|
SOURCE: WONDERFULRIFE
|
So this article on paper today.
People now like. Self-Drive Holiday on their own.
As like me., and the people over here.
Stayed Tune.
No probelm i will input more on this matter.
From my experience.
Hakata the last day in Kyushu.
Next day will be our last flying back to Singapore.
We stayed at this last hotel. Toyoko inn at Hakata.
So the whole trip. we stayed only four of the Hotels.
And another two stays,
One a Chalet at Krishima.
One a Homestay at Kumamoto..
a abit special.
I, will post later.

Check-in Time / 16:00
Check-out Time / 10:00
Free Breakfast 7:00-9:30
Something like this Kyushu Self - Drive Holidays.
On your own.
here the Lobang.
link.
http://www.etravelconnect.com/chan-brothers-travel/free-easy/7d-kyushu-self-drive-land-only/477605

over here another.
So our expedition included this not all are Hotels stay..
As i told, only four Hotels at Kagoshima, Nagasaki, Beppu, Hakata.
So at Krishima Highland.
What about staying here, another kind of new experience.
With groups you can never enjoy this kind of facility.
This is where we got our lodging for one day.
One day meaning one daylight check-in.
till next day after lunch check-out.
Kirishima.
http://593941.com/newcottage.html

Source
simple hot spring origin and new national forest floor
hypotonic, neutral, high springs
Sengen 69 ℃
※ Please use the lockers at the property can not be done because our compensation by the theft of valuables such as a wallet.
â– TOPPAGE
Efficacy
neuralgia, joint pain, muscle pain, frozen shoulder, chronic gastrointestinal diseases
have the effect of poor circulation, fatigue, health, etc..
Hours
(Golden Week and summer vacation, winter vacation is 9:00 to 21:00 without a regular holiday) 9:00 to 20:00 Sun Closed Wednesdays
The above are open field camping for family gathering in nature atmosphere,
and caraven of your own.
we stayed those indoor kind.
The Bach is where stayed.
.Bach
tatami â—� 32
to about 12 people Number available in some rooms can be pets. (Pet cleaning fee of 2,000 yen / will be required separately)
Bach detail
Air conditioning (Bach 1.2)
â—� This is a one-story building with high ceilings spacious tatami 32.
Building 2 and Building 3 is available to guests with pets staying +2000 yen.
Shower Room
Washroom
Shoebox
Kitchen
Stove burner
Refrigerator
2 Interior Bach
3 Interior Bach
1 Interior Bach
Beethoven Details
â—� There is a loft of 11 tatami mat dining 17.
Washroom
Refrigerator
Kitchen
IH heater
Loft
Shower Room
Shoebox
2 interior Beethoven
Air conditioning (Schubert 3)
â—� There is a loft of 10 tatami mat dining 12.
There is air conditioning in Building 3.
Shower Room
Washroom
Schubert detail
Shoebox
Loft
So this is Alphard we are talking about.
From Fukuoka airport to Kagoshima we used this range.
Later part at the other, we took two Kcar the smaller 600 CC . and comsumption are more economical. on our other lowland journeys.
We used this eight seater, to this highland we needed this.
Cause we needed power to go uphill. Kcar cannot perform.

COPYRIGHT © 2007-2008 FUKUCHI INDUSTRY CO.,LTD ALL RIGHT RESERVED
Some may say aiya cover Japan liao you covered Krishima, where you stay?
where we stayed,
what food your tour leader given you, junk food again.
what food we ate. in Krishima plateau.
Singapore fried beehoon with few can of pork bring along from Singapore cooked in this cottage kitchen by our own Singaporean chef...haha.
Lovely.
Air conditioning (Bach 1.2)
â—� This is a one-story building with high ceilings spacious tatami 32.
Building 2 and Building 3 is available to guests with pets staying +2000 yen.
Shower Room
Washroom
Shoebox
Kitchen
Stove burner
Refrigerator
2 Interior Bach
3 Interior Bach
1 Interior Bach
Veranda
And a few more, will upload the pictures later.
Also Black Wagyu, with other kind of cut.
Like this kind of activitites, free and easy than you can do as you like.
With big tour group no way.
So things you must know?
When come to talks about Kobe and Wagyu.
Dun confused. Between Kobe Beef and Wagyu Beef.
