5 Reasons Why WE SHOULD NOT CLEAR tables at fastfood restaurants.
1) Fastfood in Singapore is not like other countries. It is slow and expensive, more expensive than Pizza Hut, Delifrance and Cafe Cartel on Weekdays. Certainly, we expect some service. Already, we are being chased off at Macdonalds after paying up for our meals and made to stand at the side like a stupid idiot. Even chilli and ketchup sauce is now available in a bin for you to squeeze it yourself.
2) Aunties and uncles who are clearing the tables now will get retrenched, as they no longer need to station a single staff to clear tables. while fastfood chains earn more, and their CEOs earn more. Middle line to line staff do not earn more, nor the customers benefit. These aunties and uncles are low wage income holders, and they may have to beg on the streets without a low-skilled job.
3) With the clearing of the tables, leftovers will be left to rot by minority inconsiderate patrons while there are no cleaners to clean up spillages and leftovers. Think of the cockroaches, lizards and ants sharing a meal with you on the same table.
4) Its meant to be fast - I have to queue up for the food, wait for my food to be cooked, squeeze my own ketchup, eat my own food, clear my own table, HOW CAN IT BE FAST?
5) Any add ons?
don't patronise lor.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:don't patronise lor.
LOL.. True.
Just irks me that they are using the "Clear Tables" campaign to save costs, with the ultimate aim to cut labour, by influencing us to help them save costs.
Where is their corporate social responsibility. =X
Originally posted by Junyang700:LOL.. True.
Just irks me that they are using the "Clear Tables" campaign to save costs, with the ultimate aim to cut labour, by influencing us to help them save costs.
Where is their corporate social responsibility. =X
corporates only makes money for the boards.
i think it's a good habit to clean up after urself.
even though they got cleaners, but they're all quite old leh.
so might as well make their jobs senang abit.
BUT
if they end up kena retrenched because we self serviced abit, then i think this sucks.
and seriously,
cleaner aunties cost how much oni.
still wan cut costs.
everything in sg revolves arnd costs, costs, costs.
sian anot?
it will only result in less jobs for the aged.
Fast food in Singapore is expensive compared to other countries? Whose leg are you trying to pull?
And if social responsibility is so easy to brush off, it's no wonder a significant number of Singaporeans lack social grace. Please, you don't even have to tip or pay service charge at these places; is getting your own chili sauce going to kill you? ![]()
sure or not ex? You comparing w/ M'sia is it? Then earn and live in M'sia lor.
In any case, imagine yourself being e one waiting for a seat during peak hrs. Try n help to allow everyone for a pleasant n fast makan time.
Also those uncle and auntie some are old enough to be your grandparents. Yes they do have to clean e tables, but surely not everything
... if the staff give u packets of chilli/ketchup, u still have to open them up -.- might as well squeeze them from the container. easier, convenient and lesser waste. anw, the cleaners are still required to a certain extent.. if not no one will sweep/mop the floor or wipe the tables [taking into account that ppl do clear tables].
If you guys are lazy, just say that you are lazy. No need to come up with all these dumb arguments to justify your laziness.
All it takes is for you to:
1. Put everything on one tray.
2. Shove the contents of the tray into the bin.
3. Put the tray on top of the bin.
Total elapsed time: less than 30 seconds. Don't tell me you can spend 30 minutes eating your food but cannot spend 30 seconds to clear it.
And don't give me this nonsense that cleaners may get fired or whatever because they wouldn't have to clear your trays. They still need to mop the floor, wipe the tables, clean the toilet, wash the windows..... the list goes on.
Sheesh. Totally pathetic thread.
Dear all,
Please open your eyes bigger and observe what is happening around you.
One example. SMRT and SBST asks you to move to the rear of the bus to allow others to board.
Fact: They can deploy less buses and increase capacity loading, squeezing more commuters up a single train or bus.
Everything in Singapore is about cost, MONEY. Social values? They simply use it to your advantage towards cost savings.
What do you think of fastfood restaurant's latest move? To retrench staff and decrease costs, on the pretense of educating our moral values.
Originally posted by sbst275:sure or not ex? You comparing w/ M'sia is it? Then earn and live in M'sia lor.
In any case, imagine yourself being e one waiting for a seat during peak hrs. Try n help to allow everyone for a pleasant n fast makan time.
Also those uncle and auntie some are old enough to be your grandparents. Yes they do have to clean e tables, but surely not everything
Hong Kong, Thailand and China is also cheaper than us. Probably Australia too. Notice one Mac Meal nowadays cost like $7, apart from KFC $5.50 value meal and Mac's $4.50 lunch deal.
They can hire less staff. Cut down at least 1 staff to 2. Notice in the fastfood restaurant, there is at least one uncle or auntie standing there waiting to clear your tables?
RETRENCHED because of your good deed.
I personally experience this. I bought a burger and wanted to clear it since its only a sandwich. Auntie shout and say "Let me do it". Reason me and her know. She does not clear, she is redundant.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Dear all,
One example. SMRT and SBST asks you to move to the rear of the bus to allow others to board.
Fact: They can deploy less buses and increase capacity loading, squeezing more commuters up a single train or bus.
Everything in Singapore is about cost, MONEY. Social values? They simply use it to your advantage towards cost savings.
What do you think of fastfood restaurant's latest move? To retrench staff and decrease costs, on the pretense of educating our moral values.
Aren't these social graces something desirable to have? Would there even be a need for these reminders if we had them all the long? Would there be any costs to cut if extra services weren't needed in the first place?
Animals leave carrion to other creatures to clean up when they can't do it themselves. So why can't you clean up after yourself when you are perfectly able to do so? ![]()
Originally posted by Junyang700:5 Reasons Why WE SHOULD NOT CLEAR tables at fastfood restaurants.
