.
Next step, I want to learn "interview skills" from Prof Poolman
Originally posted by WizQ:Next step, I want to learn "interview skills" from Prof Poolman
What skills ?
Simple la .
Just like u go mama shop buy cigarettes : " Mama , u got Marlboro Menthol Light ?"
If yes , pay money , and fuck off .
Same , if see pax acting fishy , asked : " Hi , u wanna go where ? I am heading Pasir Ris , got advance booking an hour later ."
If good trip , just proceed lor .
If not nice , rot , let them rot , say " sorry cannot ."
if LTA call you , just replied : " Ya , a personal regular , booking to AP ."
Yo , meter will tell .
Do u think they really want to check your meter ?
No need a professor to figur out how to interview .
Ruthless a bit do u numerous good .
Originally posted by WizQ:Nowadays I aim for CBD calls.
Good luck to your CDG's CBD calls .
I have to agree. As a TD, interviewing the pax is a must.
Imagine the worst case that can happen as a TD around 5pm sweeping for pax inside CBD. Say the pax ask u go to Jurong from CBD at 5pm on a weekday. And u stupidly agree, so u go by AYE to Jurong, then u kenna stuck by the massive jams when u try to go back to CBD. Stupid right? Lost the chance to earn the $3 CBD surcharge, and forced to do street hires around Jurong because of that stupid mistake. When Lake View Serene calls on the walkie, u can only salivate but cannot go becoz the jam at this time is massive. End up lose time and income.
The most important mantra as a TD is this:
Your job is to find paxs who are going to the same place as u. You must interview the pax. And for taking calls, the destination must be listed.
The only time when it is safe to pick and go is when the road traffic is going to be light, and we all know it only happens after midnight, when street hires are almost non-existent.
When the TD does not bother to ask for destinations, it is a sign of very bad business. The walkie is silent, the MDT is silent, all taxi stands are packed with a long q of taxis, and almost no street paxes. When this happens, any taiko destination also grab lor.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:I have to agree. As a TD, interviewing the pax is a must.
Imagine the worst case that can happen as a TD around 5pm sweeping for pax inside CBD. Say the pax ask u go to Jurong from CBD at 5pm on a weekday. And u stupidly agree, so u go by AYE to Jurong, then u kenna stuck by the massive jams when u try to go back to CBD. Stupid right? Lost the chance to earn the $3 CBD surcharge, and forced to do street hires around Jurong because of that stupid mistake. When Lake View Serene calls on the walkie, u can only salivate but cannot go becoz the jam at this time is massive. End up lose time and income.
Hmm ..... for me , i'll go anywhere during peak hours .
Jurong ? Sorry bro , 5pm to Jurong , for me , it's good .
5pm to woodlands ? I also will take , if passenger dare take , i will take .
Cos 35% .
Why not ?
From there , u dun worry about $3 CBD surcharge .
Worry more to that 35% u can get a pax or not ?
Still , if can still remains in CBD , good la .
But 7.30pm , i'll try to get out of CBD .
I hope u know why ?
I normally wait until 8pm (no more ERP), then straight away go inside CBD for street hires and calls. Before that, I try to grab SMRT walkie/MDT calls or LV walkie calls around CBD or RWS area.
Your strategy works too. It is always good to have a long trip after 5pm because of the heavy traffic in expressways. Easily $20 plus fare. But once 745pm comes, I will hope for a fare to bring me back to CBD because the ERP gantries switches off at 8pm.
Originally posted by WizQ:Yes, street pick-up. This happen few weeks ago when I was still learning to drive.
Nowadays I aim for CBD calls.
Next step, I want to learn "interview skills" from Prof Poolman
sad to hear this...hahaha....be a kind driver like me, i don't interview, want i take if not i zoom pass.
Originally posted by Poolman:
Good luck to your CDG's CBD calls .
What to do?!? Just try to make the best out of the wost situation lor.... If join walkie, sure cannot fight with the CCK red engine yao gui one. Phui!
Now still learning to "read pattern" from those CDG calls. Can "feel" one lah, but many times still kenna rotten eggs :(
Originally posted by FT:
sad to hear this...hahaha....be a kind driver like me, i don't interview, want i take if not i zoom pass.
The problem with me is I still interview pax, but too many times I soft hearted and take.
Still need to grasp that "show no mercy, coz they don't take care of you" principle yet. Right now I am still more like "Do to other people what you want other people treat you". Bad, bad, bad. Need to harden myself.
Very easy to interview pax one. I just wind down window and tell them the general direction I am headed, for eg. "I got advance booking in east coast." or "I am going to Tampines" The pax will either shake head or say something like: "Oh its ok, we are going Joo Chiat"
This way they cannot say we kelong, because we already announce our intention before they even tell us their destination.
Originally posted by WizQ:What to do?!? Just try to make the best out of the wost situation lor.... If join walkie, sure cannot fight with the CCK red engine yao gui one. Phui!
Now still learning to "read pattern" from those CDG calls. Can "feel" one lah, but many times still kenna rotten eggs :(
Bro , when i first join, i oso blur like f, sure cannot fight with lao gui one. But u fight those lao gui dun want to fight one, u fight after 10, cos lao gui oso busy putting out fire. No better way to learn than to try to take the call. But must know when to take and when not to take only.
tonite something miraculous happened to me. sweep the floor at 11 pm , never interview, phui ah wood. alight mr ah wood sweep another one to clementi..... i couldnt believe my luck. just when i was trying to get over it , sweep another back to ah shun knn! low morale , then at shun tio call to Mt E . miracle? i think is
So the morale of the story is ...................... ????
Sweep more ? Can do ?
Sweep more to Ah Wood ?
Then ........... pls help yourself . I leave all to you .
U are my saviour !
In fact all cabby's saviour !!!
yes sweep more !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! im in favour of sweeping now coz i wanna change to Honda FIT liao wad. honda fit where got call? once i change to FIT , my nick will change to sau kor ka liao :D
That day TCL asked me : ECP how to go Joo Chiat ?"
Strange question ....
Long time never go such places , wqill got this problem .
So the story is , DUN STICK ONLY AT TUAS !!
U'll forget Joo Chiat is where ?
hahahahah
KNN where is Woodlands St 64 ?
Got such place St 64 ?
Sorry long time never go i totally forgotten serious .
Originally posted by Poolman:That day TCL asked me : ECP how to go Joo Chiat ?"
Strange question ....
Long time never go such places , wqill got this problem .
So the story is , DUN STICK ONLY AT TUAS !!
U'll forget Joo Chiat is where ?
hahahahah
KNN where is Woodlands St 64 ?
Got such place St 64 ?
Sorry long time never go i totally forgotten serious .
no st 64 bro . i think got Dr 64 ... not very sure also hahaha
seriously my mind went blank when the pax told me Joo chiat , its really been ages since i sent anyone there. so i was like oh fark how to go huh? thats why i sms my human GPS mah haha
ok juz thot of something. from classified area to goldhill avenue. how to go?
Originally posted by Tio Call Liao:ok juz thot of something. from classified area to goldhill avenue. how to go?
Take Bt Timah and U turn somewhere around Robin Rd (before going up flyover).