Hi Fellow cabbys' brothers n sisters (if any)
Juz a brief intro about myself, albeit, for privacy reason, I do not wish to disclose too much about myself in a forum, except tat I m ... ahem...paiseh...paiseh...
uncle Tan (correct me if I m wrong, from wat I read, though not yet completed reading thru all postings, I think I might be the oldest or is there anyone older than me in the forum here), Chinese, 54, stay in CCK (bro poolman, btw, r u still staying in CCK, hope to hv many chances to meet up with u if u dun mind, at your convenience, can I hv ur kind permission to pm me ur mobile so I can call u if u dun mind).
I m new to taxi driving, will be attending the express 3 wks course conducted by STA on 19/9/11, afterwhich I intend to be a Comfort Sonata relief while at the same time apply to be a Sonata OMO hirer (hahaha... thus my nick "Sonatan").
The reason where I choose Sonata is bcos, basically I m a lazy bum, juz wan to top up at the nearest diesel kiosk, if I m not wrong at Sungei Kadut, which is very near to my place and also easier to get a relief taxi as near to my home as possible, should I get a relief listing from Comfort Sin Ming and/or Jurong comfort kiosk?.
After reading thru all the past postings, I m extremely impressed with the camarederie and brotherhood, particularly all the un-selfish sharings of all bros, the happy gatherings and the BBQs and wish to be a part of the brotherhood, I hope I m welcomed here and have an enjoyable stay and make my living together thick and thin with all of u bros n sis.
I m particularly extremely impressed with poolmen
for his outstanding sharing (and
also pandanchen), particularly wat bro pool mentioned in http://sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/390680, pg 3: "Welcome Kingkong Buddy .... Yeah , my style , got money let's make together. It's up to you. I am pretty sure ...... those money i cannot make alone. If i want to sub all , some will drain away to someone else. i can only hold that much ..... cos my hand is just that big! Any access will drip onto the floor, wasted. As what chinese said : 好水��外人田"
Bro pool, I would also like to join fellow bros in Lake View service, juz wondering is application still open, if still available, plse guide me along once I get my TDVL.
Many thanks and will keep in touch as and when I m available
Uncle Tan, welcome to the forum. ![]()
dun talk so much to pool wait u PHUI!!! like him also....... :P
Originally posted by hammerhammer8888:Uncle Tan, welcome to the forum.
Bro,
Many thanks for welcoming me here, it gives me a sense of warmth n feeling of belonging here... kumsia...kumsia...

welcome to the war ship .
we need warriors on board .
Lake View , just give yourself sometime to run in your rhythm .
Lake View calls can be quite heart attack one .
Sometimes quiet , sometimes drive like mad .
To Sonatan .....
Now remain focus on your course . Other options we discuss later .
Pass liao see how .
U cannot afford to be distracted at the meantime .
Beware if you join SMRT training course , be prepare for the hard selling tactic in persuading you to sign up for their old taxis lying behind their back yard .
Originally posted by Poolman:To Sonatan .....
Pass liao see how .
Beware if you join SMRT training course , be prepare for the hard selling tactic in persuading you to sign up for their old taxis lying behind their back yard .
ya (pool) man... ha ha...
pass the course first... can consider different options after the course...
smrt will go all out to ask u take their taxis... muz consider cost plus feasiblity in operations...
Pass liao see how .
Bro poolman,
I m attending the express course conducted by STA at redhill on 19/9/11, hope to quickly pass n go CDG Sin MIng to register for Comfort relief n at the same time apply tobe Comfort hirer after which I look forward to joining u all in Lake View..
Pass liao see how .
Please lah!
Fyi, there's no hard sell tactics and please do not give wrong info.
You are the moderator here so please help to give only the facts.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:
ya (pool) man... ha ha...pass the course first... can consider different options after the course...
smrt will go all out to ask u take their taxis... muz consider cost plus feasiblity in operations...
It is only natural to encourage you to do that so that you will benefits from getting the course fee refunded.
I am not saying all these just because I started from SMRT.
In fact I heard so many scary tales from ex-SMRT hirer about how SMRT going to humtam you when you return the taxi.
I've return my merc and I can only say it was a quick and simple inspection.
No whatever tactics from SMRT to humtam me.
But then all taxi companies are the same.
All will only protect their self interest. So whichever coy you chose, just drive safe.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:
ya (pool) man... ha ha...pass the course first... can consider different options after the course...
If talking about cost plus feasibilty in operations, I would like to hear about your CNG against diesel.
Originally posted by Sonatan:Bro,
Many thanks for welcoming me here, it gives me a sense of warmth n feeling of belonging here... kumsia...kumsia...
You keep chasing us how not to welcome you ![]()
paiseh...paisei... lah... twee pui chee lah... bro.
Originally posted by Sonatan:paiseh...paisei... lah... twee pui chee lah... bro.
dun kan cheong bro all of us here relax drivers 1~~~~~
Originally posted by komade:dun kan cheong bro all of us here relax drivers 1~~~~~
idle or relax drivers?
Hi, welcome,
Basically, you need to learn to walk before you run, take a step at a time, no hurry, stay calm and remain cool. And at yr age, you should be cool and calm. Taxi driving is nothing to be excite about, it is a honest work wheretime, energy, skill and mind are put in into use in exchanges for $$ to buy goods. And also, age is not a barrier here, you need to have confident in yourself and it is good that you take another skill to learn and open more opportunities for yourself.
People here can only give you sound advices. Once you OTR, you are on your own and slowly, you will create your own pattern of driving which ultimately suit only you. And during this period, you can then recount these advices and set priorty for yourself on how to drive on.
Thanks bro bowah n Komade for ur advice.
Hey Mercabs, u returned ur merc???
So black car for u now?
Originally posted by kingzkong:Hey Mercabs, u returned ur merc???
So black car for u now?
You have been stalking me??
Originally posted by Mercabs:Please lah!
Fyi, there's no hard sell tactics and please do not give wrong info.
You are the moderator here so please help to give only the facts.
Yes it's a fact they used hard tactic to get new hirers . Cos no one interested to sign up for them .
U dun need such tactic in Comfort , all walk in .
I've heard so many of them . . . and quit .
Originally posted by Sonatan:
Bro poolman,
I m attending the express course conducted by STA at redhill on 19/9/11, hope to quickly pass n go CDG Sin MIng to register for Comfort relief n at the same time apply tobe Comfort hirer after which I look forward to joining u all in Lake View..
Lake View should be considered only once u adept to the life of a cabby .
Once u join Comfort , u new bird , can anyhow charge , got call u will just take , no need walkie's job .
Unless u want to get a walkie listen to where got lobang , where jam .....
step by step . . .
Lake View also scared new members dun know route , roads , can be one problem also .
Originally posted by bowah:Hi, welcome,
Basically, you need to learn to walk before you run, take a step at a time, no hurry, stay calm and remain cool. And at yr age, you should be cool and calm. Taxi driving is nothing to be excite about, it is a honest work wheretime, energy, skill and mind are put in into use in exchanges for $$ to buy goods. And also, age is not a barrier here, you need to have confident in yourself and it is good that you take another skill to learn and open more opportunities for yourself.
People here can only give you sound advices. Once you OTR, you are on your own and slowly, you will create your own pattern of driving which ultimately suit only you. And during this period, you can then recount these advices and set priorty for yourself on how to drive on.
yah my style may not suit ur style like my midnite style quite
diff frm other ppl