Where are the difference.
http://www.lonemountaincattle.com/difference-between-kobe-wagyu.html
Being that Kobe cattle and Wagyu cows are both from japan, most people don't understand the true diffrences between the different breeds. Visit our FAQ pagewhich will clarify some of the inherent differences between Kobe and Wagyu cattle
Q = What is the difference between Kobe and Wagyu beef?
A =Wagyu is a breed of Japanese cattle. Kobe is not a breed, but rather the beef produced from Wagyu cattle. More specifically, Kobe (or Tajima) Cattle refer only to Wagyu cattle that are bred, born and raised in the Kobe Prefecture of Japan and regulated by the Japanese government. All authentic Kobe Beef found in markets and restaurants in the US is imported from Japan; true Kobe Beef is not produced in the US.
Wagyu genetics (semen, embryos, live cattle) are strictly regulated by the Japanese government and are no longer allowed to be exported outside Japan.
American restaurants and markets sometimes refer to "American-Style Kobe" or "American Kobe" or "100% Kobe" - these terms refer to beef produced in America from crossbred cattle, usually Wagyu x Angus.
Fullblood Wagyu Cattle or Beef derived from true 100% Japanese Black Wagyu genetics is currently being produced in small numbers in the United States. Such Fullblood Wagyu is DNA-verified to be from the original Japanese genetics. There is no requirement that Fullblood Wagyu be bred, born or raised in Japan - as long as the genetics are DNA-verified.
This is the confusion that often arises: True Kobe/Wagyu Beef vs American-Style Kobe (or American Kobe). True Kobe Beef is 100% Fullblood Wagyu. American-Style Kobe or American Kobe is percentage Wagyu, usually 50% Wagyu and 50% Angus - although the percentage can vary. The percentage is usually not revealed on the restaurant menu.
Q = What makes Wagyu cattle different from any other breed?
A = This Japanese breed has become famous all over the world because Wagyu cattle are synonymous with Kobe Beef, which is Wagyu beef raised in the region of Kobe, Japan. They are a high marbling breed that yield quality cuts of meat that surpass other breeds in tenderness and intramuscular marbling.
Q = What attributes can Wagyu bring to a commercial herd?
A = Cattleman wanting to improve the quality of meat they raise can significantly improve the overall quality grades of their cattle on feed with Wagyu genetics. On the hoof, they are structurally sound, similar in appearance to British breeds, offer calving ease to a herd, docile in temperament and with their superior genetics, can dramatically increase the quality of meat offspring will produce.
Q = Do they look different than other breeds?
A = Wagyu are black cattle that look like Angus, but horned and lighter muscled through their hindquarters. The breed was originally draft animals used in cultivation, so they were selected for physical endurance. This selection favored animals with more intra-muscular fat cells - marbling, which provided a readily available energy source. This has resulted in high marbling carcasses unlike any other breed.
Q = Can Wagyu handle various environments/conditions?
A = Wagyu are very adaptable to various climates and altitudes. At Lone Mountain Ranch, the herd has faced extreme hot and dry conditions in the summer months, and below zero temperatures and heavy snowfall in the winter. The herd handles these temperatures and climates with no problems. Due to their durability, Wagyu are raised in many regions of the United States.
Q = What role does the Wagyu breed have in the beef industry?
A = Wagyu cattle are the undisputed breed leader for marbling, tenderness and carcass quality. Fullblood Wagyu and Wagyu crossed cattle, when fed properly, consistently meet the demands for Prime quality grade beef. They are rapidly becoming the white tablecloth breed in the culinary industry.
Q = Is Wagyu meat good for you? What does it taste like?
A = Wagyu cattle produce bright red meat that is highly marbled and has astonishing flavor and tenderness. The meat also has a higher percentage of monounsaturated fat than any other breed of cattle in the world, and it is extremely low in cholesterol. The marbling and taste of Wagyu is unparalleled in any other breed in the world.
source.
|
SOURCE: WONDERFULRIFE
|
![]() |
| Bunapi Shimeji - White Beech - mushroom. |
![]() |
| Buna Shimeji - Brown Beech - mushroom - photo by |
![]() |
| Enokitake mushroom |
![]() |
| Eringi mushroom - photo by |
![]() |
| Hiratake - Oyster mushroom - |
![]() |
| Maitake mushroom - Photograph by |
![]() |
| Natsutake Mushrooms - photo found: http://hillslearning.wordpress.com/2009/10/13/fall-foods-in-japan/ |
![]() |
| Nameko mushrooms |
![]() |
| Reishi mushroom |
![]() |
| Shiitake mushrooms |
So will you like to to see, like this kind of exploration?
