market leh. give it to the highest bidder. end up who pays the most?
Originally posted by iamgoondu:Strange that SPEAKER CORNER does not accept this thread.
According to zaobao,
http://www.zaobao.com/sp/sp090331_520.shtml
Kopitiam was awarded the tender for rental of SENGKANG MARKET at a monthly rental of $500 000. SENGKANG MARKET is expected to have 40 wet market stall, 10 dry sundry stall, 50 cooked food stall.
So $500 000 a month, it means KOPITIAM must collect at least $5000 per month from each stalls! That's obscene.
Going to NEA website, even cooked food stall in Maxwell won't fetch $5000 a month. Moreover a dry and wet market stall would normally fetch $800....
Who should be blamed for the rising cost of living? KOPITIAM or HDB? For those who feel that Singapore tax little on our income, do think twice.
Or course your indirect tax will be higher if you stayed in SENGKANG.
Can we say no to KOPITIAM? What's wrong with current scheme of having HDB/NEA owning the Markets and Food Centres?
I am glad I stayed near 2 upgraded markets where the coffee stalls there still charged a cup of coffees at 60cents.
here's the recent tender results from NEA website..
-----------------------------------
BLK 724 ANG MO KIO AVE 6 01-97 PROCESSED RAW SEAFO0D LAU MOOI KIOU $ 428.00
BLK 511 BEDOK NORTH ST 3 01-49* PIECE & SUNDRY GOODS CHING HOON YIN $ 750.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE K002** CUT FRUITS / FRUIT JUICES
CHANG CHEN MING (ZHANG
ZHENMING)
$ 1,601.00
MAXWELL FOOD CENTRE 063 COOKED FOOD ZAINUDDIN BIN SAJAT $ 2,258.00
-------------------
wow, me din knw stalls acherly so cheep de.
so whr u live huh?
Originally postedy by alwaysdisturbed: market leh. give it to the highest bidder. end up who pays the most?You are right... I'll write in and ask them to change their policy.
Originally posted by zenden9:Show yr silence protest to this unncessary inflation.
I live in Jurong and I will boycott those expensive food. Some say they have no choice cos they have no transport and going to other place to eat will mean additonal transport fee and time.
That is why I take up cycling. First to show my displeasure of rising public transport fee. I curb down on taking feeder bus to MRT. With my own cheap transport, I am not limited just to nearby area for my selection of groceries and food.
I will only eat at places selling food at reasonable price and let those expensive food stall rot.
Now I start to notice many stalls in Jurong point selling cheap food(Nasi Lemak $2, Chikcen rice $2). My home is not very near to Jurong point but will only take a 10mins cycling to reach there.
Business for these cheap food stall are good. And hell to those food stall selling expensive food.
Yea..agree... must save....
this highest bidder nonsense has to stop. The 2nd highest bidder only bid at near $300k. Now this highest bidder comes in with 500k and HDB laughs all the way to bank.
Have they no thought on how this would have an effect on inflation?
Originally posted by the Bear:You are right... I'll write in and ask them to change their policy.
谢谢.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
wow, me din knw stalls acherly so cheep de.
so whr u live huh?
I stayed near HollandV. 60 cents refer to kopi-o not kopi.
Originally posted by skythewood:Is the rental base on people submitting how much they are willing to pay, and the highest bidder wins? Or is the rental based on a fixed amount?
So the money is based on free market? Or is it because of government control?
For this tender, it was awarded to the highest bidder. And Kopitiam has submitted the highest bid, monthly rental at $500000.
Unfortunately, Kopitiam refused to comment why they submit such outrageous bid (sunday times on 5 Apr).
Originally posted by zenden9:Show yr silence protest to this unncessary inflation.
I live in Jurong and I will boycott those expensive food. Some say they have no choice cos they have no transport and going to other place to eat will mean additonal transport fee and time.
That is why I take up cycling. First to show my displeasure of rising public transport fee. I curb down on taking feeder bus to MRT. With my own cheap transport, I am not limited just to nearby area for my selection of groceries and food.
I will only eat at places selling food at reasonable price and let those expensive food stall rot.
Now I start to notice many stalls in Jurong point selling cheap food(Nasi Lemak $2, Chikcen rice $2). My home is not very near to Jurong point but will only take a 10mins cycling to reach there.
Business for these cheap food stall are good. And hell to those food stall selling expensive food.
True we can choose not to patronize the stalls or Kopitiam, however are we being deprived of an essential amenity? And what will be the effect on this rental price, food prices have on other food stalls, coffee shops in Seng Kang?
