Strange that SPEAKER CORNER does not accept this thread.
According to zaobao,
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090331_520.shtml
Kopitiam was awarded the tender for rental of SENGKANG MARKET at a monthly rental of $500 000. SENGKANG MARKET is expected to have 40 wet market stall, 10 dry sundry stall, 50 cooked food stall.
So $500 000 a month, it means KOPITIAM must collect at least $5000 per month from each stalls! That's obscene.
Going to NEA website, even cooked food stall in Maxwell won't fetch $5000 a month. Moreover a dry and wet market stall would normally fetch $800....
Who should be blamed for the rising cost of living? KOPITIAM or HDB? For those who feel that Singapore tax little on our income, do think twice.
Or course your indirect tax will be higher if you stayed in SENGKANG.
Can we say no to KOPITIAM? What's wrong with current scheme of having HDB/NEA owning the Markets and Food Centres?
I am glad I stayed near 2 upgraded markets where the coffee stalls there still charged a cup of coffees at 60cents.
here's the recent tender results from NEA website..
-----------------------------------
BLK 724 ANG MO KIO AVE 6 01-97 PROCESSED RAW SEAFO0D LAU MOOI KIOU $ 428.00
BLK 511 BEDOK NORTH ST 3 01-49* PIECE & SUNDRY GOODS CHING HOON YIN $ 750.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE K002** CUT FRUITS / FRUIT JUICES
CHANG CHEN MING (ZHANG
ZHENMING)
$ 1,601.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE 063 COOKED FOOD ZAINUDDIN BIN SAJAT $ 2,258.00
-------------------
Say hello to $10 chicken rice and $5 dollar prata (kosong). ![]()
Wow, that's obscene.
Originally posted by charlize:
Say hello to $10 chicken rice and $5 dollar prata (kosong).
add rice $6
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:add rice $6
Oh my... ![]()
Chicken chop : $28
Originally posted by youyayu:Chicken chop : $28
That is prolly more expensive than Chatterbox!![]()
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:
That is prolly more expensive than Chatterbox!
add rice $5 ![]()
Originally posted by youyayu:add rice $5
Wah piangzz...
Can launch protest already. ![]()
The real cause of inflation is ultimately the government.
I look forward to the day when laksa becomes $5. Not very far away liao....cos some hawkers alrdy charging $3.50.
Originally posted by iamgoondu:Strange that SPEAKER CORNER does not accept this thread.
According to zaobao,
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090331_520.shtml
Kopitiam was awarded the tender for rental of SENGKANG MARKET at a monthly rental of $500 000. SENGKANG MARKET is expected to have 40 wet market stall, 10 dry sundry stall, 50 cooked food stall.
So $500 000 a month, it means KOPITIAM must collect at least $5000 per month from each stalls! That's obscene.
Going to NEA website, even cooked food stall in Maxwell won't fetch $5000 a month. Moreover a dry and wet market stall would normally fetch $800....
Who should be blamed for the rising cost of living? KOPITIAM or HDB? For those who feel that Singapore tax little on our income, do think twice.
Or course your indirect tax will be higher if you stayed in SENGKANG.
Can we say no to KOPITIAM? What's wrong with current scheme of having HDB/NEA owning the Markets and Food Centres?
I am glad I stayed near 2 upgraded markets where the coffee stalls there still charged a cup of coffees at 60cents.
here's the recent tender results from NEA website..
-----------------------------------
BLK 724 ANG MO KIO AVE 6 01-97 PROCESSED RAW SEAFO0D LAU MOOI KIOU $ 428.00
BLK 511 BEDOK NORTH ST 3 01-49* PIECE & SUNDRY GOODS CHING HOON YIN $ 750.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE K002** CUT FRUITS / FRUIT JUICES
CHANG CHEN MING (ZHANG
ZHENMING)
$ 1,601.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE 063 COOKED FOOD ZAINUDDIN BIN SAJAT $ 2,258.00
-------------------
Is the rental base on people submitting how much they are willing to pay, and the highest bidder wins? Or is the rental based on a fixed amount?
So the money is based on free market? Or is it because of government control?
Welcome To Singapore.....
Cost of living got nothing to do with PAP?
think again
the rent will definitely not be 5k at least. 7k at least!
otherwise kopitiam bid to eat grass.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:the rent will definitely not be 5k at least. 7k at least!
otherwise kopitiam bid to eat grass.
chicken rice $20
Originally posted by youyayu:
chicken rice $20
chicken cutlet $35
tt's insane?!
Bak chor mee $50 ![]()
Show yr silence protest to this unncessary inflation.
I live in Jurong and I will boycott those expensive food. Some say they have no choice cos they have no transport and going to other place to eat will mean additonal transport fee and time.
That is why I take up cycling. First to show my displeasure of rising public transport fee. I curb down on taking feeder bus to MRT. With my own cheap transport, I am not limited just to nearby area for my selection of groceries and food.
I will only eat at places selling food at reasonable price and let those expensive food stall rot.
Now I start to notice many stalls in Jurong point selling cheap food(Nasi Lemak $2, Chikcen rice $2). My home is not very near to Jurong point but will only take a 10mins cycling to reach there.
Business for these cheap food stall are good. And hell to those food stall selling expensive food.
but then arh, those selling $2 stuff, the portions are really very microscopic.
Well, can chose not to eat there and go other place if you guys want...
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:but then arh, those selling $2 stuff, the portions are really very microscopic.
Not really. They are enough to fill yr stomach.
Originally posted by zenden9:
Not really. They are enough to fill yr stomach.
enough to fill my stomach to last for an hour.