1) Fastfood in Singapore is not like other countries. It is slow and expensive, more expensive than Pizza Hut, Delifrance and Cafe Cartel on Weekdays. Certainly, we expect some service. Already, we are being chased off at Macdonalds after paying up for our meals and made to stand at the side like a stupid idiot. Even chilli and ketchup sauce is now available in a bin for you to squeeze it yourself.
2) Aunties and uncles who are clearing the tables now will get retrenched, as they no longer need to station a single staff to clear tables. while fastfood chains earn more, and their CEOs earn more. Middle line to line staff do not earn more, nor the customers benefit. These aunties and uncles are low wage income holders, and they may have to beg on the streets without a low-skilled job.
3) With the clearing of the tables, leftovers will be left to rot by minority inconsiderate patrons while there are no cleaners to clean up spillages and leftovers. Think of the cockroaches, lizards and ants sharing a meal with you on the same table.
4) Its meant to be fast - I have to queue up for the food, wait for my food to be cooked, squeeze my own ketchup, eat my own food, clear my own table, HOW CAN IT BE FAST?
5) Any add ons?
Clearing trays was strongly encouraged by the pee mmmm with small mind who can only think of such trivial matter to tell Singaporeans while receiving a world class salary.
Clear or no clearing of trays is no issue at all. What is the problem?
I will do it selectively not at the expense of the rice bowls of the cleaners.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Hong Kong, Thailand and China is also cheaper than us. Probably Australia too. Notice one Mac Meal nowadays cost like $7, apart from KFC $5.50 value meal and Mac's $4.50 lunch deal.
They can hire less staff. Cut down at least 1 staff to 2. Notice in the fastfood restaurant, there is at least one uncle or auntie standing there waiting to clear your tables?
RETRENCHED because of your good deed.
I personally experience this. I bought a burger and wanted to clear it since its only a sandwich. Auntie shout and say "Let me do it". Reason me and her know. She does not clear, she is redundant.
dun forget wat's their cost of living for other factors.
In Hong Kong food is cheap, but not property and transportation.
So you mean we go back to 1970s SBS's monopoly era to have 15 buses clogging up the bus stop at 1 time?
Simply travelling time would be lengthened not because bus is packed, but because to provide 'comfort' and clogging of buses at bus stop.
Not to say everyone is going to school, to work all at the same time.
People are talking about social graces, and you want to take the cynic's viewpoint.
Now you want the bus companies to deploy more buses, and to hell with asking passengers to move in. How about this: ask passengers to move in and be less selfish to those who want to board on top of getting the bus companies to increase frequency?
Sheesh.... why must everything be 'PAP's fault, PAP is being cynical, gahmen sucks'? What happened to good old basic manners like clearing your food from the table and moving to the rear of the bus so that other passengers can also come in?
And answer my question: would it really kill you to give up 30 seconds of your time to clear your tray? And would having one less task to do really make the McDonalds' auntie lose her job?
If you're lazy, just admit it, and stop trying to justify your stand with these ridiculously cynical excuses. ![]()
Originally posted by limywv:what kind of social values are you talking about with regard to the smrt & sbs policy?
$$$ values. Singaporean style =)
Originally posted by fudgester:People are talking about social graces, and you want to take the cynic's viewpoint.
Now you want the bus companies to deploy more buses, and to hell with asking passengers to move in.
How about this: ask passengers to move in and be less selfish to those who want to board on top of getting the bus companies to increase frequency?
And answer my question: would it really kill you to give up 30 seconds of your time to clear your tray? And would having one less task to do really make the McDonalds' auntie lose her job?
If you're lazy, just admit it, and stop trying to justify your stand with these ridiculously cynical excuses.
Think about this. You are the manager of MacDonalds Restaurant.
In the past, noone clears the tables, you have to hire 2 cleaners to clean the tables.
Now, everybody clears the tables, what do you do with these 2 cleaners?
Originally posted by Junyang700:$$$ values. Singaporean style =)
Ya lah ya lah. Everything is a damn PAP conspiracy to you.
And Fudgester is a PAP dog. That's what you want to hear, right?
Sheesh.
Originally posted by Junyang700:Think about this. You are the manager of MacDonalds Restaurant.
In the past, noone clears the tables, you have to hire 2 cleaners to clean the tables.
Now, everybody clears the tables, what do you do with these 2 cleaners?
I already said: wipe tables, mop the floor, wash the toilet, wash the windows, clean the kitchen, etc, etc.
ONE single task less, and the cleaners lose their jobs?
Like that you might as well ask everyone to litter their housing estates so that the cleaners will have more work to do.
Truly pathetic. I'm outta here. No use reducing my intelligence any further.
If you're one of those idiots who refuse to move in after boarding the train or bus, I'll be glad to knock your head off.
And I absolutely hate those arse who sit on the outside seats in a bus and look at me like I owe them when I purposely shove my bag in their face as I squeeze in.
And wtf is wrong with clearing your own tray? You might as well not clear your stuff in SAF and justify the employment of PES C people for that?
If you don't want to clear your tray, fine. That's the culture here sadly. But to try to even justify that just reveals yourself as just plain selfish.
Originally posted by SBS2601D:If you're one of those idiots who refuse to move in after boarding the train or bus, I'll be glad to knock your head off.
And I absolutely hate those arse who sit on the outside seats in a bus and look at me like I owe them when I purposely shove my bag in their face as I squeeze in.
And wtf is wrong with clearing your own tray? You might as well not clear your stuff in SAF and justify the employment of PES C people for that?
If you don't want to clear your tray, fine. That's the culture here sadly. But to try to even justify that just reveals yourself as just plain selfish.
I aint one of those who refuse to move in.
I am one of those that clear the tables and got told off, as I have said earlier.
The auntie fear she will lose her job.