U eventually would want to go into OMO .
Cos most newbies would not even think about Merc for a start , only you .
Base on character , u will be one of those commandos i saw , that will go into OMO .
Take my word .
Originally posted by Ngkialeong888:Drum beat.........................
To all future and upcoming and choose to be upcoming OMO bros here. Let me share my story abit.
I was like most new TD few years ago when I started out as a OMO. Struggling between OMO and relief. Relief wasn't a easy option cos you will hear people saying problems about having a relief, finding a relief is sure a problem itself. It's true till today that a good relief is never easy to come. So naturally OMO became an "easy" option" for newbie. You may dreaming of good income driving 14-16 hours a day, no relief problems. These are easy excuses for being an OMO. But what newbie will never understand is that driving 14-16 hours on the road is not a joke. I personally got into 2 accidents within my first 1 years due to lack of sleep. I was lucky enough to stay alive today. Being an OMO is a balancing act between making enough money and having enough sleep. Mental stress itself will kill your motivation to move forward, over the long run.
Of course there are TD who are very successful in being an OMO, and being OMO sure got its advantage, like having the freedom usage of taxi, etc. But how long do you think one can take such mental and health stress? Do you really think the money you make as an OMO you get to live for it (touchwood, but very true)? Do you think your family feel good to see you drive so hard and at the same time neglect them?
Here is a good story by FT on "Can I Borrow $25"
http://cabby.sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/397378?page=4
I once heard some conversation among a new driver, bragging that how he make $xxx within a day. The old driver just answer a smile and say " What you earn now, you will need to pay back when you old, or if you manage to see yourself old"
So my advice to all upcoming OMO, make a wise choice today. TD like ceo pool and our principal TCL and many more out there are people with 10 years experiences in this industry. Do you think what they says doesn't carry some weight in their statement?
If you think the group in this forum are selfish people, unwilling to share the truth, just twisting some facts just to make you change your decision. Let me tell you the truth. I have never seen people like that throughout my life, sharing so willingly their experience, their lobangs, everything. They are best among the best I have seen, especially the lakeview group in this forum. I have heighten my income cos of ceo pool's help and many people who share info with me. These people makes me feel see a different side of this industry. These people makes me feel prideful of being a taxi driver. Therefore I tell myself I will in return help as much as I could to those who need my help.
Hope you newbies make a wise decision.
totally agree with nkl.. all newbies will think this way, me included.. if me were to go OMO, it will be transcab due to the $716.. if not, relief will be better.. even with $716, i think it is super tough cos havent start engine, alr $160 overhead and as a newbie, need to drive at least 8 hours just to cover cost, si bei xiong..
so, going to find ard my house there for comfort sonata hirer..
if anyone know of any comfort sonata hirer looking for day relief [4am to 4pm type] and staying in sengkang, pls pm me.. me staying in compassvale drive, able to start in july.. kam sia
I never think of going into OMO before. It was this guy who called me and offer me this Merc Cab 2 days ago. Therefore I came here to seek advice whether is it ok and also wish the hear voices fm both side of the coin.
"I know this is rediculous for some". I mentioned. remember?
You may be right Pool. I may go into OMO eventually for whatever challenging reasons. I am prepared for the battle. Tks for all the good advice.
Saw yesterday's TODAY paper mentioned many 'books' from different 'libraries' were 'confiscated' by the authority during a 3 days ops fr Fri to Sun... no wonder Thurs night is more happening than Fri.
Originally posted by JLKL:totally agree with nkl.. all newbies will think this way, me included.. if me were to go OMO, it will be transcab due to the $716.. if not, relief will be better.. even with $716, i think it is super tough cos havent start engine, alr $160 overhead and as a newbie, need to drive at least 8 hours just to cover cost, si bei xiong..
if anyone know of any comfort sonata hirer looking for day relief [4am to 4pm type] and staying in sengkang, pls pm me.. me staying in compassvale drive, able to start in july.. kam sia
hmmm maybe u can ask mangodew..... heard maybe he
looking for relief, somemore stay sengkang also...... too bad
i no merc driver face haha
Originally posted by Sgm40 vps:I never think of going into OMO before. It was this guy who called me and offer me this Merc Cab 2 days ago. Therefore I came here to seek advice whether is it ok and also wish the hear voices fm both side of the coin.
"I know this is rediculous for some". I mentioned. remember?
You may be right Pool. I may go into OMO eventually for whatever challenging reasons. I am prepared for the battle. Tks for all the good advice.
Saw yesterday's TODAY paper mentioned many 'books' from different 'libraries' were 'confiscated' by the authority during a 3 days ops fr Fri to Sun... no wonder Thurs night is more happening than Fri.
nah still got books lar some bros juz went library on sun.......
Originally posted by La2534:I so big size and u forgot me Pool................I new bird OMO Fat Golden Cow..............
Those who want OMO Limo taxi just be prepared. You must able to "tahan" (withstand pressure) for 3 months or so. If not u, my advice is go OMO with comfort OR be a reflief.
Taxi company will not tell u(well at least the taxi company which I am renting my taxi from) IN DETAIL wad will be the issues faced by drivers who rented certain type of cab. They just keep quiet and let u choose like a good service front door salesman.
