Singapore Taxi Fare Fxxking Expensive !
Used to pick up some Cheapo (Can be AMK, Ah Tion, Pinoy, An Nia etc)
and they also Bull Shit that Singapore Taxi Fare is Si Bei Gui。
I always smile and answer: Sir, Maybe is your 1st oversea trip in life.
Let me shared with you some information.
And You can use your cell phone to verify my data.
Then I show them a printed Worldwide Taxi Fare comparison table that information
I gather from a famous traveling Taxi Fare website: Taxi Auto Fare
http://www.taxiautofare.com/sg/Default.aspx
The Fare stated below is indicated as Standard Rate for a 10 Km trip w/o other subcharge.
Singapore
10 Km - SGD 7.48
Malaysia - Kuala Lumpur
10 km - RM 11.70 (SGD 4.70)
Thailand - Bangkok
10 Km - THB 75.00 (SGD 3.00)
Hong Kong
10 Km - HKD 77.50 (SGD 12.15)
Indian - New Delhi
10km - INR 71.00 (SGD 1.60)
Australia - Sudney
10 Km- AUD 25.00 (SGD 31.80)
New Zealand - Auckland
10 Km - NZD 29.50 (SGD 30.00)
USA - New York
10 Km - USD 27.00 (SGD 32.80)
Canada - Vancouver
10 Km - CAD 19.85 (SGD 24.40)
UK - London
10 kM - GBP 30.80 (SGD47.20)
German - Berlin
10 Km - EUR 18.60 (SGD 29.40)
Switzerland - Zurich
10 Km - CHF 44.00 (SGD 52.30)
My first post on this forum same thing.. Hahaha, Dec last year.. Almost exactly 1 yr ago..
Hoi, you must show the japan rate, then they can faint.
Its quite useless to compare us with our neighbours, we 1st world, they 3rd world. Quality of life too different to compare.
Its when compare 1st world to 1st world then realise our fare is not expensive.
When you have conversations with biz travellers then realise our fare is ridiculously low for a 1st world country with THE MOST EXPENSIVE vehicles in the whole world.
In May this year, the price of a chery qq in sin can buy you a limited edition black colour porsche in the states. Now think can buy 2 already.
Ask them walk to work.
Ya loh....those well travelled will give tips somemore.....
Not those ikan billis few cents tips. It's those <$2 type sometimes heng heng got $10++
the taxi fare they pay show what kind of ppl they are.. for locals, i will just say.. tks to pap..all keep quiet.. every paxs..
I think the Singapore rates not accurate, was it based on 1-2 years ago rates?
Secondly, I think the rates if they are showing just 1 number, then it's definitely off... simply because they never specify things like traffic jam? ERP? Peak Hour? Special Locations Surcharges? CBD area? Midnight charge? Special vehicles booking charges? So many factors, they put 1 number, definitely not right unless they indicate certain assumptions?
I mean a 10KM trip can be from SG$10 to SG$60 depending on how I want to tabulate. For example, book maxi cab + airport charge + midnight, I think easily exceed $50.
Originally posted by Terry Young:
Its when compare 1st world to 1st world then realise our fare is not expensive.
But 1st world to 1st world comparison, dun just compare the taxi fare, you know Singaporean salary is about 50% compared to other 1st world countries for the same job? You know cleaner there earns $3k, singaporean cleaner here earn $800+. That's about 30%... so how to compare sia?
Originally posted by DailyFreeGames.com:I think the Singapore rates not accurate, was it based on 1-2 years ago rates?
Secondly, I think the rates if they are showing just 1 number, then it's definitely off... simply because they never specify things like traffic jam? ERP? Peak Hour? Special Locations Surcharges? CBD area? Midnight charge? Special vehicles booking charges? So many factors, they put 1 number, definitely not right unless they indicate certain assumptions?
I mean a 10KM trip can be from SG$10 to SG$60 depending on how I want to tabulate. For example, book maxi cab + airport charge + midnight, I think easily exceed $50.
Statistic and personal experience definitely won't be accurate...........
Once a while, taking taxi in Sg can be a pocket burner, and it does happen in other countries also............
Don't get so serious on statistic...........
I think to be fair, we also have to look at the taxation of each countries, the cost of living and of course, the cost of goods.
Most of us know that in the west, taxation is nearly 50% of their earning, from personal to property to goods taxes is tremendously higher than Singapore.
So now, you know why foreign millionaires and expartriates voted singapore as one of the best place to live and do business...all because of our low tax attracting them, and for those looking to evade their home tax, Singapore is a haven to them.
Originally posted by bowah:I think to be fair, we also have to look at the taxation of each countries, the cost of living and of course, the cost of goods.
Most of us know that in the west, taxation is nearly 50% of their earning, from personal to property to goods taxes is tremendously higher than Singapore.
So now, you know why foreign millionaires and expartriates voted singapore as one of the best place to live and do business...all because of our low tax attracting them, and for those looking to evade their home tax, Singapore is a haven to them.
haha... hard to compare like this because although their tax say 50%, but do you know their countries education is totally free? Yes, you can study all you want, it's free. This saves you about $200k study from early until Masters Degree. So like that compare, not fair... which is my post's main objective, which is to say, it's not easy to compare like that, because too many factors involved.
hahaha...more over, most of them earning less than US $2k before taxation will prefer not to work, because their welfare will be more than that, and in long run, created a lazy bum base..have to agree that due to differences in social aspects and culture, we cannot compare it like apple to apple.
lan sai , want take taxi , just pay !!!
expensive ? Pay first , i give them receipt , buay song complaint taxi companies .
Bros Life is short, why so picky.
All figure is up to �专家Specialist】to Speculate, We are just TD, Let's do TD Job.
never passengers say dun want to pay me taxi fare due to bla bla reasons like ERP .
" U pay me all , i give u receipt .... my taxi number all here , time , price , erp , distance all here . If u think i cheated on you , pls bring this receipt and report report . Police will trace me easily , cos i Singaporean , i got house to stay one ."
"if u want , i can write u my contact number and show u my ID ."
"I wouldnt run for that fare ."
" Singapore is a lawful society , anything we shall let the Police handle , u dun pay , i shall call 999 and seek assistance ."
Challenge them if u not in the wrong , just whack !!!!
Expensive ki lan , pay and do all u want , i wait here hard hard for you .
Originally posted by Poolman:never passengers say dun want to pay me taxi fare due to bla bla reasons like ERP .
" U pay me all , i give u receipt .... my taxi number all here , time , price , erp , distance all here . If u think i cheated on you , pls bring this receipt and report report . Police will trace me easily , cos i Singaporean , i got house to stay one ."
"if u want , i can write u my contact number and show u my ID ."
"I wouldnt run for that fare ."
" Singapore is a lawful society , anything we shall let the Police handle , u dun pay , i shall call 999 and seek assistance ."
Challenge them if u not in the wrong , just whack !!!!
Expensive ki lan , pay and do all u want , i wait here hard hard for you .
So far beside some Lao Lan AMK, Most of the AMK, Ah Tiong, Ah Nia 。。。。。etc
When I said I am going to call MATA for Assistance, He will Lan Lan Paid and F.O.
ya lor, no money say no money la.. no money still want to take taxi? worse than handicap ppl..