Also in Kagoshima. This i did it on my previous trip before this with eight of my kakis.
Enjoy another kind of experience..
What actually people wanted to know about this island.
Spending time to get there, as like me, and all the people here.
Following this thread, i had am aware.
Keep increasing by numbers.
And people headed there to this Island, for what?
just to see this main attraction.
Do you want to do like what i had did before.
source.
Izismile.com » Lifestyle » Nature » Yakushima Island Forest a Natural Wonder (12 pics)
Read more at http://izismile.com/2012/10/03/yakushima_island_forest_a_natural_wonder_12_pics.html#L3mlFSEHBkXptPSx.99
Why are there still people flocking to this island, there must be some secret or special on this island..
over here.
Not much people know about this island in this region.
over there plenty
People flocking here to this island Yakushima.
video.
Will you come to this island like all the people above video,
take nearly half a day up to this mountain, just to see.
video.
http://japan-web-magazine.com/japan-kagoshima-yakushima-yakusugi2.html
On Yakushima, located about 60 kilometers southwest of Kyushu, it is said to rain 35 days a month. This might explain the extreme annual rainfall of 4,000mm. Trees here, simply put, are huge thanks to the rain. It is a must-see for those wanting to experience a side of Japan that can be seen nowhere else in the country.
In 1993, approximately one fifth of the island was designated by UNESCO as a World National Heritage Site. That recognition puts Yakushima in the same bracket as other World National Heritage Sites such as Himeji Castle, Horyu Temple, and the Shirakami Mountains.
The extreme rise in elevation, from sea level to almost 2000 meters at its highest point, combined with the dramatic volume of rain created an eco-system on Yakushima whereby the lowlands resemble a jungle and the highest points have snow. It challenges one's imagination, walking through the snow-covered peaks of the mountains that Yakushima is actually a subtropical island. Descend down below and you are surrounded by Yakusugi (cedar), ferns, moss, and fungi.
I make a special point of mentioning the Yakusugi because the cedar trees here on Yakushima defy reason. Take the Jomon Sugi. The age of this cedar is estimated to be anywhere between 2,600 to 7,200 years old. It's huge. Really huge. It makes me want to speak the language of trees and ask what it has seen and heard.
Click to view Yakushima in full-screen
On Yakushima, located about 60 kilometers southwest of Kyushu, it is said to rain 35 days a month. This might explain the extreme annual rainfall of 4,000mm. Trees here, simply put, are huge thanks to the rain. It is a must-see for those wanting to experience a side of Japan
One year during Autumn,
i headed Yakushima an island,
video.
YAKUSHIMA
So this island is one of the UNESCO listed
So coming here you sure never missed this.
So here we come.
Video.
i planned to stayed there on this island for a night,
cause morning we headed from mainland Kagoshima,
and we do trekking up to the top,
we are worried there will not be enough time back to the mainland.
so we stayed at one of this island pension.
On Yakushima there is a great selection of places to stay. Choose from budget shared rooms to exclusive hotels. Whatever your choice of accommodation contact YES and we'll book your stay on Yakushima for FREE!
Click on the picture or title for more detailed information and pictures
The Young Inn is located on the outskirts of Onoaida. Driving south from Anbo, drive past the sign for the Onoaida Onsen. After 200 meters there'll be a large turn off up a hill for the Iwasaki Hotel. Drive past the Iwasaki Hotel for 50 meters and on the left you will see the sign for the Young Inn. If you take the bus then get off at the Iwasaki Hotel bus stop. The inn ...
The Yakushima Sanso sits on the hillside overlooking Anbo River with wonderful views of the river, mountains and sea. The Sanso has a large outside terrace where you can sit, relax and enjoy your evening drinks. The hotel is ideally located for guests wishing to trek to Jomon sugi and there is an equipment rental shop on the premises. One of the highlights of staying at the Yakushima Sanso is that you have the option to ...
Umi no Cottage Tida (æµ·ã�®èƒ¡æ±€è·¯ã�¦ã�ƒãƒ¼ã� ) is situated in the south of the island close to the Yudomari seaside onsen. The cottages have 2 floors and are very comfortable with great sea and mountian views. The cottages can accommodate from 1 to 5 people. One night for 2 people is 10,600 yen per person with 2 meals and for 5 people is 9,400 yen per person with 2 meals. Should you require accommodtion only then for ...
