The growing number of corporate-run air-conditioned food courts that sell higher quality food may portend the start of a more lavish, materialistic lifestyle.
The deepening trend of price increases in Singapore appears to be laying siege to the remaining bastion of cheap eating – the small food stall.
I am referring to the thousands of small eating places in neighbourhood coffee shops and hawker centres that traditionally provide cheap meals for the masses.
It is an institution that makes life in one of the most expensive cities in the world more livable.
Mostly run by families or individuals, these stalls dish out, for only a few dollars, some of the most exotic Asian dishes, with diversity unmatched in many other countries.
Even as the cost of living soars, the Singaporean’s daily meal remains within reach of most workers and students – thanks to these hawkers and a system.
For as little as S$3-S$5 (RM7-RM12) a dish, the average Singaporean can have a simple meal quickly every day – and at prices less than in most advanced Western cities.
Recently, a spate of reports indicated that this last bastion of cheap food is under siege by forces trying to push prices higher.
So far, the wall has largely stood firm – and Singaporeans can still have a meal for S$5 or S$6 (RM14) – but parts of it may have been breached.
The first threat is the growing number of corporate-run air-conditioned food courts that sell higher quality food at S$7-$10, (RM17-RM24) and eating into the hawkers’ profits.
These are pulling away professionals and white-collar workers so successfully that a few vendors are tempted to be a little too ambitious – selling food at restaurant prices.
A great deal of anger recently arose following reports that one stall was charging S$17 (RM40) for a bowl of laksa that normally costs S$3.
In exuberant mood, some other stalls have joined in – selling nasi padang at S$13 (RM31) and prawn noodle at S$11 (RM26), all unheard of until now.
The practice is being pushed in a few cases into the heartland hawker centres.
A Bedok stall reportedly charges S$6.60 (RM15.60) for a packet of nasi lemak, something that Bangladeshi workers perfunctorily pick up for S$1-S$1.20 (RM2.40-RM2.60) to bring to the worksite.
“I hope this is not trend-setting,” exclaimed a nurse, who almost has all her meals out.
“The day our hawkers start charging S$10 (RM24) for chicken rice, I’m done for!”
So far, not too many are following suit.
Most are level-headedly holding to their charges for fear of losing customers.
In perspective, most suburban food-stalls and coffeeshops are still selling chicken rice or laksa for S$3, and a cup of coffee for S$1.
This battle to draw the line is being watched with concern by Singaporeans.
The food stalls have been a government triumph from many years ago, started to replace an army of street vendors selling food house to house.
That Singapore could provide a worker’s meal for S$5 is really a bit of a wonder – considering the country imports 90% of its food needs.
But with the government’s preoccupation of maximising gross domestic product (GDP) growth, few are prepared to predict the future direction of the hawker stall and cheap meals.
At last count, some 13,500 licences had been granted to run shop-stalls (at privately-owned coffeeshops) and a further 14,100 given out to food stalls at 30 government-operated food centres.
A general fear is that, given the govt’s corporate-mindedness, it may one day transfer the whole food business to the private sector, and that could spell an end to the era of the S$3-S$5 meal.
One major threat is imported inflation. In recent weeks, a cup of coffee had risen by 10 to 20 cents, thanks to the global price hikes of sugar and coffee as well as oil.
Vendors, however, complain their woes are also largely caused by high rentals due to government policies.
Take my estate, where I have lived for 26 years.
In six months’ time, it will lose the third of its five coffeeshops, to make way for more profitable ventures.
Two others had closed their doors in as many years, one replaced by a bank and the other by a mini-mart, both of which had offered the owners higher rentals.
There has been little survey, and so it is not known how many of the 2,000 coffee shops in the republic have shared – or will share – this fate. In the corporate world, few people see these places as an important way of Singapore life.
To me, the coffeeshop is a Singapore institution for social bonding of residents – especially for retirees to meet and chat without costing an arm and a leg.
I don’t think it will ever become extinct, but what will disappear will be the simple creatures that offer cheap food for people with a modest income.
Many of these smaller food stalls, which have helped keep costs down for residents, are being ousted by bigger, stronger competitors who are not too shy about raising prices.
It is not just the slow passing of an era but the start of another – of a more lavish, materialistic lifestyle that has fuelled America’s financial woes.