And when u take it up, u are stuck for at least 6 months. By then, Taxi company no need to worry cause even u return car, u need to change vehicle or pay up the penalty.
I spoke to MPV a lot. These few days I think I was a bit harsh to him. Feeling a bit bad that he is still struggling. I am still trying to encourage him. One of the problem with new drivers especially desperate new drivers who needed money to keep family going is they presurrized themselves too hard till their income drop - and they dun understand why...
I think from tonight onward, I will write a series of newbie guide for new drivers. At least it will help u to ask some questions before u decide to rent any taxi.
With a sincere heart, all those new drivers who visit the forum, approach Poolman and join Lakeview. You may struggle even if u are with Lakeview, but at the very least, you struggle knowing help is behind. I am new here in this forum, but I can see poolman and gang is one of the best self help group here.
If you are from the rat race coporate world, then u will definitely appreciate the frankness displayed among this LV forum members here. We are not the smartest in Singapore, but we definitely not the blind and stupid as some pple think we are.
yah agree with u bro this bunch of cut throat, ruthless, cold blooded
bunch of ccb r 1 of the most supportive group of ppl i have known.
they unselfishly share lobangs n teach us noobies new tins really
salute them ;) eh we got 1 PHD member amongst us consider smart
liao boh?? :P
Originally posted by komade:hmmm maybe u can ask mangodew..... heard maybe he
looking for relief, somemore stay sengkang also...... too bad
i no merc driver face haha
Ya i know he drive merc cab but i dun think me suitable to drive mercs lah.. i dun want to spoil the image of merc cab drivers.. haha.
Originally posted by JLKL:totally agree with nkl.. all newbies will think this way, me included.. if me were to go OMO, it will be transcab due to the $716.. if not, relief will be better.. even with $716, i think it is super tough cos havent start engine, alr $160 overhead and as a newbie, need to drive at least 8 hours just to cover cost, si bei xiong..
i stay sk also but driving smrt merc. u interested?? lol
Originally posted by komade:nah still got books lar some bros juz went library on sun.......
shhh ... classified..
Originally posted by JLKL:Ya i know he drive merc cab but i dun think me suitable to drive mercs lah.. i dun want to spoil the image of merc cab drivers.. haha.
lol u think i got the merc face meh?? u ask them how i wear to drive one lor lol
Originally posted by ALN:ken teo (teolk) drive red wish looking for relief….
he got 1 condo in sengkang and another 1 in eunos
he lookin for nite relief meh??
A taxi course mate of mine had this TransCab 1.8 wish. He only have to pay 210 per week. 1-5 is 8pm to 6am. 6-7 (sat-sun) is full day. I thought it was a damn good deal. Too bad I dont live in Tampines.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:A taxi course mate of mine had this TransCab 1.8 wish. He only have to pay 210 per week. 1-5 is 8pm to 6am. 6-7 (sat-sun) is full day. I thought it was a damn good deal. Too bad I dont live in Tampines.
wow~~~ really cheap
Originally posted by mangodew:i stay sk also but driving smrt merc. u interested?? lol
merc rental a bit high for newbie like me lah.. somemore when i start, will sweep floor one.. use mercs to sweep floor a bit xiong leh..but things cannot say so fast.. will keep you posted if i am interested..
Originally posted by JLKL:merc rental a bit high for newbie like me lah.. somemore when i start, will sweep floor one.. use mercs to sweep floor a bit xiong leh..but things cannot say so fast.. will keep you posted if i am interested..
i also same la i use merc to solely sweep floor and TS queing.
Originally posted by mangodew:
i also same la i use merc to solely sweep floor and TS queing.
haha same here i also rd sweeper but i play hijack also....... :P
for beginners try become relief and get used to the timing . Then when things are ok then try to get the cheapest rental in the market . For as long you make money then you and yr family are happy. Bro liverpool I am still around driving my taxi. Still havent die yet . All the best of luck to our TDs here. Stay positive and may everyone make money. Huat ah!
Originally posted by Benqepson68:for beginners try become relief and get used to the timing . Then when things are ok then try to get the cheapest rental in the market . For as long you make money then you and yr family are happy. Bro liverpool I am still around driving my taxi. Still havent die yet . All the best of luck to our TDs here. Stay positive and may everyone make money. Huat ah!
yah agree with u bro muz stay postive if not everyday
u get behind the steering wheel bfore u turn the key to
crank the engine u olredi sian 1/2 liao...... :P
Me?? everyday i yearning to go out for my next "kill" haha
Today not a gd day for me. I got kill by pax. Sigh.
Originally posted by benqepson:Today not a gd day for me. I got kill by pax. Sigh.
huh got kill by pax?? we should be the one killing them ma..
Originally posted by mangodew:
huh got kill by pax?? we should be the one killing them ma..
haha yah lor norm i kill them in cold blood........
maybe i can help u a little ,i used to drive merc comfort ,nice to drive good music interior n all but end of the day u earn less after sweeping the floor n sky pay rental ,my friend is still driving says he earn about 80 per night after rental n diesel
compare that with a normal sonata of about 150 averge per day x 30 just calculate how much do u lose for the sake of comfort is it worth it .