Respectively:Originally posted by littlestream:I've not been home six years liao and will be making a trip this October. Can suggest/recommend the best place to eat:
1. char kuay teow
2. otak
3. durian
4. hae mee
5. satay bee hoon
Anything else/new that I should try?
Thanks, xie xie, kum siah, dor che, terima kaseh, arigato![]()
AMK central ah? hopefully only one stall there hor, arbor sekali eat at wrong stall leh.Originally posted by FireIce:my fav satay beehoon is in AMK central......way to the back one........
otah will be Molly @ hougang......
Hiya, long time no talk!Originally posted by littlestream:I've not been home six years liao and will be making a trip this October. Can suggest/recommend the best place to eat:
1. char kuay teow
2. otak
3. durian
4. hae mee
5. satay bee hoon
Anything else/new that I should try?
Thanks, xie xie, kum siah, dor che, terima kaseh, arigato![]()
wah, sembawang very far leh. me gotta borrow car to drive there. can loan me yours?Originally posted by ditzy:Respectively:
Sembawang hills, the hawker centre next to SPC petrol station.
Muar, Johor
Muar, Johor, again
Owen road hawker centre, ask for the stall that didn't operate for 2 years
Yucks
They didn't operate for two years but now they're back in action, if they're not operating, would I tell you in the first place?Originally posted by littlestream:wah, sembawang very far leh. me gotta borrow car to drive there. can loan me yours?
alamak....johor!!! i've not been there for over 10 years liao. really sua ku leh. unless u volunteer as tour guide/driver/paymaster?![]()
owen road? oh, u mean pek kio izzit? that one with the big shrimps one lah. and then didn't operate for 2 years liao, u some more tell me.
satay beehoon, good to see, nice to eat....especially see hum, see hum
thanks vm, ditz![]()
Er...kang kong jiu fish?Originally posted by littlestream:Anything else/new that I should try?
hee hee.......hello hello....yah, long time no talk. how r u? in sg or bkk? trust all's well with you.Originally posted by gentlerock:Hiya, long time no talk!
(1) I don't eat that anymore cos its fattening. But that day I saw a char kway teow stall (only sells char kway teow) at a very old hawker centre at Queenway/Farrer area. Sorry, I don't really know the name of the place, but I know how to go there.
(2) Out of convenience, I usually buy mine from Fengshan hawker centre. Fengshan is what I call it - don't know if its the actual name or not.
(3) Durian everywhere also got mah. Outside Bedok NTUC Fairprice....go at 9 pm, cheaper cos they have too many boxes and reducing number of customers.Of course the other choice is Geylang (Sims Ave) which I don't think you wanna go.
(4) Sorry, I don't eat hae mee.
(5) The best one I've had is at Ang Mo Kio central, the hawker centre which is rectangular in shape (the other one is roundish). There are two stalls together in the corner. Anyone will do.
Question is: Are you sure you wanna spend so much time and energy running around for S$2-3 plates of food?
okay, liddat this one i must go. thanks, FIOriginally posted by FireIce:got 2 stalls....both oso not bad.....though i prefer the one with the lao auntie....but some ppl prefer the other one.....i think they are side by side....
not sure if they are still around....haben been back to eat for quite some time le...
and if u are there, do rber to check out the dessert stall at the other side...
Originally posted by gentlerock:Oh yah, durians are now available whole year round....but in October, the places may be limited.
Welcomed vm, littlestream.Originally posted by littlestream:thanks vm, gentlerock.
Orh, sorry lah, misunderstood lah.Originally posted by ditzy:They didn't operate for two years but now they're back in action, if they're not operating, would I tell you in the first place?![]()
Oh, I just realised you were talking about satay beehoon too. haha. They're still there....just had it 1-2 months ago. I used to eat there when young because I lived at Yio Chu Kang road area (nearby).Originally posted by FireIce:i think me and gentlerock toking abt the same one....![]()
Oh, izzit that S$5 a plate one? Across from Bedok army camp izzit? Eh, my info is like 80s info.Originally posted by gentlerock:Er...kang kong jiu fish?
There's a very good one at Bedok South hawker centre, the one opposite some JC.
Sorry, I live in the area, but I never knew the name of the hawker centre or JC.
FISH HEAD BEEHOON!!!!! This one cannot find here!!!! Oh, must, must eat. but where? The last time I had it was a certain hawker centre downtown. Like gotta go upstairs one. where? where? where????? *drools~~~~~Originally posted by FireIce:others that u can shun bian eat since u are oredi in singapore
- hainanese chicken rice
- curry fish head
- rojak
- bak chor mee
- laksa
- bak kut teh
- curry/pepper crab
- BBQ stingray
- satay
- yong tau hu
- fish head beehoon
That Bedok corner hawker centre has been renovated and looks like a resort now....wooden tables and chairs outdoors, mini palm trees, etc. And the kang kong jiu fish stall is still there and still charging 5 bucks for it. They also own the very expensive cheng tng stall beside it. And I heard they own a string of landed property somewhere too.Originally posted by littlestream:Oh, izzit that S$5 a plate one? Across from Bedok army camp izzit? Eh, my info is like 80s info.![]()
Littlestream,Originally posted by LazerLordz:LS!
Just organise a gluttons' outing with the Bear.We will all turn up.
LL !Originally posted by LazerLordz:LS!
Just organise a gluttons' outing with the Bear.We will all turn up.
hee hee........liddat, it must be good. so, it's final...........Originally posted by FireIce:i think me and gentlerock toking abt the same one....![]()