but as long as got halal sign can already ba. now i pay more attention to it because one of my close fren is muslim. but mostly malays are muslims wat. i guess it's a misconception but i guess maybe because i have not met any other malays that are not muslims actually.Originally posted by dinky1409:food is certified halal so that MUSLIMS can consume it without much suspicion not malay..
halal does not only mean no pork/lard/alcohol.. other meat products can be non-halal too.. google more to find out what is halal..
Originally posted by CasperV:you can buy halal powder and sprinkle it over the food to make it halal... more like salt... MUIS got sell
Wah this one quite bastard sia.
manufacturers hire halal certifiers to certify their products so that they can sell to muslim consumer, in other words manufactures pay halal certifiers to inspect their production to ensure that there is no "haram" substance. after inspection halal certifiers label the products halal. manufacturers do this to make sure that they expand their consumer market to include muslims.
halal is a requirement for muslims which means that halal food is fit for consumption under islamic law.
in singapore muslims are a minority. but alot of food have halal certificate to ensure that the food is fit for consumption by muslims.
I shall attempt to answer your question in the spirit of sharing knowledge. I certainly hope that you are not being deliberately inflammatory.
or are manufacturers compulsory required by the singapore government to ensure that all non-pork products are halal?
The Halal certification is strictly voluntary... Like ISO for instance. Its a essentially a "quality mark" to assure muslims that the meat products that are being sold under the brand, or by the establishment, meets the standards required by their religion.
if every single non-pork products manufacterers pay halal certifiers to get the halal certificate where does the money go to?
To MUIS, to administer the Halal scheme.
why must the products be halal certified so that muslims can consume when non-muslims are the majority?
They seriously do not need it if all they want to do is sell to non-muslims. simply walk through the supermarket and u will find that most products do not have that mark, especially the imported ones.
Same for restaurants. If they want to serve alcohol on the premise, then they have to forgo the halal certification and realise that some muslims may not want to eat there.
do non-mulims pay the tax for halal certification?
The cost of certification is not much lah... If u must break it down, u'll be paying at most 1 - 2 cents (1 cent for the halal mark, 1 cent for the assessment cost, if u must apportion a cost)
http://www.muis.gov.sg/cms/services/hal.aspx?id=187
If u feel that strongly about it, don't buy anything that has the halal mark.
The halal mark helps companies to sell to muslim customers and muslim customers to identify things which they can safely consume.
Its not about ethnic majority or minority. Its ensuring that every segment of customer is well served. If it was not commercially viable to have the halal cert, u think businesses will care???
Originally posted by CasperV:
there is halal powder too..
who's clone are u?
Originally posted by Pentaxdude90:
Wah this one quite bastard sia.
no it's not. don't be bringing in that crap in here... everybody needs a joke to laugh
if you have nothing except piss people off, then dont post
i posted mine as a joke in good intentions
Originally posted by CX:I shall attempt to answer your question in the spirit of sharing knowledge. I certainly hope that you are not being deliberately inflammatory.
The Halal certification is strictly voluntary... Like ISO for instance. Its a essentially a "quality mark" to assure muslims that the meat products that are being sold under the brand, or by the establishment, meets the standards required by their religion.
To MUIS, to administer the Halal scheme.
They seriously do not need it if all they want to do is sell to non-muslims. simply walk through the supermarket and u will find that most products do not have that mark, especially the imported ones.
Same for restaurants. If they want to serve alcohol on the premise, then they have to forgo the halal certification and realise that some muslims may not want to eat there.
The cost of certification is not much lah... If u must break it down, u'll be paying at most 1 - 2 cents (1 cent for the halal mark, 1 cent for the assessment cost, if u must apportion a cost)
http://www.muis.gov.sg/cms/services/hal.aspx?id=187
If u feel that strongly about it, don't buy anything that has the halal mark.
The halal mark helps companies to sell to muslim customers and muslim customers to identify things which they can safely consume.
Its not about ethnic majority or minority. Its ensuring that every segment of customer is well served. If it was not commercially viable to have the halal cert, u think businesses will care???
well spoken. . . or written for this matter. . .
actually, best to juz ignore the TS. .
He's a parasite that feeds on racial dispute. .
Originally posted by maskedangel:who's clone are u?
i'm not a clone
i forget. this is the school holidays periods...lots of inconsiderate XDD XMM.
oh ya. SGFORUMS is not your only source of info kay, got search engines.
I shall attempt to answer your question in the spirit of sharing knowledge. I certainly hope that you are not being deliberately inflammatory.
I was'nt being deliberately inflammatory, I merely asked questions.
So asking anything about Muslims and Islam-related topics is considered Islamophobic?
not true, majority of food items have halal certification. Even european imported danish cookies have halal trademark.
I don't care how much it is. A cent from 6 million Singaporeans amounts to $60 000, thats alot of money. Why should non-muslims have to pay the brunt of the expenses for muslims? Is'nt it sort of a favouritism?
That is the businesses' problem.
Anyways thanks for answering me.
Final question that hasnt been answered properly.
Since MUIS is the one that employs certifiers to certify products and MUIS is under the government. The money that is paid for halal certification goes to the government solely?
You said, "I don't care how much it is. A cent from 6 million Singaporeans amounts to $60 000, thats alot of money. Why should non-muslims have to pay the brunt of the expenses for muslims? Is'nt it sort of a favouritism?"
