Tau huey is a delicate dish... Ignorant, snobbish French... Chinese cuisine is still top cuisine!!!!
When is the dinner date ah???
Tat day I ask everyone I know to wear all black...
our own "Makan ala Noir"...
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:When is the dinner date ah???
Tat day I ask everyone I know to wear all black...
七月�五 lor.
普 渡 dinner .
cancel or cook curry
Friday ah... Black day it shall be...
My black food recommendations:
Charred kway teow
kopi o
kit kat
chin chow
hokkien mee
cai tao kway
bak kut teh
braise trotter
kway chap
Black does not look good on my skin tone....
venue?
If they didnt over-react and clarified thier local food, they would have had time however difficult it is to match wine with local food, they would've been able to impress.
E.g Tau Huay not too soupy but with dessert wine that is slightly higher in acid due to the soy paste and the subtle sweetness that flows from the after taste that will leave u that slight tangy zesty feeling.
Diner En Blanc is after... , themed accordingly
Originally posted by BadzMaro:If they didnt over-react and clarified thier local food, they would have had time however difficult it is to match wine with local food, they would've been able to impress.
E.g Tau Huay not too soupy but with dessert wine that is slightly higher in acid due to the soy paste and the subtle sweetness that flows from the after taste that will leave u that slight tangy zesty feeling.
Diner En Blanc is after... , themed accordingly
true , somrtimes its not the food itself but the presentation n rhyme . wen french cuisine is exaggerated n local foods r just too humble
Originally posted by FireIce:
Basically, it's the local organizers who are at fault, deprecating local cuisine as being not as 'high-class' as foreign cuisine.
I find such an attitude disgusting, especially since what is high-class to one is simple fare to others. For example, ratatouille is an exotic dish to us Singaporeans, but in France, it's peasant food.
In the end, what really matters is the significance and the meaning of the food that you bring. If you just half-ass it and buy a packet of chicken rice on the way to Diner en Blanc, then of course that is not the way to go. All it means is that you can pay others to cook your food for you.
Rather, if you spend the day before cooking chicken rice using a recipe passed down from your grandmother, then it means that you are honouring both family and heritage by bringing your own home-cooked chicken rice. In the end, these are the things that properly signify good food: what the food really means to you.
That was a concept that the local organizers could not grasp, and they are rightly being castigated for not being able to understand a concept that the movie Ratatouille showed so beautifully.
One thing I can say is, the PR company damn jialat.
Like wat I told others: Imagine a friend invite you to his/her wedding, then later tells you, "Oh sorry, no space so you are not invited anymore". How would u feel?
And the the clarification, I've gone and look at the others Diner En Blanc held at other countries. Some of them include french toast and other food which are not white. The "white part" only comes when Danial wrote his post (which was the one that sparked the whole fire).
Problem comes when the PR company just wrote to Daniel, asking him to removed his post. Even if his post is wrong, at least tell him, then ask him to amend. Not just lazily ask him to delete. To make matters more worse, they simply "uninvite" him due to the lack of space. Even if lack of space, make 1~ Since they already know got storm brewing in the blogsphere and internet, why make matter worse by being inconsiderate and insensitive?
PR company shld be engaging, not just ask people to write then fullstop. When problem rises, they shld clarify and amend, not just lazily take the easiest way out. And when things get out of hand, they try to hide behind by saying it's the organiser decision. Whether true or not, I dunno. But it is true that the PR company failed to convey the words and reasoning what the organiser told them to.
In short I think the PR company really damn jialat... No difference from those people who spams forums with shytty quality, and often wrong, advertisement...
Originally posted by lce:true , somrtimes its not the food itself but the presentation n rhyme . wen french cuisine is exaggerated n local foods r just too humble
I think some people failed to understand the theme and then another party over-reacted or vice versa. Hell... and PR company ? Fail on what their title suggests. It is called Diner en Blanc. My understanding is that its a chic picnic. We all know how the French are, the concept of course meals. Refined setting. Dining and wining. It could've been an opportunity if people really wanted, to to show case local food in another way under a different setting.
Maybe next round, local dishes can east meets west. Accompanied by selection wines specifically catered to suit the local food. Magnifique. Mmmm... a great idea that is! =D
The hardest part is matching the palate.
raining now
i wonder if it will be shifted indoors
or called off?
eat with white umbrella...
I'm pretty sure alot of ppl is wishing for a huge torrential storm now ![]()
lol...
Side bets anyone ?
Haha! Underwear must be white too. Else white and wet will see through(",)
i luff at them...
For those who go.. please get a French passport.
so where is the place ah?