If HDB use this as benchmark, next time HDB will claim that they had provided 'SUBSIDY' at $3000/month to all market stalls in SIngapore.
Seng Kang is a residential township, high bids which translate to high rentals and high food prices will indirectly affect many residents there.
even more than rental shops in orchard road?
wtf
just a matter of time.
1) Sengkang is a high density area, with MRT, LRT, Bus interchange, as well as SingHealth polyclinic and big shopping mall. So naturally, it will have a slight premium.
2) Carpark lots are going to be built. And depending on the number of lots, it can fetch quite an amount.
3) Kopitiam can sell premium advertising space. And this can further help offset the amount.
4) Kopitiam might go for lower profit margins in an attempt to increase market capitalisation.
5) We wouldn't know if kopitiam has any other creative ideas to earn other than charging high rental.
In short, everything is just speculation. So... why bother and complain so much when nothing much has been finalised?
Originally posted by iamgoondu:For this tender, it was awarded to the highest bidder. And Kopitiam has submitted the highest bid, monthly rental at $500000.
Unfortunately, Kopitiam refused to comment why they submit such outrageous bid (sunday times on 5 Apr).
I think they bid high because they are confident they can make the money back, and underestimate the competitor's bidding...
But they are an established company, not some random guy who anyhow bid, so i am sure they have a plan to make this work. If no plan, and they lose moeny, they are always welcome to give up and cut their losses....
Originally posted by eagle:1) Sengkang is a high density area, with MRT, LRT, Bus interchange, as well as SingHealth polyclinic and big shopping mall. So naturally, it will have a slight premium.
2) Carpark lots are going to be built. And depending on the number of lots, it can fetch quite an amount.
3) Kopitiam can sell premium advertising space. And this can further help offset the amount.
4) Kopitiam might go for lower profit margins in an attempt to increase market capitalisation.
5) We wouldn't know if kopitiam has any other creative ideas to earn other than charging high rental.
In short, everything is just speculation. So... why bother and complain so much when nothing much has been finalised?
1. Maxwell market is just located in an high dense area. And their rentals defintitely do not fetch such highs.
2. So Kopitiam owns the Carpark lots? And Kopitiam collect the monies from Car Park as well? This is something new and not report in paper.
Shouldn't car park lots to be built only if there is a demand? If people shun that premises, perhaps HDB can forgo the plan of building that car park.
3. Wow, why won't HDB/NEA sell their advertising space in all MARKETS/FOOD CENTRES? There are many MARKETS located in much more premium locations such as Maxwell, Holland V, and I yet to see any advertising space being built up.
I believe advertising space are been governed by some advertising regulations, else the whole advertising industry will tank.
4. Yup lower profit margins? But how low a plate of chicken rice a stall can sell, if he has high overheads to cover? At present chicken rice selling at $2.5 in normal food centre stall whose monthly rental averages $2000. Extrapolate the data, in Seng Kang Kopitiam, a plate of chicken rice may be at $5. And for lower profit margin, perhaps $4.5.
5. Oh yes, charge for the toilet, maybe 20cents per entry. Charge the stall owners high in maintenance fees, in plate collecting service, in table cleaning service.., and all these may be $500 per stall. And with that perhaps Kopitiam charges the stall at $4.5k rental instead.
u know even if things are not finalised yet but there is something seriously flawed with the govt awarding the market to the highest bidder instead of best plan to run market.
Govt has always been like that what. For contracts that require people to build things for them, always take the lowest. For contracts where they get people to manage and pay them money, of course take the highest lar!![]()
Originally posted by Rock^Star:u know even if things are not finalised yet but there is something seriously flawed with the govt awarding the market to the highest bidder instead of best plan to run market.
Isn't the best plan one that can maximise profit?
What other factors is not covered by that?
Maybe part of their rental plans is similar to like at vivocity, part of their profits go to lease owner.![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:Govt has always been like that what. For contracts that require people to build things for them, always take the lowest. For contracts where they get people to manage and pay them money, of course take the highest lar!
You deserve a million dollar salary. ![]()
Originally posted by iamgoondu:1. Maxwell market is just located in an high dense area. And their rentals defintitely do not fetch such highs.
2. So Kopitiam owns the Carpark lots? And Kopitiam collect the monies from Car Park as well? This is something new and not report in paper.
Shouldn't car park lots to be built only if there is a demand? If people shun that premises, perhaps HDB can forgo the plan of building that car park.
3. Wow, why won't HDB/NEA sell their advertising space in all MARKETS/FOOD CENTRES? There are many MARKETS located in much more premium locations such as Maxwell, Holland V, and I yet to see any advertising space being built up.
