And i also think .....
Evening peak hour , ERP gantries will be extended on until 10pm .
I really hope not .
If LTA had plans for that ....
Without CBD surcharge , they are looking for trouble .
This change of pricing ..... CBD surcharge is the key .
Originally posted by komade:yah we can improve the standards but can the standards of
local pax be raised??
Yes, I believe we can get good pax if service is good, there are of course fullerton class and hotel 81 class, so to speak, but in a first country and going forward, people also expect good service taxis, our taxi fares are cheapo in comparing to most first world countries, we are taken for a ride, the car can improve and change for the better, but the driver also need to upgrade his skills and knowledge to adapt, once you are skilful, pax better pay some respect. Because we will be able to handle awkward situation and know the laws of our trade, which will be helpful for us to go thru with a course on Singapore public laws instead of agar agar you tell me, i tell you, he not sure, all these can help a driver better.
By right NTA, the national taxi association should be the one talking about all these for TD, not me, knn, all sleeping and take union fees, only work during election period. CCB, upgrade the TD, there is nothing to loose but more to gain, more productive, better services and image for companies and our country as a whole. And even if TD end up throw key, he still got some relevant certificate to work on other trades, especially on service sector, which he can be chauffeur or velvet or company VIP or any related trade such as tourist guide cum driver.
Psychologically speaking, once you are trained both in soft and academy skills, you feel more confident and take pride in your work, and you may end up taking a lifelong learning journey which benefit both you and the society as a whole. It will definitely makes you more vibrant in going back to class with buddies, otherwise, it will be the same old start engine, move on, pump, take pax, take call and go home count money, sleep and eat. Which after 10 years, unless you are have the mentality like Bro Pool, who is a good activist, you may get a natural die out on this trade.
The govt had alway said they pump funds in millions to upgrade singaporeans, they pumps into Unions, WDA and many other related insitutions, but taxi drivers never really get the taste of it. What a waste..NTA, cheat old uncle only.
And also, no offence, bro pool may get into hallucination at times, you guys better have more buffet gathering to build a good relation, it will be more healthier than alway be alone.
Originally posted by Poolman:This change of pricing ..... CBD surcharge is the key .
Yeah... heard from kakis that CBD $3 could be removed.....
You may get lots of Calls..... but TDs are not "motivated" to turbo back to town anymore (from Tampines, Pasir Ris)...
It supposed to be a fare increase.... but ends up ? going down ? ![]()
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Yeah... heard from kakis that CBD $3 could be removed.....
You may get lots of Calls..... but TDs are not "motivated" to turbo back to town anymore (from Tampines, Pasir Ris)...
It supposed to be a fare increase.... but ends up ? going down ?
17 Dec 2007 ..... that CBD surcharge was implemented , to solve the waiting time inside CBD .
Remember they did survery , Takashimaya need 25mins wait for a cab ?
Yeah , survery was done .
Neglecting what will happened outside CBD once implemented .
Now outside CBD problem arise , withdraw it .
Back to 2007 ....
2007 everyday war zone around Shenton side ....
Die la ORQ and MBFC this time .
Huat lar LV .
LTA are gambling Circle Line with taxis ......
They are going to lose .... lose big time .
Good for me , definitely .
Cos i never will leave my CocoNut Tree .....
Originally posted by bowah:
Yes, I believe we can get good pax if service is good, there are of course fullerton class and hotel 81 class, so to speak, but in a first country and going forward, people also expect good service taxis, our taxi fares are cheapo in comparing to most first world countries, we are taken for a ride, the car can improve and change for the better, but the driver also need to upgrade his skills and knowledge to adapt, once you are skilful, pax better pay some respect. Because we will be able to handle awkward situation and know the laws of our trade, which will be helpful for us to go thru with a course on Singapore public laws instead of agar agar you tell me, i tell you, he not sure, all these can help a driver better.By right NTA, the national taxi association should be the one talking about all these for TD, not me, knn, all sleeping and take union fees, only work during election period. CCB, upgrade the TD, there is nothing to loose but more to gain, more productive, better services and image for companies and our country as a whole. And even if TD end up throw key, he still got some relevant certificate to work on other trades, especially on service sector, which he can be chauffeur or velvet or company VIP or any related trade such as tourist guide cum driver.
Psychologically speaking, once you are trained both in soft and academy skills, you feel more confident and take pride in your work, and you may end up taking a lifelong learning journey which benefit both you and the society as a whole. It will definitely makes you more vibrant in going back to class with buddies, otherwise, it will be the same old start engine, move on, pump, take pax, take call and go home count money, sleep and eat. Which after 10 years, unless you are have the mentality like Bro Pool, who is a good activist, you may get a natural die out on this trade.
The govt had alway said they pump funds in millions to upgrade singaporeans, they pumps into Unions, WDA and many other related insitutions, but taxi drivers never really get the taste of it. What a waste..NTA, cheat old uncle only.
Well said bro bowah ![]()
wah... if morning peak down to 20% den day drivers eat grass liao...
day drivers - those half shift like khoon - make or break for the day depends a lot on peak hour collection...
Originally posted by Poolman:FT's dad complaint to FT : " Singapore taxis very expensive ."
It's my simple philosophy .
When there demands , u'll think taxi is cheap .
