Most hawkers these days are half past six. Even the ones at famous hawker centres are a big let down. Maybe we should have a list of these hawkers for a start....sigh but then again, who's one to wreck their rice bowls.
i dont trust those with certs.
i feel its the fault of those food programs that led to a lot of mediocre stalls getting recognitions they dont deserve.
Originally posted by MooKu:Feifei wanton mee sucks.
The mee tastes yucks , smells all the way like flour unlike other mee
fei fei is not bad lah
not horrible until cannot swallow
just not as good as ppl say
fei fei used to be tasty and the mee really tastes like mee in the past. Now standard drops
Well, how fei fei wanton mee will taste depends on where you tasted it, the 24 hour franchised one open by a bunch of chinese, the original one cooked only by the son who got passed down the recipe from his dad and only works a certain number of days, or his brother's one who opened his own 24 hour coffeeshop somewhere in ubi.
So if you based your decision that fei fei tastes like that because you ate at the 24 hour one at joo chiat opened by a bunch of chinese, all I can say is good for you.
so those good food are dissappearing now
Originally posted by dragg:i dont trust those with certs.
i feel its the fault of those food programs that led to a lot of mediocre stalls getting recognitions they dont deserve.
yeh some of those with certs, their food is mediocre. These hosts of food prog....they're also actors right? lol
Overated food Price in Hawker Centre
Latest update!!!
Vegetable Rice fro 1 veg and 1 meat
UP:$2.00
NOW:$2.20-$2.40
KFC... underrated..
Originally posted by Jiani:so those good food are dissappearing now
Overrated...house of crab at Serangoon/Yio Chu Kang road..
the pepper one is okay...the salted egg one...tough meat as hell..and both cost me and a friend $120.. and no, I will NOT go back there again -.-"
my house downstair zichar is wayyyyyy better than the house of crap.
Originally posted by BadzMaro:KFC... underrated..
lol...tell my friend who apparently ate some green coloured chicken!
I would totally skip expensive places like Newton.
At least when cheap-average places are good, it's a surprise. When expensive places suck, the joke is really on you.
Like buying durians, sometimes the $1 ones surprise you.
Originally posted by alize:I would totally skip expensive places like Newton.
At least when cheap-average places are good, it's a surprise. When expensive places suck, the joke is really on you.
Like buying durians, sometimes the #1 ones surprise you.
Newton has a number of nice yummy food stalls, cuttlefish kangkong, fried carrot cake, ....... cannot remember the others I ate.
Originally posted by LOTUSfairy:Overrated...house of crab at Serangoon/Yio Chu Kang road..
the pepper one is okay...the salted egg one...tough meat as hell..and both cost me and a friend $120.. and no, I will NOT go back there again -.-"
my house downstair zichar is wayyyyyy better than the house of crap.
If so screwed up, then why that place is forever crowded at night? lol
taste is subjective wat
u like does not mean other ppl like
u dun like does not mean other ppl no like
Originally posted by Rock^Star:If so screwed up, then why that place is forever crowded at night? lol
How about this Punggol Nasi Lemak at Tanjong Katong Road?
Always has a long queue and one plate can easily hit $8.
But you see the reviews... obviously they are relying on some reputation that dunno come from where.
http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/ponggol_nasi_lemak_centre_tanjong_katong/
well, true and not true..
its advertised heavily on media and the chief chef used to do very well at his precious shop (where he worked)..their pepper crab supposed to be very good one., naturally people will flock in and try.
maybe their salted egg may not be their specialty bah...my friend and I were very surprised at their standard lor.. .....1 medium size for black pepper and 1 small for salted... and it proved to usm very costly meal indeed.....
oh yah, they are now advertising on Deal...... 50% off !!
if no signboard opens up next to them, keeping their grade (like they did at race course road), everybody will rush to No signboard for the white pepper crabs :)
at least it is succulent and finger licking good :)
Originally posted by alize:How about this Punggol Nasi Lemak at Tanjong Katong Road?
But you see the reviews... obviously they are relying on some reputation that dunno come from where.
http://www.hungrygowhere.com/singapore/ponggol_nasi_lemak_centre_tanjong_katong/
not tried that before, but I do patronised the Upper Serangoon one...
super attitude till one of the guy at the q nearly raised his fist at the old auntie..cos the old auntie rebuked the guy rudely : dun want chilli, better dun come eat!
wah kazo..what kind of remark is that...? is not everybody can take spicy chilli mah...
and yes, we will not go to this shop too..
Originally posted by alize:I would totally skip expensive places like Newton.
Like buying durians, sometimes the $1 ones surprise you.
this i agree :) some cheapo durian do really taste good :D
especially if u are a regular and the durian uncle sayang u :)
Originally posted by alize:How about this Punggol Nasi Lemak at Tanjong Katong Road?
$8!! Ha! No way man. The word katong laksa, no one can stake a claim to its copyright. Likewise for Punggol. Very dubious and $8 can buy me 2 plates of very delicious (and huge) beef hor fun opposite alexandra hospital.
Crabs in singapore are overrated and overly expensive. There are similar crab dishes like that in Indonesia that sells for one-tenth the price.