Show me how non-muslims pay the brunt of the expenses. Why the fuck is it favouritism? Companies like muslims better ah? Don't fucking assume cost of halal cert goes into every pricing of items. It is up to the companies to decide that.
Some halal certification on the meat packages is not by MUIS but by malaysia or by other countries' islamic body.
Yes if you put it that way, money do goes to the government. But whats your fucking point here?
CX may be polite in trying to "enlighten" your stupid fucking racist brain, and god bless the dude but I may not be as nice because from all your other posts, you're a fucked up racist delusional fucker who ought to have ISD to come up your doorsteps now and fuck you hard right up your ass. There is a fucking difference in sincere innocent queries and a typical racist approach. It is obvious where you are going with this thread.
I have no idea why I'm even trying to reply to your questions but I did, but this is my last post in this thread because I have no more mood to fucking play with your fucking nonsense. Go grow some brain noob and fuck your self hard in the face please.
x2. this thread is getting nowhere.
TS. you may wish to relook into your choice of words. Using another approach may benefit you and others.
Originally posted by dinky1409:You said, "I don't care how much it is. A cent from 6 million Singaporeans amounts to $60 000, thats alot of money. Why should non-muslims have to pay the brunt of the expenses for muslims? Is'nt it sort of a favouritism?"
Show me how non-muslims pay the brunt of the expenses. Why the fuck is it favouritism? Companies like muslims better ah? Don't fucking assume cost of halal cert goes into every pricing of items. It is up to the companies to decide that.
Some halal certification on the meat packages is not by MUIS but by malaysia or by other countries' islamic body.
Yes if you put it that way, money do goes to the government. But whats your fucking point here?
CX may be polite in trying to "enlighten" your stupid fucking racist brain, and god bless the dude but I may not be as nice because from all your other posts, you're a fucked up racist delusional fucker who ought to have ISD to come up your doorsteps now and fuck you hard right up your ass. There is a fucking difference in sincere innocent queries and a typical racist approach. It is obvious where you are going with this thread.
I have no idea why I'm even trying to reply to your questions but I did, but this is my last post in this thread because I have no more mood to fucking play with your fucking nonsense. Go grow some brain noob and fuck your self hard in the face please.
Wow You're intimidating me. Seriously, I was just asking questions... sheesh...
All I did was ask questions dammit! Why do you flare up like someone that has been condemned and is so defensive.
I have not said anything prejudiced against Muslims. If this the kind of attitude and aggressiveness you display then you can expect no respect.
Its like you know theres something wrong about you that when someone says something you go all berserk over them.
TS, but the phrasing/words in your questions do not make me feel comfortable.
Originally posted by dinky1409:You said, "I don't care how much it is. A cent from 6 million Singaporeans amounts to $60 000, thats alot of money. Why should non-muslims have to pay the brunt of the expenses for muslims? Is'nt it sort of a favouritism?"
he needs some halal powder...lol
Originally posted by CasperV:no it's not. don't be bringing in that crap in here... everybody needs a joke to laugh
if you have nothing except piss people off, then dont post
i posted mine as a joke in good intentions
whats so funny about halal powder. i tink ple laugh at your ignorance more lor.![]()
the halal certification $$ goes to the pakcik who checks the premises and his transportation money too to come down and check the premises, the makcik who prints the cert, for the printer ink for the cert. the new colour printer they bought also use that money.
ask stupid question which answers u can find yourself, i give you stupid answers lor.
Originally posted by cApitaland:whats so funny about halal powder. i tink ple laugh at your ignorance more lor.
nvm
"Why should non-muslims have to pay the brunt of the expenses for muslims? Is'nt it sort of a favouritism?"
i think that you are simply crazy actually. it's up to them whether they want to apply for halal certification a not. they want to apply for it, n get certified, they open up the muslim market for their products, that is all. there is no favouritism at all.
actually i for one think that those products who get halal certified is gd because the muslims and practically everyone can buy those products. for example like 'banquet'
oh just a side note, i think that 'banquet' is nicer than 'kopitiam'
this is wad i call.
social grace
racial tolerance
somethings are not meant to be spoken.
Rlsh, our banquet there de chicken rice is niceee.
Originally posted by corebooster:this is wad i call.
social grace
racial tolerance
somethings are not meant to be spoken.
Rlsh, our banquet there de chicken rice is niceee.
well.. yeah lo, i usually will go to banquet to eat when i go to jurong point. there the food nicer. i like the claypot stall there but the chinese auntie very rude like that.
lol.
ic. next time jio me go lor, i give her a charcoal face. =X
Originally posted by rlsh07:
did i say anything wrong?
Halal doesnt mean no pork, Genius.
Halal means permitted.
Get ur facts right ffs.
Btw TS, wad the hell is ur pt?
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:
Halal doesnt mean no pork, Genius.Halal means permitted.
Get ur facts right ffs.
wat i am trying to mean is that the product itself did not contain any pork n is non-alcoholic to be consider halal certified. i'm sorry u guys get the wrong idea abt it.
Originally posted by rlsh07:wat i am trying to mean is that the product itself did not contain any pork n is non-alcoholic to be consider halal certified. i'm sorry u guys get the wrong idea abt it.
U are not getting it. -.-" Forget it.