When there's no demands , u hope taxi can be cheaper .
Singapore taxis is not expensive. The reason why FT's dad said is expensive is becos his dad also a TD, earn peanuts. Cannot afford to take Taxi.
Originally posted by Khoon2580:wah... if morning peak down to 20% den day drivers eat grass liao...
won't eat grass lah... where got so cham?? still can afford peanuts...
i dun think cbd surcharge will be remove lah.. cannot see any logic in removing this surcharge.. unless empty taxis go in dun need pay erp...

Originally posted by Khoon2580:wah... if morning peak down to 20% den day drivers eat grass liao...
U will be surprise ... if base on my experiences .
Originally posted by Khoon2580:day drivers - those half shift like khoon - make or break for the day depends a lot on peak hour collection...
Ok boyz , simple question ....
as a commuter .....
Given a choice .... to take a cab .
Which makes u easier to decide to take a cab ?
20% peak hour , or 35% peak hour ?
Simple logic ....
Yes , 20% will pull in those crowds back we lost during 2007 .
We lost alot from 2007 to 2010 .
U all haven't drive taxi lar ....
Remember one TransCab do own advertising on his taxi windscreen : 0% peak hour .
Why is he doing that ?
Originally posted by bowah:bro pool may get into hallucination at times
Not hallucinations lar ..... it's day dreaming .
I suddenly remember i did make a similar post on evening extended peak hour on October 2011
http://sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/440045
Anyway , just a coincidence i guessed .
Originally posted by bowah:
Yes, I believe we can get good pax if service is good, there are of course fullerton class and hotel 81 class, so to speak, but in a first country and going forward, people also expect good service taxis, our taxi fares are cheapo in comparing to most first world countries, we are taken for a ride, the car can improve and change for the better, but the driver also need to upgrade his skills and knowledge to adapt, once you are skilful, pax better pay some respect. Because we will be able to handle awkward situation and know the laws of our trade, which will be helpful for us to go thru with a course on Singapore public laws instead of agar agar you tell me, i tell you, he not sure, all these can help a driver better.By right NTA, the national taxi association should be the one talking about all these for TD, not me, knn, all sleeping and take union fees, only work during election period. CCB, upgrade the TD, there is nothing to loose but more to gain, more productive, better services and image for companies and our country as a whole. And even if TD end up throw key, he still got some relevant certificate to work on other trades, especially on service sector, which he can be chauffeur or velvet or company VIP or any related trade such as tourist guide cum driver.
not with current fare system , alot of drivers juz F care service n put more
effort into making more $$......... but limo class pax diff liao......... ;)
Originally posted by Just_do_it_lah:Yeah... heard from kakis that CBD $3 could be removed.....
It supposed to be a fare increase.... but ends up ? going down ?
THROW!!! THROW!! THROW!!! :P
Originally posted by komade:... . If no CBD surcharge , no peak hour , inside CBD , the situation will be like on Sunday . Long human Q everywhere , except MBS long Q of taxis & AP . Who suffered the most ? Those hotel guest . Then Hurray , trust me , LV huat ...
definitely not us lah. we will play by the rules to maximise profit.
Originally posted by bowah:Singapore govt are good in one thing, that is pre emptiveness, they alway plan ahead before anything happen,
are you serious, bro?
they planned until we dun have enough people to replace ourselves & have to import aliens.
they planned until we dun have enough lawyers & have to allow foreign lawyers to practise here.
they planned until we dun have enough engineering graduates from U & poly & have to open the floodgate for alien to do the job.
they planned until we dun have enough nurses & doctors & have to allow indian, myanmar, prc etc doctors/nurses to run the hospital.
they planned until we dun have enough affordable housing for our own citizens & help prices of hdb flats sky-rocketed.
& many more...
Originally posted by bowah:I strongly urge govt insitution like e2i, learning hub or any other related insitution to upgrade the skills of Taxi drivers, make Taxi driving a profession like Japan and Britain, they are well respected. Having a taxi licence is, as you all will agree, as easy as ABC, on practical side, you can achieve it within 2 to 3 months, just like our Khoon did. However my suggestion is that taxi driver should be given a chance to upgrade to serve the public better, course like communication skills, public relationship and handling skill, basic human pyshology and tourism that include one more languages, or any other servicing course related should be TD should help taxi driver to move up the ladder of this profession, give those who manage to achieve it, be given certification and higher grade in TD, meaning he will be pay more in rebate for top class serving that help the relevant Taxi company he work in to gain more respect and good reputation. Example, if e2i can come out with a japanese course, module can include basic japanese ethic, languages, manner, culture, way of their taxi system, their likes and dislike etc etc or even a trip of co payment to japan for study tour will in return help cabbies taking the course able to understand what is the need and requirement, and once they get jap customer, they can dispatch all these trained cabbies at a higher rates, in return, the Japs are happy to get a basic jap speaker who understand them, a higher rates for company and a higher income for the driver.
This are just food for thought, many trades hv upgrading and skill developement sponsored by govt, especially those in their 40s are given free, but not taxi driver, die die also just a taxi driver with no grades
upgrade = $ from td's pocket. in the end, meter still starts at $3.00 & jumps $0.20, worth the effort, time??
worst if they put more taxi on the road cos more people retrenched meaning more cabbies sharing the same pool of pax as now.