hi people
for a long time, i can't seem to appreciate gourmet good food(i.e. restaurant/hotel food).
for me if i were to choose between Foie Gras at Iggy's or a packet of mixed economic rice with alot of items($4) from the coffeeshop under my block, i'd choose the latter.
whenever my friends go to restaurants in town, honestly after eating there once i go home i need to order mac as i'd still be hungry.
this goes with local fares at coffeeshop/hawker centers. i can't seem to tell the difference between Adam Rd's nasi lemak and the one near to my place. whenever i eat with friends, i'd just lie and say it's good but honestly i can't tell the difference.
i go for quantity of quality in this matter, nothing is as good as a plate of mix economic rice with fried chicken pieces, pork in black sauce, stir fried tofu and egg. extra curry too.
am i alone or are there fellow simple people like me?
whoa
and i tot i am alone
i still ok ok la
i think this kind is need experience one
u see those older people always can tell u how come this dish is not good that dish is good etc.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:i still ok ok la
i think this kind is need experience one
u see those older people always can tell u how come this dish is not good that dish is good etc.
honestly i get slightly agitated one someone tells me this. i mean food is food and it comes out the same still. i usually eat my meals within 5-8 mins so i don't really taste/savour it. so long my stomaches is full and the food was edible/clean i'm satisfied.
and btw the girl in your avatar is cute![]()
Originally posted by Achilles.:hi people
for a long time, i can't seem to appreciate gourmet good food(i.e. restaurant/hotel food).
for me if i were to choose between Foie Gras at Iggy's or a packet of mixed economic rice with alot of items($4) from the coffeeshop under my block, i'd choose the latter.
whenever my friends go to restaurants in town, honestly after eating there once i go home i need to order mac as i'd still be hungry.
this goes with local fares at coffeeshop/hawker centers. i can't seem to tell the difference between Adam Rd's nasi lemak and the one near to my place. whenever i eat with friends, i'd just lie and say it's good but honestly i can't tell the difference.
i go for quantity of quality in this matter, nothing is as good as a plate of mix economic rice with fried chicken pieces, pork in black sauce, stir fried tofu and egg. extra curry too.
am i alone or are there fellow simple people like me?
i'm kinda with you.
i mean, i am not picky about food, and i also cannot tell the difference, unless the ingredients used is really inferior, like once i had this chicken rice. the chicken rice is.. dry and sticky, the oil used was barely enough. it was like in between normal rice and chicken rice and the chicken was dry and tasteless. now that was smth i couldn't eat.
but i can appreciate good food la, but definitely not the price.
like this steak i had at this cafe, really really good, definitely better than botak jones etc.
but all in all. i rather settle for a nice big packet of economical rice, sze chuan chicken, pork chop in black sauce, bean sprout, fried egg and thick gooey curry.
SOLID!
actually. i am craving airport terminal 1's economical rice now. ugh
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:actually. i am craving airport terminal 1's economical rice now. ugh
for me almost all economical rice is the same
Originally posted by Achilles.:for me almost all economical rice is the same
u must try. the serving damn huge
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:u must try. the serving damn huge
i cant see myself going down to the airport for this. maybe when i send off someone when they're flying off. then again i don't have a habit of sending people off at the airport.
maybe one day when i'm flying i'd try it.
i eagerly wait for the shop at my place to open to have a satisfying lunch.
Originally posted by Achilles.:honestly i get slightly agitated one someone tells me this. i mean food is food and it comes out the same still. i usually eat my meals within 5-8 mins so i don't really taste/savour it. so long my stomaches is full and the food was edible/clean i'm satisfied.
and btw the girl in your avatar is cute
no.
she is very cute ![]()
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
no.she is very cute
indeed my friend
When things dont interest you, you dont appreciate it, no matter how good it is to you. Duh.
Depends on whether you eat to live or live to eat.
I like
good food but it doesn't make any difference whether or not they're
available on a daily basis. Most of the time I can't be bothered to
hunt, just eat what I can find, chop chop and go. Good movies, on the
other hand, require more effort! ![]()
Nothing can beat having "economical rice" with all my favourite items (potatoes with sauce, kulu york, sweet and sour fish, hor pau dan, some hotdogs. I can have all these under $3.70. IMO it tastes better than any restaurant food(comparing with those basic restaurant foods ofcause. If talk about their best dishes definitely those taste better, but my wallet doesnt allow...so..
) ![]()
Originally posted by Achilles.:i mean food is food and it comes out the same still. i usually eat my meals within 5-8 mins so i don't really taste/savour it. so long my stomaches is full and the food was edible/clean i'm satisfied.
Same here, can eat can liao..
But of cos, some places that searve better taste food, then swollow all also more happy....but the price make me normal eat can full ok liao..
anything with chicken meat is great for me. . .
same here. just dont like the idea of paying 100$+ for a plate of high quality food that cant make u full. but i like the idea of having something that cause around 3.30 that can make u full.
i rather spend on something else rather than gourmet food
Originally posted by popmynutsy:same here. just dont like the idea of paying 100$+ for a plate of high quality food that cant make u full. but i like the idea of having something that cause around 3.30 that can make u full.
haha.. i think.. it's girls who are able to appreciate goumet food more
Yes man, nothing is worse than an empty stomach!!!
Paid so much yet still crave for food is one of the lamest thing diners can do to themselves.
my gf always say im chai fan siao
i feel for TS... i feel his pain..
cant taste the difference between 'good' food and crappy food.. oh man.. u are missing out on the good shit friend. lol.. and i thought vegans got it bad. hahaha