Originally posted by StriveOn:
Bro bowah, very encouraging. Thanks.I hope I can overcome the hazards of OMO and be successful in it.
There are benefits in OMO that draws me to this dangerous option.
1. Complete flexibity in driving schedule.
2. No need to fill up at end of shift. Fill up whenever (tank less than quarter) near a cheapo Fuel Depot.
3. No Argument about who cause the dent on the Taxi.
4. No Argument about cleaniless of inside and outside.
5. No unhappiness about Driving skill or method that causes engine performance to drop.
6. No Argument on late hand-over
7. Tired? No need to return Taxi. Go home and sleep.
Like I say, dangerous option. But if no try, no know.
You just sold yr soul to the devil. Aiieee savvy.
Originally posted by bowah:To be practical, since you are so wannabe and anxious to drive OMO, it is ok to drive first, talk later. Then perhap after a few weeks or months, you can then come back here and tell us how is it, by that time, we hope you are still driving a OMO crown.
most OMO disappear n nber post again......... ![]()
Originally posted by JLKL:
the only thing you need to have in omo is DISCIPLINE!!
U r the best bro~~~~ idle king NO> 1.......... ![]()
Originally posted by ALws Tired:
Bro, did ur hirer subsidize 1/2 of his shift rental to U when he is unable to drive for that day?
nope me n my hirer buddies 1, i help him cover full when hes busy n sometimes
on weekends when the other relief cant drive n when i go on holiday he juz tell
me to go let him knoe when im back can liao..........
The only sustainable way to OMO is by doing only limo jobs.
The taxi meter was calibrated for road sweepers with a relief sweeper.
If you go by meter and follow all LTA regulations, then OMO will wear you out very quickly.
Originally posted by f1taxidriver:The only sustainable way to OMO is by doing only limo jobs.
The taxi meter was calibrated for road sweepers with a relief sweeper.
If you go by meter and follow all LTA regulations, then OMO will wear you out very quickly.
Just to re-add what I posted since you wanna try OMO, which as you say is no harm, no try don't know.
But shop around about the benefits which companies offer for new drivers cum hirer. See how long the offer is available, I forget is it 6 months?
So you don't have to commit to 1 company straightaway by taking up their offer. You can always take the normal plan for hirers and drive a bit and see how you cope. If you think you can manage then, take up the offers available which I think you must drive for a year at least.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Just to re-add what I posted since you wanna try OMO, which as you say is no harm, no try don't know.
But shop around about the benefits which companies offer for new drivers cum hirer. See how long the offer is available, I forget is it 6 months?
So you don't have to commit to 1 company straightaway by taking up their offer. You can always take the normal plan for hirers and drive a bit and see how you cope. If you think you can manage then, take up the offers available which I think you must drive for a year at least.
yah like bro JoeRaj says ........ slow n steady........ dun rush into tins........
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Just to re-add what I posted since you wanna try OMO, which as you say is no harm, no try don't know.
Must sign up (SMRT) within 2 months from Course End Date. No minimum contract period. If resign withing 6 months, need to pay back some of the incentives they gave me. More than 6 months, just beat back side and go because the last 2 incentives I will not be able to get. But then there is the problem of the $1000 deposit.
My calculations shows that Transcab can offer a good rental, even without the "Train and Place" Incentives, the daily rental (net) is only $1.54 more than SMRT.
Maybe I should do some super relief or relief before I dive in. I really dunno. Day by day, I fine tune my decision until I get my TD Licence.
Originally posted by komade:yah like bro JoeRaj says ........ slow n steady........ dun rush into tins........
yeah, do not drive into tin, stainless steel is ok, tin use cut tire more than a stainless steel because of it filiming nature.
Originally posted by bowah:
yeah, do not drive into tin, stainless steel is ok, tin use cut tire more than a stainless steel because of it filiming nature.
Hahahahaha.
Originally posted by StriveOn:Must sign up (SMRT) within 2 months from Course End Date. No minimum contract period. If resign withing 6 months, need to pay back some of the incentives they gave me. More than 6 months, just beat back side and go because the last 2 incentives I will not be able to get. But then there is the problem of the $1000 deposit.
My calculations shows that Transcab can offer a good rental, even without the "Train and Place" Incentives, the daily rental (net) is only $1.54 more than SMRT.
Maybe I should do some super relief or relief before I dive in. I really dunno. Day by day, I fine tune my decision until I get my TD Licence.
Check whether they let you pay in instalments. I know relief sure can but for hirer I dunno, I never once became hirer in TD career.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Check whether they let you pay in instalments. I know relief sure can but for hirer I dunno, I never once became hirer in TD career.
same like me, never a hirer.
Old bird become relief, new bird become hirer.
