By Wayne Chan | Posted: 02 December 2011 1626 hrs
SINGPORE: The public
can have a say and share ideas on the hawker centres that the
government is building in the new housing estates.
A 19-member
panel appointed by the Ministry of the Environment and Water Resources
is spearheading the public consultation exercise for ideas.
It has launched a Facebook page at www.facebook.com/myhawkercentre.
The panel is chaired by Ms Elim Chew, founder of teenage streetwear chain, 77th Street.
She
said: "Hawker centres are a way of preserving Singapore's food culture
and heritage. People visit these centres not only for convenient meals,
but also for economical and good food.
"Besides this, we hope
hawker centres can play a role in promoting social responsibility by
providing opportunities for social enterprises to achieve their
objectives.
"We want to perpetuate this unique Singapore icon and
we hope that the public can participate in our Facebook activities and
discussions to provide their views on, and ideas for, hawker centres of
the future."
Its members have been chosen for their knowledge and
expertise in the fields of architecture, environmental sustainability
and social enterprise, as well as food and beverage management.
They
include KF Seetoh, who's best known for the food guidebook Makansutra,
Danny Chong of the Hawkers Association and Tan Puay Hoon, President of
the Restroom Association Singapore.
The panel has met twice and shared ideas on management models to ensure that hawker food remains affordable.
Members have discussed infrastructure and design improvements that'll make hawker centres cleaner, more hygienic and efficient.
They've
also looked at how hawker centres can be vibrant social spaces where
Singaporeans can come together to enjoy affordable food.
The
panel hopes to promote social responsibility through these new hawker
centres, such as providing employment for the disabled or helping people
set up small businesses.
The group is expected to complete its consultation work by the end of January 2012.
It'll review public feedback and make recommendations to the government.
In
October, the government announced that 10 more hawker centres will be
built over the next decade, in response to calls over the years for more
such centres.
Since the last hawker centre was built in 1985,
the government has focused on upgrading and rejuvenating existing hawker
centres.
The government will resume building hawker centres in
new towns, such as Pasir Ris and Punggol and work with the Housing Board
(HDB) to set aside space for these hawker centres every time a new
development comes up.
Construction of the first hawker centre - at Bukit Panjang - will begin in 2012. It will also include a wet market.
The members of the panel are:
1. Ms Elim Chew, Founder, 77th Street
2. Ms Teo Mee Hong, Executive Director, Social Enterprise Association
3. Mr Danny Chong, Representative, Hawkers Association
4. Mr KF Seetoh, Founder, Makansutra
5. Mr Perry Ong, CEO, NTUC Foodfare Cooperative Ltd
6. Mr Benny Se Teo, Director, Eighteen Chefs
7. Ms Sim Sin Sin, CEO, Laksania
8. Ms Tan Puay Hoon, President, Restroom Association Singapore
9. Mr Mark Cheng, Executive Director, Avelife Foundation
10. Mr Ashvin Kumar, President, Singapore Institute of Architects
11. Mr Chua Seow Ann, Principal Architect, S A Chua & Associates
12. Mr John Ting, Principal Architect, AIM & Associates
13. Dr Wong Chiang Yin, President (International Business), Thomson Medical Centre
14. Mr Sunny Koh, Managing Director, Chinatown Food
15. Mr Pang Lim, Managing Director, Koufu
16. Ms Stephanie Cheo, Managing Director, Flame Tree Communications Pte Ltd
17. Ms Eva Tay Han Ying, General Manager (Business Development), Econ Healthcare Group
18. Mr Tan Wah Yeow, Deputy Managing Partner, KPMG
19. Dr William Wan, General Secretary, Singapore Kindness Movement
- CNA
这些家伙 eat at food centres mah?
why don't have breadtalk CEO in the list?
After one year of discussing, the panel concludes that hawker centres are fine just the way they are. ![]()
I hope they won't make us queue up for our drinks.
NTUC Food Fare, must queue for a lousy cup of tay,
yar! Those uncles and aunties behind the counter are so slow
That time the xmm infront of me buy tissue paper, took so long lah!! Kopitiam one is the best~ very fast and efficient
Foodcourt food getting damn expensive.
Now yong tau hu is 60 cents per piece.
I thought they stuffed scallops into the tao hu so I looked carefully. ![]()
just build the hawker centre the way they used to.
so much wayang for what?
what we want is reasonably priced food. down with all the stupid and expensive food courts that serve mediocre good at high prices.
Originally posted by dragg:just build the hawker centre the way they used to.
so much wayang for what?
what we want is reasonably priced food. down with all the stupid and expensive food courts that serve mediocre good at high prices.
They never focus on the high price issue. Never. Evade. Evade. Evade.
Will the committee look into skyrocketing rentals?
Or is it OOB? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Will the committee look into skyrocketing rentals?
Or is it OOB?
we all know who is the biggest landlord.
just need to follow their style
cheaper, better, faster.
Design Your Own Country is taking shape....but only the miscellaneous stuffs like hawker centres...toilets...etc....the people want greater participation in matters affecting livelihoods....
When is my $10 laksa arriving??!?!?!
Originally posted by charlize:Will the committee look into skyrocketing rentals?
Or is it OOB?
The stall holders will be engineered into the lower middle income or below bracket. Rent and other operating costs will be used to achieve this.
NTUC foodfare work on the different business model where by most of the food stalls cooker are employed by NTUC. Where as kopitiam, it's on a lease and rent basis where most individual hawkers are self-employed.
NTUC owns some shops or property for food business, and are the landlord, not the operator. The stalls in these shops always just manage to survive.
The food court at my place, is leased by NTUC from the HDB. TheNTUC then sub out to the operators. Change operators about four time the last 10 years.
mancha,, between NTUC foodfare, Kopitiam, and Koufu, which one is your favourite?
I think should make it public
Then have those small shops... Cheaper place to buy toiletries... I know it's not as popular w/ the youngster as they want aircon places...
But I still want to find cheaper toiletries.
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:mancha,, between NTUC foodfare, Kopitiam, and Koufu, which one is your favourite?
Of the three I prefer Kopitiam.
But for food courts, I prefer Banquet.
Originally posted by mancha:Of the three I prefer Kopitiam.
But for food courts, I prefer Banquet.
I stay near jurong point, the banquet there always very full ![]()
I like the vivo concept where they put kopitiam and banquet side-by-side~
Originally posted by sbst275:I think should make it public
Then have those small shops... Cheaper place to buy toiletries... I know it's not as popular w/ the youngster as they want aircon places...
But I still want to find cheaper toiletries.
Oi!
We are talking about hawker centres and foodcourts.
Where did your toiletries come from? ![]()
i like kopitiam and banquet
eh, banquet still alive?
food republic is kill ppl set fire.
Originally posted by FireIce:just need to follow their style
cheaper, better, faster.
your answer is.... ![]()

Banquet Kopitiam still around....
they are in Vivo City, Woodlands Square....