Torokko Inn (トãƒãƒƒã‚³å®¿) is a conveniently located modern hostel located in the centre of Anbo. Close by are shops, restaurants, banks, a coin laundry and early morning bento shops for your packed lunch in the mountains. Situated within a 10 minute walk from Anbo Port and with a bus stop only a minute away. The rooms are modern, clean and well-kept. Most of the rooms have bunk beds, but they also have two single bed rooms. ...
Shikinoyado is a minshuku in Onoaida. It's close to the Onoaida hot spring and hiking trails, and also has good views of the nearby picturesque Mocchomu mountain. Shikinoyado use locally caught fish for their sashimi and their vegetables are harvested from their organic garden. Prices for 2 people in one room start from 8,000 yen (inc 2 meals). Onoaida 641-15, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima if you'd like us to book a room. No booking fee required. [wpgmza id="32"] Contact YES Back to ...
Pension Skyview sits on a hill overlooking Miyanoura Town with views of the sea and the nearby mountains. The pension is convenient for both shopping & restaurants. Shiratani Unsuikyo is only a 30 minute drive away. Prices start from 5,500 yen per person a night and from 7,800 yen p.p. full board. Miyanoura 2485-15, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima if you'd like us to book a room. No booking fee required. [wpgmza id="7"] Contact YES Back to Yakushima Accommodation Back to Yakushima ...
Mori no Fairy Cottage (コテージ森�フェアリー) is in the south eastern area of Yakushima in between Anbo and Onoaida. Four newly built cottages on a large expanse of land sit facing the sea so early morning breakfast on the verandah is a real treat. Behind the cottages are the mountains and on a clear day there are great views of Mocchomu. Inside the cottages are large cedar beams and the rooms are filled with the fragrance of the timber. ...
The Yaohachi Minshuku is located above the Yaohachi Bento shop about 50 metres north of the Miyanoura River on the main street. It's very conveniently located with restaurants and shops close by. Prices start from 3,000 yen per person, but if 3 or more share a room then there are discounts. The rooms are tatami and futon style. Prices do not include meals. Yaohachi Minshuku can pick guests up from the Miyanoura Port. Miyanoura195-2, Yakushima Contact YES ...
Minshuku Inakahama (民 宿���浜) is set facing the beach & sea at Nagata. Sitting on the verandah you'll have wonderful views of the sunset. There are 4 tatami rooms with a toilet accommodating up to 4 people. The bathroom is communal. The Minshuku Inakahama menu is largely organic food. Accommodation is 8,400 yen per person inc 2 meals. Nagata 494-9, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima if you'd like us to book a room. No booking fee required. [wpgmza ...
La Isla Tasse sits overlooking the Anbo River with wonderful views of the surrounding mountains. In fine weather breakfast in the front garden by the riverside is a must. The dining room and lounge area is spacious and finely decorated with large comfortable sofa chairs. There is a free coffee service in the dining room and guests also have free computer access. All rooms have wireless connection. The staff can speak English and are very ...
Kuskus Camp Site is just south of Miyanoura in the village of Kusugawa (æ¥ å·�). When you see a large blue cat (Doraimon) by the side of the road then you're in the right place. The ground is set back from the main road and surrounded by trees. Should you not have camping equipment then you can rent items you need: Tent: 500 yen Sleeping Bag: 300 yen Mat: 100 yen Tarp: 100 yeen Extras include: shower & laundry (200 yen each) The camp ...
Kouma Business Hotel (仔馬) is ideally located in central Anbo if you need to be close by to shops, restaurants, public transport or the Toppy terminal at Anbo port. Kouma Business Hotel offers affordable rooms with air-conditioning, a flat-screen TV and free parking is available. There are 4 compact rooms furnished with a semi-double bed (120 cm wide), a small table and chairs. They come with an en suite bathroom and toilet, bathtub and shower. Free toiletries ...
Happouen Pension is situated in a stunning and peaceful location alongside the Miyanoura River on the road to Shiratani Unsuikyo. The beautifully kept hillside garden boasts wonderful mountain views and offers easy access to the river. Happouen Pension has both Japanese & Western style rooms starting from 5,000 yen per person a night. Meals are extra. Miyanoura 2560-8, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima if you'd like us to book a room. No booking fee required. [wpgmza id="6"] Contact YES Back to Yakushima ...
