Originally posted by Phoebie:always like to order sweet sour pork (gu lao rou) in kopitiam seafood restaurent to eat. They taste so crispy, nice and etc. But when I go home and try to cook myself.. how come the taste so different one. Anyone can teach me how to improve the home cooked version? Thanks.
Originally posted by TehJarVu:
I can't blame people being lousy at physics and chemistry, but trying to imitate food cooked by the professionals is a darn difficult task. What you are mentioning is the texture of the food which is determined by the formation of the coating protein. Of course, that is determined by the temperature of the food being cooked. Firstly, did you seperate the cooking of the meat and the sauce? The meat is deep-fried and sauce stir-fried. Make sure temp of the deep fry is 175 to 190 degrees centigrade, while the stir-fry is 100 deg cent thereabouts. Slide the battered meat into the deep fry for 2 mins or thereabouts. Scoop up and note this, dump them on top of a oil strainer with ice cubes. This allows the protein to form to a bigger amount and hence greater texture and crunchiness. Serve up with the sauce. Hope you don't need me to provide the sauce recipe. If you prefer a lighter taste, use potatoe starch flour for the batter mix.Originally posted by Phoebie:always like to order sweet sour pork (gu lao rou) in kopitiam seafood restaurent to eat. They taste so crispy, nice and etc. But when I go home and try to cook myself.. how come the taste so different one. Anyone can teach me how to improve the home cooked version? Thanks.
I can't blame people being smart alec and domineering, but trying to write colourful sentences and trying to convince the rest of the people to have your opinion is a darn difficult task.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:I can't blame people being lousy at physics and chemistry, but trying to imitate food cooked by the professionals is a darn difficult task. What you are mentioning is the texture of the food which is determined by the formation of the coating protein. Of course, that is determined by the temperature of the food being cooked. Firstly, did you seperate the cooking of the meat and the sauce? The meat is deep-fried and sauce stir-fried. Make sure temp of the deep fry is 175 to 190 degrees centigrade, while the stir-fry is 100 deg cent thereabouts. Slide the battered meat into the deep fry for 2 mins or thereabouts. Scoop up and note this, dump them on top of a oil strainer with ice cubes. This allows the protein to form to a bigger amount and hence greater texture and crunchiness. Serve up with the sauce. Hope you don't need me to provide the sauce recipe. If you prefer a lighter taste, use potatoe starch flour for the batter mix.
Maybe he come online to release stress on other people whom he do not know. See his signature?Originally posted by Ito_^:-__-uu you two enemies in previous life is it?
pai seh, i oso dunnoe how. maybe can try throw in deep frier for a few mins?
Woah!! Since when did I insult you? As I said, I do not blame people for not knowing their physics and chemistry. I only state that it is a very difficult task for people trying to imitate professionals in cooking. Why? Because they have the industrial size and quality equipment that we amateurs cannot have. If you don't believe me, you can try making your own mash potatoe or french fries.Originally posted by Phoebie:I can't blame people being smart alec and domineering, but trying to write colourful sentences and trying to convince the rest of the people to have your opinion is a darn difficult task.
Here I'm only wanting to ask people how to cook the dish at home, so that I can cook myself and no need to have to go to the restaurents everytime just to eat this dish. You claim that I'm copy the chefs, I copy for what? It's not as though I'm going to open a stall to sell this dish. Why do you have to get so worked up for? If you dislike my thread just ignore it lor. No need to show people your English and science over here. This is neither an English Competition (debate) or science or etc exam.
This is a friendly food Forum. You don't have to go around slamming other people. Yah I flunked my physics and chemistry in O levels, so? OOO I didn't know cooks in this world have to scold aces for physics and chemistry then can be cooks. OOO I didn't know just by reading this thread of yours I can brush up on physics and chemistry. And oh ya, you don't have to PM me. I'll read the thread even without your PM.
[img=http://img146.imageshack.us/img146/4828/untitleduc4.th.jpg]
edited: uploading the PM screenshot cause forgot to upload just now
ya lorOriginally posted by laurence82:yah, i tot its a simple topic
usually people would come in say they add a little of that, or maybe didnt do that
how come become a thesis on cooking har?
Did I say that you have to be an ace in science? I only state we amateurs cannot compete with professionals chefs.Originally posted by Phoebie:ya lor
and from what's he's trying to write, I didn't know have to score aces in science then can cook dish or become cook.
Can we switch to croco meat instead?Originally posted by sgboy2004:first, must use SGpork for the meat.... go ask sgpork for the it
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Woah!! Since when did I insult you? As I said, I do not blame people for not knowing their physics and chemistry. I only state that it is a very difficult task for people trying to imitate professionals in cooking. Why? Because they have the industrial size and quality equipment that we amateurs cannot have. If you don't believe me, you can try making your own mash potatoe or french fries.
And trust me, the science subjects are very useful in everyday life. Hence I would advise everyone and anyone to be well-grounded in them.
Woah!! since when from sweet and sour pork topic evolve to making mash potato or french fries or croco meat. Oh from your so called theories, you mean nowadays housewife cooking at home need to have at least Diploma in Food science or technology or other relevant subjetcs then can cook well is it.Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:Can we switch to croco meat instead?![]()
How sad....Yuan Jia lu zai..Originally posted by Ito_^:-_- dats y i say ur previous lives must be enemies.
Originally posted by FireIce:i like lotsa fats one!
Originally posted by shinta:pork cubes deep fry
den the sauce hor.. what i saw was ketchup n canned pineapple syrup
sth liddat u go try![]()
or when i try le i let u noe
I seeOriginally posted by Mospeada:actually those u ate at the kopitiam or zhi cha stall...they have already deep freid the pork cubes already...so when u order, they will fried it again, but this time the duration is shorter...that's why they are more crispy
it is called hui guo
/me stomach growls.Originally posted by Phoebie:I seethanks so much for your help guys
with your good suggestions and help I'm sure I'm going to succeed in this dish le