Perhap he took the words of opposition MP strongly
"You know that there's a tiger in the mountain, and yet you still move there. So now we are taking this challenge and believe that will make the right choice."
I really admire you people. Never a Hirer, but seasoned and experienced TD.
If I become OMO, no big deal compared to your feat. I only have to 'ngae ngae tong'. After one month, continue to 'tong', then 2, then 3 months. After that if I still remember my name, that means I Okay.
Originally posted by JoeRaj:Check whether they let you pay in instalments. I know relief sure can but for hirer I dunno, I never once became hirer in TD career.
Ya, can pay instalments. 2 Instalments. By the begining of the 3rd month (meaning already driving for 2 months), got to pay in full.
Originally posted by StriveOn:I really admire you people. Never a Hirer, but seasoned and experienced TD.
If I become OMO, no big deal compared to your feat. I only have to 'ngae ngae tong'. After one month, continue to 'tong', then 2, then 3 months. After that if I still remember my name, that means I Okay.
Nothing to it lah. Everyone starts from zero and after some time, almost everyone knows how to operate. The same in any job.
Nothing wrong either way being a hirer or relief. If everybody relief, then where to find hirer to let out the cab for 1/2 rent?
My only concern is that newbies should be a bit more careful and thorough when becoming a hirer and not be swayed by the 'carrots' offered, only to regret it later.
My friend also before drove cab. Then he quit, go into pte limo line like me. License expire, he retake but then made the mistake of taking a Merc and regretted it. Drove for 3 weeks, didn't pay rent (the last few days) and let the taxi kena tarik.
So even seasoned drivers can make a mistake. My mistake is thinking Comfort in 2009 is the same as Comfort in 1995-7. Then I got a shock. Not that CDG is the worst company to drive for, but their management sucks and they don't really care for drivers who kena complain or what have you.
I'm sure other companies also got some drawbacks, but at least Transcab or Silver, I gather they don't even entertain stupid stupid complain, but not Comfort, who takes the pax side in almost every case, except naturally for assault, fare cheats and the other obvious ones.
Originally posted by komade:U r the best bro~~~~ idle king NO> 1..........
1 Feb 2012 until today.
Continue to look at Digital Maps, Paper Maps. This Topic "[Enquiry] Shortest Route", quite useful for learning Routes. http://sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/391576
Also the Topic for Newbies "[For Newbies] I am new thread .... " good for General reading. http://sgforums.com/forums/3426/topics/397946
My eating habits is eat little bit, all day long. Now trying to adjust to a few proper meals a day. How to eat all the time when driving a cab??!!? I think my body is happier with the new configuration. The old configuration, the stomach got to work all day.
Why 9 Feb still so far away.... (My TD Course start date)
yes, silver does listen to driver explaination when there is complain comes in.
some time even the higher management call to ask driver down to get better picture.
this is what happen at silver (premium) . they do care for our driver compare to comfark
There are 2 types of learning,
One is step by step, slow and steady
The other one is to throw himself into the hardest and biggest test right from the start, dead or alive, at least know what the end lies, if dead, at least still got time to pull out, if alive, good, he can slowly track back and find the rest as easy as ABC.
I guess most TDs had choosed the step by step method, that is why, most spent so much part of his life in it, if one is to first step into the fire, he may not be a TD now.
So, i would say, what bro striveon is doing can both be good and bad, depend on how he go about it.
I was suppose to start the course on the 12th march same as you.
But I called STA last thursday and checked whether is there any vacancy on February as I just tendered my resignation.
That's a positive and I wil be attending the express course starting on the 9th February.
Can't afford to attend in march as I just resigned from my job and currently clearing my leave and will be starting my new job on the 1st of march.
This give me the opportunity to attend the express course.
Try calling up STA and check for any vancancies as there are students who pulled out last minute even on the starting day.
Regards,
Originally posted by Ohyaitsme:I was suppose to start the course on the 12th march same as you.
But I called STA last thursday and checked whether is there any vacancy on February as I just tendered my resignation.
That's a positive and I wil be attending the express course starting on the 9th February.
Can't afford to attend in march as I just resigned from my job and currently clearing my leave and will be starting my new job on the 1st of march.
This give me the opportunity to attend the express course.
Try calling up STA and check for any vancancies as there are students who pulled out last minute even on the starting day.
Regards,
You very lucky, got response from STA. When I went down to enquire about dates, the counter guy, I think he is foreigner, neber answer me, just asking "you got letter? got medical?" and then he take and photocopy. When I insist on knowing what is the dates, then he showed me. Then I told him,"cannot la, I need to check first".
Maybe got many blur people ask him, thats why he become so one kind.
Bro OYIM, you starting on 9th too. See you there!
Originally posted by bowah:
ai n kuan suan siao meh member?? ![]()