Manmaru is a small guesthouse with friendly staff and a homely atmosphere. It is located in a peaceful spot with lovely ocean views and is just 6 minutes walk from Anbo port. Manmaru has tatami and western-style rooms and a large bath overlooking the ocean. Prices start from 5,500 yen per person for room-only to 8,500 yen per person with 2 meals. Add 1,000 yen if you are a single guest. Anbo 540 - 19, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima ...
Staying here what to say?
Another eyes opener.
On and island,, and the surrounding all are nature.
http://www.h3.dion.ne.jp/~yasuakim/english.html
Southern part of Yakushima Island near Onoaida. 35 min from Air port
Key words

To get away from the city and experience the real Yakushima come stay with us at Shikinoyado minshuku.
Nestled underneath the great Mt. Mocchomu in the heart of Yakushima onsen country, you can enjoy excellent home-cooked meals and a hot spring baths after a day of hiking through cedar forests.
Shikinoyado minshuku is perfectly situated between the mountains and the ocean so we are blessed with warm sunny days and cool evenings for peaceful sleeping.
Wake up to gentle winds, mountain views, birds singing and 100% organic vegetables grown on our farm.
Our land is approximately 33,000 square feet(3000 square meter) providing Japanese, Western and Condo style accommodation options.
Japanese rooms and dinning room has wireless high speed internet access and easy parking.
We also have bicycles, umbrellas and beach chairs for you to borrow.
We are located just 15km west of Anbo port, only minutes from the great Onoaida Onsen and JR Hotel Onsen.
To find out more about our minshuku or to view the availability calendar, scroll down to the bottom of this page.
So this is in Japan.
for 8000 yen only.
This think..this is what we call affordable.
Shikinoyado is a minshuku in Onoaida. It's close to the Onoaida hot spring and hiking trails, and also has good views of the nearby picturesque Mocchomu mountain. Shikinoyado use locally caught fish for their sashimi and their vegetables are harvested from their organic garden. Prices for 2 people in one room start from 8,000 yen (inc 2 meals).
Over here in this island,
you must not forget to taste this,
if not you will regret after you left here.
source
Do you think the flying fish to fly in the sea several meters?
Surprisingly, 300m are blown off how, too.
In Yakushima, a flying fish is the best crop in Japan.
In "Anbou" of the eastern part of the island, I can catch in particular 1,000t a year.
It is said to be in the Yakushima sea near the shore about 30 kinds flying fish. The Yakushima offing is the passage that I cannot lack in for flying fish.
The flying fish inhabits in the flow of the Kuroshio Current. The flying fish is produced throughout the year. 
The flying fish flies from the surface of the sea over there of the place of about 300m about 3m by a fish with very high impressive ability.
I taste it by various how to eat.
Especially, popular is fresh slices of raw fish and a sushi. It is elastic, simple, and it is delicious. body puts away, and the texture made favors the taste.
The various articles which concluded with a flying fish are sold. The flying fish ramen, others made the grounds that fish meat was seen in.
The Flight fish(Tobiuo)
Tobiuo to live in a clement region flaps, dashes out from the surface of the water, expands chest Bire, and glides by tens of meters of the glider.
It is big and small in the seed Yaku neighboring waters through the expert year. About 20 percent of Tobiuo that is caught various kinds, and is landed in the whole country is Kagoshima Prefecture and about 70 percent is Yakushima production sooner or later.
Fat is a little, and excellent ingredient of a high protein low calorie. "Push up" that is eaten by slices of raw fish, the salt scorch, the fry without coating, the dried fish, and the ground fish meat, and made from the ground fish meat is a delicious dish.
on this island.
Yuko Rental have quality mountain bikes and 50cc scooters to rent. Bikes can be picked up as you arrive at the Miyanoura Port and handed back at the port as you depart. Scooters require an international license and the rental price is 3,000 yen for the first day with discounts for longer rentals. Hourly rentals are also available. Mountain bikes are 1,000 yen a day. Business Hours: 08:00 - 19:30 Miyanoura 2485-92, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima if you'd like ...
Yamashita Rental stock Colombia & Mont Bell trekking wear. Hiking boots, rain wear, rucsacs, sleeping bags, tents, sleeping mats... Travel light to Yakushima and get everything you need when you arrive. Pick up your goods the day before your trek. When booking items please tell us the relevant sizes. Yamashita Rental is close to the turn off for Yakusugi Land. Business Hours: 10:00 - 19:00 Anbo 2386-5, Yakushima Contact YES Yakushima if you'd like us to book your ...
