i like currypuffs with chunky piece of chicken inside. . .
I can't tell which one is the tastier but I have tried OCK, A1 and the Bukit Batok ones...
I only take potato version and they all taste great in their own aspects...
me oso like the one from nan xiang
$1 oni
fillings a lot!!!
crust oso damn nice
but quality a bit not consistent... sometimes very hiam..... sometimes not tt hiam........
where is nan xiang ? tried to google but got no answer......![]()
nan xiang chicken rice
located at sq 2
but dun bother about the chicken rice or others
just go for the kalipok
Originally posted by Pitot:wad i meant was the craving in the middle of the night thread, i think he is looking for ur otah thread now
Aclass otak otak products,
Chun long frozen food industry sdn bhd (company no 706516-H)
No 18-2, Jln Bentayan, 84000 Muar, Johor. Tel/Fax 06-9516 441
They specialise in frozen packet otak otak, got small and big packets. If you are expecting a factory or warehouse, its really just a lonely little house sitting there.
I don't know if they've moved, because I was there like 2 years back.![]()
I love "LAO" Chang Kee curry puff
The curry puff from the chicken rice shop at Novena Square. Cheaper than old chang kee, A1 and taste nicer. $1 only.
i actually still enjoy polar ones, although their puffs are getting smaller and pricier.
Originally posted by meltz:i recommend the one at hong lim market 2nd floor .. the potato curry puff is very nice .. but the sadine so so only
tried before but not nice. The pastry/skin gets soft easily and very very oily. Chilly not nice. This is expensive and not nice.
Originally posted by Fantagf:The curry puff from the chicken rice shop at Novena Square. Cheaper than old chang kee, A1 and taste nicer. $1 only.
$1 curry puff like hard to find these days. Any good curry puffs below $1?
Originally posted by lianamaster:$1 curry puff like hard to find these days. Any good curry puffs below $1?
Yes, but only with potatoes as ingredients. 80 or 90 cents curry puff (potatoes only) available at koufu food court, HDB Hub, toa payoh.
ate e tanglin curry puff @ hong lim .crust is nice and potato is spicy
I've been re-addicted to malay hawker stall curry puffs.
Can see them making the curry puffs one.
Thin thin skin, with potato cubes, curry spices, 1 slice of egg with its yolk & chicken cubes. Deep fried to a crisp.
Use to buy from Onan Road HawkerCentre Malay stall.
Then I see some Industrial Estate like Paya Lebar's factory canteens has malay stalls selling such curry puffs.
Found one at Old Airport Road hawker centre too. I hope they make a comeback so can get cheap and nice curry puffs more often.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Yes, but only with potatoes as ingredients. 80 or 90 cents curry puff (potatoes only) available at koufu food court, HDB Hub, toa payoh.
Economical ones indeed....
How much chicken meat should a chicken curry puff have?
Too many times I can't find the chicken in chicken curry puffs. Usually lots of potato filling, a thin slice of hard boiled egg, and when I am lucky, a thread of chicken breast meat.
There should be a minimum standard. And a teeny bit isn't it
Originally posted by mancha:How much chicken meat should a chicken curry puff have?
Too many times I can't find the chicken in chicken curry puffs. Usually lots of potato filling, a thin slice of hard boiled egg, and when I am lucky, a thread of chicken breast meat.
There should be a minimum standard. And a teeny bit isn't it
make your own then you can decide then![]()
Well, any classes, preferably at CC that teaches and trains us to make curry puffs?
Chicken Curry Puff should have more chicken in it to be called chicken curry puff. The thin slice of hard boiled egg in it do not count as chicken.
At $1.20 to $1.30 a pop there should be a chunk of chicken.
e.g. One piece of KFC goes for $2.00 thats the retail price. Therefore one quarter of that one piece should be about $0.50. Therefore in a $1.20 chicken curry puff, there could be that chunk of chicken meat.
I have stopped buying chicken curry puff (99.99% potato filling, 0.01% chicken meat). But that is not enough to force the curry puff makers to raise their standard. You too must not accept such sub-standard curry puffs.
Cheap sub-standard food flourish in Singapore because Singaporeans accept them.
me love curry puff the skin nia
Make your own curry puffs!
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Make your own curry puffs!
any curry puffs available in US?
old chang kee's curry puff standard drops further. just ate, the curry puff not much curry taste, potatoes not very well cooked.
Originally posted by Fantagf:old chang kee's curry puff standard drops further. just ate, the curry puff not much curry taste, potatoes not very well cooked.
I long ago stopped trying liao... still like the late 90s' OCK.