A financially well-off friend told me this could not be avoided because higher prices are an indication of progress. But, I am not sure many Singaporeans judge things this way – definitely not for their daily meals, anyway.
by Seah Chiang Nee
Source: The Star Online
http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/01/10/cheap-meals-under-threat/
kpt oso not cheap liao
buy ingredients go home ownself cook oso asspensive
then how?
go home is surely cheaper, but add in the manhours/efforts, it may not be worth it but a healthier choice.
The first threat is the growing number of corporate-run air-conditioned food courts that sell higher quality food at S$7-$10, (RM17-RM24) and eating into the hawkers’ profits.
it is my opinion that corporate-run air-conditioned food courts usually sell lower quality mass-produced food.
It has increased over the years.
For instances, it cost about $3 for 1 meat + 2 veg. on the average.
The price might go up to $3.50 soon.
stop patronizing all these stalls.
we are feeding the greedy landlords.
my meal cost of the day:
Morning: a cup of kopi O or kopi: $0.90--$1
Ban Mian ~ $2.50 or Mixed Veg Rice ~ $2.70--$3 ( 2 veg 1 meat / 2 meat 1 veg )
Dinner eat at home
Lunch Box like those cute Japanese o-bento
Originally posted by mistyblue:Lunch Box like those cute Japanese o-bento
Japanese cute bento boxes are nice !!!
Originally posted by FireIce:kpt oso not cheap liao
buy ingredients go home ownself cook oso asspensive
then how?
depends how many persons. May end up paying more.. especially if your home has only 2 persons...
Originally posted by dragg:stop patronizing all these stalls.
we are feeding the greedy landlords.
what to do if your workplace is mostly surrounded by food courts??
Originally posted by The man who was death:what to do if your workplace is mostly surrounded by food courts??
There is 7 Eleven. Jia Lorti.
everyone think good location go kill and bid high rentals..
ends up e chain reaction.
in e 1st place, it's greed of wanting to secure e so called atas land.
this articles reminds me of food republic outlets, and the nex branch and the coffeeshops at serangoon ctrl fit into its description. btw i haven't patronise any food republic outlets for at least one year plus going two and i would say that it is the most 'not-too-shy' food court. anyway even if hawker centres stay, we are seeing more of those franchise-run stalls instead nowadays. (pontian wanton noodles anyone? 欣美porridge and many more i supposed.)
Originally posted by likeyou:It has increased over the years.
For instances, it cost about $3 for 1 meat + 2 veg. on the average.
The price might go up to $3.50 soon.
It is already 3.50 where i work... And the malay cai png now sells for $4..
And it is a non-airconditioned kopitiam ![]()
Food Republic one is diff. Very expensive all along one.
As for normal food.. Rice is expensive le. Not to say oil or wheat based items
%#&#^ lah...
the cost of the food is directly proportional to the cost of the rent..
think about it
Originally posted by The man who was death:what to do if your workplace is mostly surrounded by food courts??
our govt is to be blamed.
they're always thinking about money, money and money.
dont understand why our coffers need so much money.
Originally posted by dragg:our govt is to be blamed.
both
e govt knows e private developers would want these so called prime land.. so let them tender lor..
high bid, still get to collect property tax..
e best part, e bus interchange build so small until there's clusterfark at every single of these bus int. They want frequent buses, yet no parking space for buses. How ironic.
Originally posted by dragg:our govt is to be blamed.
is it the gabrament, or is it just the greed of the landlords?
i wager it's the latter
Originally posted by sbst275:Food Republic one is diff. Very expensive all along one.
As for normal food.. Rice is expensive le. Not to say oil or wheat based items
but food rep does bring you quality whether it's their decor or food(although ppl might disagree with this)
like shopping malls, nowadays with franchise, food courts are all the same... if you've seen one, you see them all.... so boring.... everything in Singapore is boring and costly
Even the school canteen also abit to a high side.
Min $2.50 per meal.
among the foodcourts in neighbourhoods pasir ris is one of the most expensive.
Govt leases the land at high price to the developers. So they collect back in terms of high rental. Then tenants charge high prices and peasants suffer.
11 years ago I was at clementi swimming complex. Went to the canteen for a coffee and chatted with the owner. He told me the rental was $9,000 a month! He makes about $10,000 plus net revenue. Looking from a business point of view, he has to work for free for $9000 before he even earns anything. And those of you who swim know how expensive their things are. Who benefits? SSC and of course the govt eventually.