Navi Rent-A-Car is located very close to Yakushima Airport (3min). They have a wide range of vehicles from 660cc vehicles to large people-carriers. They offer a free pick up service from Miyanoura port, Anbo port or Yakushima Airport and you can also leave your vehicle at the port of departure when you leave the island. 1 day prices begin from 4,515 yen for a 600cc and if you extend the rental then for a 660cc vehicle extra ...
Nakagawa Sports provides hiking rental goods for all kinds of hiking trips: from day trips to longer treks staying in the mountains for a few nights. They do not rent inner garments. For your comfort and safety the staff will help you choose the correct size and show you how to use the gear properly. Trekking boots are made from Gore Tex material and the rain wear is a choice of Gore Tex or Mizuno. Rental ...
Matsubanda Rent-A-Car is located very close to Yakushima Airport (a 1min walk). They have a wide range of vehicles from 660cc vehicles to large wagon-types. They offer a free pick up service from Miyanoura port, Anbo port or Yakushima Airport and you can also leave your vehicle at the port of departure when you leave the island. 6 hour rental rates start from 3150 yen. 1 day prices begin from 5,040 yen for a 600cc and ..
So, you may ask me why i know so much?
As i told you may regret for not eating this flying fish here.
on this Island Yakushima.
Flying Fish/Tobiuo sashimi from Yakushima Island
Saurel pike/Aji from Suruga Bay, Shizuoka Prefecture
Very few people will disagree with the notion that Japan is the ideal place to discover and savour sushi and sashimi in the whole world. Nevertheless, there are a few rules of the thumb to respect even in this gastronomic paradise.
The overriding rule is that you should try and eat only local fish or seafood.
Tsukiji might be considered a sushi paradise by Tokyoites, but the cheap prices enjoyed by tourists cannot conceal the reality: the fish and seafood are “imported” from all over Japan and beyond!
More than often, Edomae (Tokyo) sushi is nothing but a clever way to “dress up” ingredients to lure officionados (and customers) into believing they are eating top quality sushi (with the consequent prices).
Now, if you have the chance and time to explore Japan beyond Tokyo, you will discover an unfathomable treasure trove of gastronomic pleasure and knowledge!
After all, this country is a vast archipelago stretched across greatly different seas and climates, making for a diversity difficult to equal.
So, even if you cannot possibly explore all the shores of this nation, make a point to learn about the food available wherever you choose to stay.
The same goes for residents, not only for their own sake, but for that of their visitors and friends!
Sushi set with fish all caught in Suruga Bay, Shizuoka Prefecture
You also ought to do some homework. Sushi chefs worthy of their salt will be only too happy to answer questions to genuinely interested customers and come up with revelations of their own.
As an example to illustrate the need for some basic knowledge, in Hokkaido “oyakodon” is not cooked chicken and omelette on a bowl of rice, but raw salmon and its roe spread on top the same bowl of rice!
Likewise, the same fish will more than often be sold under a myriad of names.
Many morsels will not be found anywhere else as “sakura ebi/cherry shrimps” and fresh”shirasu/sardine whiting” in Shizuoka Prefecture.
Sashimi in most cases has to be perfectly fresh as typified by “kubiore saba” in Yakushima Island where fishermen break the neck (“kubiore”) of mackerels (“saba”) to preserve their quality upon catching. The same fish will be served within a few hours, or less, on the local tables.
On the other hand, tuna sashimi is best consumed after ripening for a few days in a refrigerator.
In Hokkaido, large shrimps, especially “botan ebi” will be served only raw, whereas “kuruma ebi” will be first boiled in other regions.
If you ask for “tataki”, make sure it means the whole fish, especially “aji/mackerel pike” that will be served finely cut as tartare atop the dressed fish.
Flying Fish/Tobiuo sashimi from Yakushima Island
On the other hand, sushi follows different rules.
Fish and seafood placed on “donburi” (bowl) are usually of the freshly brought variety but fish served as nigiri is prepared in a different way.
The greatest sushi (and this cannot be done in Tsukiji!) are made with fish which has been gutted and cleaned live within seconds, then dressed into strips/fillets left to mature in a refrigerator on clean cloth/kitchen paper. This can be done only with fish caught locally!
The same obviously goes with shellfish and other marine ceatures: One cannot sample better “uni/sea urchin” away from Hokkaido or sakura ebi from Shizuoka.
