Thanks for all the tips from all the TD here ...... old already cannot remember many things in one go to pass in one test .....finally passed at my third test. ![]()
Slow and steady ....
Congrats. The real test follows next. All the best and drive safe.
i also feel like going to take and standby ![]()
Originally posted by BeRt^.^:i also feel like going to take and standby
It's not a bad idea to have one .
This theory has been there for ages .
Cos taxi is a survivor option for some . Cannot last minute .
In case of emergency , then use one .
But again , emergency cannot expect good money , just nice can liao .
We expert liao , professional . Emergency cannot match our experience .
Originally posted by Zero 5:
It's not a bad idea to have one .This theory has been there for ages .
Cos taxi is a survivor option for some . Cannot last minute .
In case of emergency , then use one .
But again , emergency cannot expect good money , just nice can liao .
We expert liao , professional . Emergency cannot match our experience .
I also new leh 05 only making 1.5k every mth can show me
the ropes to earn more?? :P
Originally posted by komade:I also new leh 05 only making 1.5k every mth can show me
the ropes to earn more?? :P
Eat all !
Uncle Poolman sms me from Caribbean , to congrats all newbies for passing the test .
More tests to go .
Is just a begining ....still many to learn from your guys here on Taxi driving.
This is a jobs that requires lots of hard work and long hours.
Thanks again for all the senior here ....like Poolman, Zero 5 , komade and many others.
Originally posted by Ah Cheng:Is just a begining ....still many to learn from your guys here on Taxi driving.
This is a jobs that requires lots of hard work and long hours.
Thanks again for all the senior here ....like Poolman, Zero 5 , komade and many others.
me not senior me also noob like u ;)
Finally got my licence, will want to try as a relief first on weekend.
To be a relief, do I need to go to the Taxi company or just deal with hirer will do. Any senior can advice ?
Thank you !
Originally posted by Ah Cheng:Finally got my licence, will want to try as a relief first on weekend.
To be a relief, do I need to go to the Taxi company or just deal with hirer will do. Any senior can advice ?
Thank you !
try to get a cab (within your carpark). look for hirer before approaching the taxi company. Pm Poolman if u got difficulty getting a cab.. see if he can assist...
for newbies, i will advice you to look for a CDG cab as their IVT (MDT system) has a better mapping and more jobs - which may come in handy.
Wow, thanks for the fast response ! btw. I'm very "new" so have to ask some stupid question. What is CDG and IVT also MDT system ? Many thanks !
CDG = Comfort Delgro Group ( Comfort, City cabs )
IVT & MDT ( Jobs allocating System + GPRS used in the taxi ). Drivers needed to login and logoff before they starts and end of their shifts.
(sorry for late reply this time
). was watching some movies thru computer.
when you have time, do look at Street Directory. ( it helps ).
passing your test is only the beginning of the industry.
Wishing you the very best... Drive with the right attitude.
Cheng, you can reg with CDG as a relief after you have found yr hirer. (pay $1k or 4 x $250 mthly)
What I did was I reg as a hirer to book for a <2yr old sonata. No need to pay anything upfront. They even reg for me and schedule a MDT cse & driver orientation cse for me (its abt 2-4 wks time). Meaning to say that CDG wants their new drv to complete these 2 cses before allowing them to the deep side of the pool! [Pool means swimming pool, not Poolman!]
This is a very good orientation prog by CDG.
after you have completed the 2 cse (infact, I started driving even before I went for these cse), you are not obligue to take the cab. You still can call them to cancel the reg. No penalty. But you must drive for CDG.
Why I cancelled? Becos I have found a Merc cab instead of Sonata.
2 cents worth...
hi sgm40 vps
can I know how to be a sucessful merc cab driver ?
1. do u drive in the day time or at nite ?
2. how u secure jobs ?
3. lots of TD here said dun drive a merc unless one has good lobang, is that true ?
How to have gd lobang if u never start ?
4. base on what u said, I believe u started as a Merc cab TD in ur early stage, do u think new bird can try ?
5.which coy (may be where u r nw ) has gd job for mer cab ?
thanks
Originally posted by xinyan:hi sgm40 vps
can I know how to be a sucessful merc cab driver ?
1. do u drive in the day time or at nite ?
2. how u secure jobs ?
3. lots of TD here said dun drive a merc unless one has good lobang, is that true ?
How to have gd lobang if u never start ?
4. base on what u said, I believe u started as a Merc cab TD in ur early stage, do u think new bird can try ?
5.which coy (may be where u r nw ) has gd job for mer cab ?
thanks
Go read this if you are free...
( I spend some time typing,... tired you know... lol).
All taxi got market rate one .
It's the timing u start , cos the later you start , the less u will earn at the end of the day .
Normally shift change hand at 5pm , some 4pm .
Day shift normally 5am or 6am .
Insurance bore by company , just dun get yourself into accident .
Fuel all pump full .
Net income = collection minus overheads
eg Friday , someone from Hougang , that phui fella , collected $320
Minus fuel $35 , minus rental $50 , his nett is $320-$35-$50
Some add cigarettes inside , i don't .
Some add kopi inside , roti inside , food inside , car was inside .
So left bones sometimes .
Thanks Poolman !
From the forum, I understand you drive a Wish cab.
What is the market rental for relief (5pm to 5am)? And also fuel consumption ?
thanks !
Few more questions (to be a relief)
1. Any contract need to sign or deposit with hirer ?
2. Rental pay daily/weekly/monthly ?
3. Have to register with taxi company first then can be a relief to that company ?
4. Taxi company provide training for their relief ?
many thanks ..ah cheng
Originally posted by Ah Cheng:Thanks Poolman !
From the forum, I understand you drive a Wish cab.
What is the market rental for relief (5pm to 5am)? And also fuel consumption ?
thanks !
1.8L Wish can go up to 220-240km .
2.0L Wish can go minimum 250km , maximum 335km .
It depends in your driving style .
The more u speed , u more the vehicle consume fuel .
Like the 2.0L Wish , if u 1st gear just whack , very easy must refill CNG . If u pick up the speed smoothly , it actually FC quite low .
My full tank CNG for 2.0L is 21kg , multiply $1.31 per kg , it's about $27.50 for say 280km .
1.8L half shift 5pm to 5am , $45 minimum .
2.0L half shift 5pm to 5am , $50 minimum .
1. Any contract need to sign or deposit with hirer ? Answer : NO , refundable security deposit $1k must be given to taxi company .
2. Rental pay daily/weekly/monthly ? Answer : Daily after shift ended . Cash
3. Have to register with taxi company first then can be a relief to that company ? Answer : When u found a partner to drive for .
4. Taxi company provide training for their relief ? Answer : TransCab nothing , CDG has to go MDT training . How to take call ? how to use Visa Card ? Corporate Card ? Never heard before other taxi companies got training provided by them , SMRT i think have .
Originally posted by Poolman:
1.8L Wish can go up to 220-240km .2.0L Wish can go minimum 250km , maximum 335km .
It depends in your driving style .
The more u speed , u more the vehicle consume fuel .
Like the 2.0L Wish , if u 1st gear just whack , very easy must refill CNG . If u pick up the speed smoothly , it actually FC quite low .
My full tank CNG for 2.0L is 21kg , multiply $1.31 per kg , it's about $27.50 for say 280km .
1.8L half shift 5pm to 5am , $45 minimum .
2.0L half shift 5pm to 5am , $50 minimum .
yah depends how much u whack norm my 1st tank of cng
can last me 180-200km max nia..... :P
Thanks a lot bros !
Relief driving SMRT taxi must also attend a 1 day MDT training before they can start.