Its potato starch they put in the gravy to make it sweet and tasty.Originally posted by Wanda:I like cold chicken, coz then the layer of transparent jelly from the chicken will form....(actually, dunno what it is?)...nice to eat.
I like Kampong Chicken from Upper Thomson (just b4 Thomson Plaza) - skinny chicken with cold jelly.![]()
I thot starch solidifies when heated, not when cold?Originally posted by ditzy:Its potato starch they put in the gravy to make it sweet and tasty.
Wanda that is my fav chicken rice place too!!!!Originally posted by Wanda:I like cold chicken, coz then the layer of transparent jelly from the chicken will form....(actually, dunno what it is?)...nice to eat.
I like Kampong Chicken from Upper Thomson (just b4 Thomson Plaza) - skinny chicken with cold jelly.![]()
yes. agree. pow sing chk is seriously over-rated! tried once n decided not to go back again..Originally posted by ditzy:That one IMHO, abit overrated as well, first time you go wow it tastes fantastic, 2nd round time though, boring.
the malacca chk rice ball is seriously over-rated too.. the rice balls r produced by machine n not by hands... IMO, its tasteless n lack texture.. they r popular only bcos its something different..Originally posted by tiggersgd:dunno if its best but if u have time, go all the way to malacca and try the riceball chicken rice. drop by further up along the same street to eat some chendol.
u mean u tot hai nan chk rice is from hai nan??Originally posted by mochou:http://gzdaily.dayoo.com/gb/content/2005-02/27/content_1950112.htm
Chinese article on Hai Nan chicken rice by "cai lan"(The famous author who write books, articles, host TV shows on food and travelling).
In case some ppl dun read chinese, or dun like to read chinese:
He mentioned that hai nan ji fan is not from hai nan, it's invented in singapore. By someone who migrate from hai nan to singapore.
After cooking the chicken, it should be hang there to be "feng gan"(let the wind to blow it dry).
He also say that the best part is the skin, and the jelly thing layer between skin and meat.
The rice should be cook with the water that was used to cook the chicken, so that those chicken oil is in the water and will be absorbed by the rice.
Originally posted by elindra:Wanda that is my fav chicken rice place too!!!!
That transparent jelly is really chicken oil or should I say fat that has melted and trickled out and stayed between the skin and meat
Best is to eat cold chicken with hot fragrant chicken rice!!!
i already said, in case someone cant read chinese.Originally posted by monoslayer:u mean u tot hai nan chk rice is from hai nan??![]()
The article says this of the transparent jelly found in the chicken:Originally posted by mochou:http://gzdaily.dayoo.com/gb/content/2005-02/27/content_1950112.htm
Chinese article on Hai Nan chicken rice by "cai lan"(The famous author who write books, articles, host TV shows on food and travelling).
erm, pls check ur tongue? tasteless? u got to be kidding...Originally posted by monoslayer:the malacca chk rice ball is seriously over-rated too.. the rice balls r produced by machine n not by hands... IMO, its tasteless n lack texture.. they r popular only bcos its something different..![]()
ya.. mayb its jus me.. but i really find it tasteless leh..Originally posted by tiggersgd:erm, pls check ur tongue? tasteless? u got to be kidding...![]()
ok lah. this kind of tasting thing is subjective. to me its more of msg n a bit too much of soy sauce...Originally posted by monoslayer:ya.. mayb its jus me.. but i really find it tasteless leh..![]()
Yet Con chicken rice is dry chicken, different style. The steamboat is good, comparable to Golden Mile tower. But it's really squeezy. Spoke about it to the owner once, but he has no plans to expand at the moment.Originally posted by ditzy:Not Yet Con Restaurant that serves steamboat also?
nothing special yet expensive ..Originally posted by Wanda:I think it's bishan St 24, at Hawkerway food court, but my hubby say nothing special.![]()
I really think Loy Kee is just ordinary Chicken rice.Originally posted by 39th:My recommendations:
- Queenstown Hawker @ Level 2
- Chatterbox @Mandrain Hotel
- Maxwell Market
- Boon Tong Kee
- Loy Kee
- Jin Baser, Chicken rice ball![]()