Vegan and vegetarians, upon finding a restaurant willing to satisfy their priorities should also ask for food grown locally, a search easier than one might think at first as there are many non-meat eaters in this mainly Budhist country.
The same vegetables will make for the perfect combination when associated with local fish!
Staying here what to say?
Another eyes opener.
On and island,, and the surrounding all are nature.
http://www.h3.dion.ne.jp/~yasuakim/english.html
Southern part of Yakushima Island near Onoaida. 35 min from Air port
See the cost and the rates, what we are paying over in Yakushima Island.
Pension over there.

Now everyone here see, what is Old Tree of 1000 years old,
or more than 7000 years old.
Not here in
KYUSHU.
Those are the really old trees.
This place Yakushima.
Seen it with my own eyes.
It is the oldest and largest of nearly 2000-year-old-growth cryptomeria trees on the ...include "at least 5000 years", "more than 6000 years", and "up to 7000 years old". ... a mysterious cedar tree growing in Yakushima Island for 7200 years".
This monster tree 3000 years old.
To see this star attraction in this island.
Take us 6 solid hours to the top just to see this.
that was my first trip there.
So what old tree are we talking here.
Please don't fool us...lah.(old tree)
One more time, i will be heading to this island,
this time with my other kakis.
They want to see, this UNESCO World Nature Heritage island.
and we will staying overnight.
Basically what we need, when you are there.
many uphill climbling.
First a pair of good shoe.
haha.
bento foods, water.
no vendor selling at the top.
remember all trash must bring down with you,
when you completed.
Please,
you may say what so good?
When completed at the top and seeing that 7000 years old tree.
than you know, what is the feeling.
All the uphill forestry tracks are done by this peoples.
thank to them, that make our climb more easy today.
and with marking you can never get loss here.
So from the mainland Kagoshima City,
we will be going to the jetty at 7 am, than we will be using this jet speed cruise.
to Yakushima.
Yakushima. here i come.
That year. Autumn.
Shiratani Unsuikyo
# 3 of 4 most visited
sights in Yakushima
The Shiratani Unsuikyo Ravine is a lush green nature park containing a number of the island's ancient cedars such as the Nidaiosugi, Kugurisugi and Yayoisugi, the park's most accessible yakusugi which can be reached in a 15 minute walk. Shiratani Unsuikyo is one of the most popular destinations of Yakushima as it is a great place to see the forests without requiring too strenuous hiking.
The park consists of a number of hiking circuits running along a ravine with English signs throughout. The recommended circuits vary in length from one to five hours long, but you are free to wander around and choose your own route among the paths. The trails vary in difficulty from a historic footpath built in the Edo Period to more developed ones paved in stone and wood.
The inspiration for Mononoke Hime.
One of the main attractions of Shiratani Unsuikyo is a part of the forest that served as the inspiration for the Stugio Ghibli animated film Mononoke Hime (Princess Mononoke). Oga Kazuo, the lead artist for the film, spent lots of time here working on sketches for the movie's forests. The mountains of the film were further inspired by Akita Prefecture'sShirakami Sanchi Mountains.
The small grove is at the far end of the park on the trail to Tsuji Toge Pass. If you continue on this trail it will lead you to the Jomonsugi by way of meeting up with the Anbo Trail about halfway to the entrance of the Okabu Trail. The round trip to the Jomonsugi takes approximately twelve hours and is more difficult than the Arakawa Dam Trailhead route.
Boardwalk trail through the forest
Kigurisugi
for us to get there... we took the cargo type (cheap slow no texpensive) but more than an hour to reach there. with extra bonus going by this. the picture. this pink colour ferry.
your night will be staying in this island so book your lodging on the island,
on the same day you can never go back to mainland if you want to see Yakushima the 7000 years old cedar tree and the island surrounding. You can also see banana trees plenty here. Japan banana and some tropical fruit trees. papaya, pineapple,dragon fruit, star fruit and etc.
Not very expensive, we must need a car to go round the island.
Matsubanda Rent-A-Car is located very close to Yakushima Airport (a 1min walk). They have a wide range of vehicles from 660cc vehicles to large wagon-types. They offer a free pick up service from Miyanoura port, Anbo port or Yakushima Airport and you can also leave your vehicle at the port of departure when you leave the island. 6 hour rental rates start from 3150 yen. 1 day prices begin from 5,040 yen for a 600cc and if you extend the rental then for a 660cc vehicle extra days are 4,200 yen per day.
