later i go check . when is the time to queue ah. lesser people.Originally posted by tengcc:I still like the "Ah Chiang" traditional charcoal simmer porriage at Eng Watt street. I believe this is the one and only stall that still uses charcoal which I felt it gives out the unique flavour to the porriage. However, I really don't like to queing part which can be challenging especially during hot days.
I think they are open from 7.15am and anytime from 7.15am to 8am should be ok. Lunch around 12pm should be avoided as well.Originally posted by oOprinceOo:later i go check . when is the time to queue ah. lesser people.
Do you mind telling us the address and where is Eng Watt STreet near to ? thankOriginally posted by tengcc:I still like the "Ah Chiang" traditional charcoal simmer porriage at Eng Watt street. I believe this is the one and only stall that still uses charcoal which I felt it gives out the unique flavour to the porriage. However, I really don't like to queing part which can be challenging especially during hot days.
This is Cantonese style of cooking porridge. One cantonese friend told me the porridge is boiled for hours then you will be able to get this quality. This is nutritious.Originally posted by tengcc:I think they are open from 7.15am and anytime from 7.15am to 8am should be ok. Lunch around 12pm should be avoided as well.
BTW, I am still trying very hard to wip up porriage that is creamy (cannot see any grain). A good example is Crystal Jade porriage. Can anyone advise me how do they do it. I heard that we must add "Peng Sa" which is a kind of powdery ingredient that will melt the rice grain easily. thanks.![]()
got another one at whampoaOriginally posted by spike_jose:new bridge rd got another one.
Tiong Shian Porridge Centre
265 New Bridge Road
must try their lor tau kwa! shiok sia.
breakfast lunch also can eat it.
near tiong bahru food centre. just newly renovated for almost a year or so. it's at a corner of those shop houses nearby. can be quite ulu but this shop is worth looking for. not to mention the long queue is worth it too. can also try the shen yu pian/raw fish slices.Originally posted by qlqq9:Do you mind telling us the address and where is Eng Watt STreet near to ? thank
Thanks.Originally posted by Unknown_X:near tiong bahru food centre. just newly renovated for almost a year or so. it's at a corner of those shop houses nearby. can be quite ulu but this shop is worth looking for. not to mention the long queue is worth it too. can also try the shen yu pian/raw fish slices.
Hi, its actually at the junction between Tiong Bahru's Tiong Poh Road and Eng Watt Street (corner coffee shop). I believe they are closed once a week on a weekday (its either Mon or Tues). It opens in the morning (around 7.15am) and I think the last order is around 1-1.30pm. Cheers.Originally posted by qlqq9:Thanks.
Close so fast, business must be good. Thanks.Originally posted by tengcc:Hi, its actually at the junction between Tiong Bahru's Tiong Poh Road and Eng Watt Street (corner coffee shop). I believe they are closed once a week on a weekday (its either Mon or Tues). It opens in the morning (around 7.15am) and I think the last order is around 1-1.30pm. Cheers.![]()
Originally posted by qlqq9:is the chang cheng closed down??? i went to there on monday. it's closed. is it the shop always rest on monday???
[quote]Originally posted by spike_jose:
[b]nice pork porridge in smith street, after hanky panky can go there, blk 335.
name is tian tian pork porridge, very smooth and xtremly tasty. chinatown complex 2nd floor and dun 4get to ask for more fritters.
any stall in spore better than this?[/quote
YOU mean those hawkers have moved back to the original place? Please elaborate more on the location. The one at the corner coffee shop called Chang Cheng serves very good porridge. [/b]
Not sure if Monday is their rest day.Originally posted by tpk1031:is the chang cheng closed down??? i went to there on monday. it's closed. is it the shop always rest on monday???
the dimsum stall right?Originally posted by Aaron8209:redhill one oso very nice..2dollar only.
i think alternate mondaysOriginally posted by tpk1031:is the chang cheng closed down??? i went to there on monday. it's closed. is it the shop always rest on monday???
Yup, business is very good for them and I believe it has got to do with the Charcoal thing which kind of give out a nice fragrance to the porriage when taken hot. The porriage is rather smooth but thick.Originally posted by qlqq9:Close so fast, business must be good. Thanks.
You make it sound so perfect, and this is the sort of porridge I like. OK, I must try one day. Is the coffee shop near roadside?Originally posted by tengcc:Yup, business is very good for them and I believe it has got to do with the Charcoal thing which kind of give out a nice fragrance to the porriage when taken hot. The porriage is rather smooth but thick.
at the cross junction nia. they close at 1+. but open at evening again.Originally posted by qlqq9:You make it sound so perfect, and this is the sort of porridge I like. OK, I must try one day. Is the coffee shop near roadside?