I believe advertising space are been governed by some advertising regulations, else the whole advertising industry will tank.
4. Yup lower profit margins? But how low a plate of chicken rice a stall can sell, if he has high overheads to cover? At present chicken rice selling at $2.5 in normal food centre stall whose monthly rental averages $2000. Extrapolate the data, in Seng Kang Kopitiam, a plate of chicken rice may be at $5. And for lower profit margin, perhaps $4.5.
5. Oh yes, charge for the toilet, maybe 20cents per entry. Charge the stall owners high in maintenance fees, in plate collecting service, in table cleaning service.., and all these may be $500 per stall. And with that perhaps Kopitiam charges the stall at $4.5k rental instead.
http://www.sghousing.com/2008/12/24/hdb-invites-tenders-for-sengkang-market/
HDB invites tenders for Sengkang market
THE Housing and Development Board (HDB) began inviting tenders yesterday for a land parcel in Sengkang New Town for the building and managing of a market and food centre. The land parcel has a site area of 6,000 square metres and a maximum gross floor area of 4,000 sq m.
The tenure is for an initial five years with options for another two terms. The development will house an estimated 100 stalls offering fresh market produce and cooked food, as well as parking lots and a drop-off porch.
The tender arose from the Forum on HDB Heartware, which among other things, recommended the building of wet markets and hawker centres to promote community bonding and strengthen local identity. Sengkang was chosen for the pilot project as it is a new town and many requests have been made for another market and food centre.
Despite the dismal economic climate, Nicholas Mak, Knight Frank’s director of research and consultancy, expects the response to be positive. ‘The Sengkang area is a growing estate housing about 140,000 people at the moment and the location of the market is quite attractive as well, with it being surrounded by high-density flats and quite near the MRT,’ he said, adding that the project would most likely be taken on by a contractor that frequently works with the HDB.
The project is expected to be completed on or before Dec 31, 2010.
Everything you said may be possible. But it may not be possible as well. But can you be 100% sure everything is there? Even your own first post used the words "expected to have".
For all you know, it may be built like FernVale Wet Market, where there's parking lots on the 2nd floor. Complete with a coffeeshop, small supermarket, tuition centre, spectacle shop, etc, etc, etc.
Let me repeat my final paragraph again if you missed it:
Life has much more priorities than worrying and complaining about things not finalised.
Thanks.
Originally posted by eagle:
Everything you said may be possible. But it may not be possible as well. But can you be 100% sure everything is there? Even your own first post used the words "expected to have".
For all you know, it may be built like FernVale Wet Market, where there's parking lots on the 2nd floor. Complete with a coffeeshop, small supermarket, tuition centre, spectacle shop, etc, etc, etc.
Let me repeat my final paragraph again if you missed it:
Life has much more priorities than worrying and complaining about things not finalised.
Thanks.
It is already a known fact that there will be 100 stalls. And the detailed breakdown was 40 market stalls, 10 sundry stalls and 50 cooked food stalls. What u meant by small supermarket? Tuition centre?
If that's the case, then it would be a shopping centre like Dawson Road Shopping Centre. I think you can tell a different between a shopping centre and a market.
Yup my priority is to beat the rising cost of living, and to start with, is to stop the agency from awarding tenders at astronomical price to irresponsible company.
Fortunately Temasek did not own Kopitiam.
Originally posted by iamgoondu:
It is already a known fact that there will be 100 stalls. And the detailed breakdown was 40 market stalls, 10 sundry stalls and 50 cooked food stalls. What u meant by small supermarket? Tuition centre?
If that's the case, then it would be a shopping centre like Dawson Road Shopping Centre. I think you can tell a different between a shopping centre and a market.
Yup my priority is to beat the rising cost of living, and to start with, is to stop the agency from awarding tenders at astronomical price to irresponsible company.
Yawns.
I guess you need to go do some primary school English assessment books.
And maybe you should also go worry about the future 10% GST as well, or worry about a possible unemployment 20 years down the road. There are many many many other possible things that are not finalised for you to worry about. You can be busy enough! ![]()
Originally posted by iamgoondu:
you are right. maybe you should be the one to choose which company to award to.
i believe other countries has a choosing system, and coincidentally, the company awarded is usually people who are related to the head of the committee...
Originally posted by skythewood:Isn't the best plan one that can maximise profit?
What other factors is not covered by that?
well that sort of a best plan comes from a commercial point of view. My idea of a best plan is one which is citizen oriented. One which can manage the market at the most profit but lowest cost. Obviously, attaining low cost and eventually low prices for citizens is not an agenda on the list.