Payment is by cash or credit card.
Business Hours: 08:00 – 18:00
Koseda 815-23, Yakushima
When you head Yakushima, first you must solve you foods issue.
Cause over the island,
restaurant and food are not so easy.
a little probelm, you need ti find and not so convenient as in the main tour Kagoshima ken..
Breakfast and Lunch you need to think how to solve.
Staying a night on the island,
Dinner is provide by the pension,
and next morning breakfast is also taken care of.
so how one solution.
source
The island of Yakushima lies off the southern coast of Japan and can be reached by air from several Japanese cities or by one of several ferries. The route I sailed traversed the 80 miles of sea between Kagoshima and the port of Miyanoura on Yakushima island. Along this route there is a choice of conventional ferry (ship) the 'Yakushima 2' or several fast 'jet' ferries (hydrofoils). I opted for the ship on the way out, as I had read it was more comfortable. I returned on one of the jetfoils on a day when the Yakushima 2 was not running because of rough seas.
Travelling on the jet-boat was more like a flight. Passengers stayed seated in a compartment reminiscent of a plane. There were stewardesses and seat belts. All the announcements were in Japanese.
Aboard the Yakushima 2 however; there were three decks to explore: several lounges, outside decks to walk, a small store and a tatami mat sleeping room for napping.
Many of the travel guides say that the 'jet' boats are cancelled in bad stormy weather. I found the opposite to be true, the big ship did not sail on a stormy day, while the jet boats continued to run back and forth on a special schedule.
The 'Yakushima 2' cruise took about 4 hours. We sailed at 8:30 in the morning and were tied up at Miyanoura Port on Yakushima a little after noon. The return trip is in the afternoon.
Once we got underway I found a spot in the upper non-smoking lounge to read with a view of the coast to the west. The ship first travels south down the long expanse of Kagoshima Bay. At the southern end of the bay you can spot the symmetrical cone of the Kaimondake volcano to the west and then rocky Cape Sata to the east, before emerging out into the open waters of the East China Sea.
Another solution to get there more relax and cheaper.
You can take slept throughout the journey,
your wish.... no one stop you,
free.
pillow and blanket provided.
see what he do.
http://avery.morrow.name/blog/2013/01/yakushima-world-heritage-on-the-cheap/
http://www.yakushimaferry.com/
we also did the same thing like him,
so as to enjoy more. and something not the same.
we took another one. also pink.
source
We decided to take the Hibiscus “ferry” which leaves Kagoshima at 6pm and arrives in Yakushima at 7am the next morning. That way, the boat trip and accomodations were together for cheap. Reservations were not accepted– they told us to just show up.
There were a few reasons this did not go as expected.
1. Hibiscus is not located in downtown Kagoshima. It’s about a 1 hour walk from the nearest train station and the route is not direct. Be prepared.
2. Hibiscus is not a “ferry”, it’s the Yakushima cargo boat, which has been repurposed with a civilian cabin which you cannot leave. Surprise!
3. I saw that Hibiscus had few accommodations so I asked B. to bring a sleeping bag. Actually, blankets were provided. See below.
4. What was not provided was food and showers. We were not allowed to disembark at Tanegashima. We arrived on Yakushima sweaty, smelly and hungry.
for us to get there... we took the cargo type (cheap slow no texpensive) but more than an hour to reach there. with extra bonus going by this. the picture. this pink colour ferry.
So now you know you seen Japan, everyone said they had seen Japan.
How come Kin seen Japan in many kind of ways.
All are not the same...that why?
over here those mega fair tour operators all their tours are airline packages
cannot be the same like us. our is all tailor order.
good cheap and something different.
Another way to get there from Kagoshima to Yakushima.
![]() |
| Yakushima 2 |

![]() |
| Ticket from JetBoat |
Other options how to get to Yakushima from Kagoshima.
Kin do on Cargo Ship now you know, cheap and can sleep at the upper deck.
Where to find?
Other ways to get there.

http://www.yakumonkey.com/2007/06/transport-to-and-from-yakushima.html
How to get there from Kagoshima Mainland.
Follow the instruction from here.
http://www.yesyakushima.com/kagoshima-ferry-port/

http://www.yesyakushima.com/facts-about-yakushima/getting-around-yakushima/
So confirm you need to stay a night over there, rushing back to mainland Kagoshima.
The time will not permit you. by the time you reach the ground from the top, it will be evening time.
So choose one from here, no other option.