organisers apologized and published separately a 500 word confession addressing to dear singapore
**UPDATE: OFFICIAL STATEMENT**
Wednesday, 29 August 2012
Dear Singapore,
We wish to thank everyone for their comments and point-of-view. We love that people are so passionate about food and care about their cuisine. We identify with that too; investing time and effort into embracing food that we love with people we care about in a special setting is what we're all about. People have shared the food that they care about at our events all over the world: food of different colours, cultures and tastes. All that we ask is that it's tendered with care and devotion, and fit for a memorable occasion. It's this spirit that is central to our experience and what has made our event so popular with people around the world.
We have watched this debate unfold and are overwhelmed by the discussion. For our part, we regret the confusion that has spread in relation to the food people might bring. We provide guidelines to the organisers in each city we enter – guidelines that are aligned to our history and values, but broad enough to encourage the incorporation of local culture and customs and of course, food. It's clear that the guidelines were misconstrued and mistakes were made in the way they were communicated. The Singapore organisers have accepted responsibility for this. The most serious error involved a comment – posted on Facebook – that said local food wasn't welcome. This was wrong and was withdrawn, corrected and apologies tendered; however, the damage lingers. This is the cause of much regret and disappointment. When people are so passionate and when food is so central, mistakes can be amplified and even the very best intentions misread. As one commentator has said; food should unite not divide. In that we completely agree. We will review the way we communicate our guidelines.
We are in Singapore now to prepare for what will be a wonderful occasion. As part of this, we'd like to again clarify our stance – though we accept some people's views have hardened on what has become a sensitive issue. All food is welcome – of whatever background or taste – though we do encourage guests to have an investment in their meal and for it to be special to them. We're sure there are many Singaporean dishes that meet these criteria but ultimately this is a personal choice – your choice – and we embrace that. We offer this guidance because we know from experience that people genuinely enjoy investing time in food of quality, food they care about, and this is what makes Diner en Blanc such a wonderful experience.
So for those that are joining us – thank you for welcoming us to this wonderful food city. For those upset and offended still, we respect your passion for all things Singapore and we hope in years to come we can find a way to come together at future Diner en Blanc events and celebrate our shared love of food, good company and occasion.
Aymeric and Sandy from Dîner en Blanc International.
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Damage done, cancellation of the event might be good for all.
The organizers are right. It is an ang mo event and they should stick to their format, or cancell it. But that would not look good, so they apologize. Bo pian. Just bear with it and next year they won't come again.
Now their event will be rojak. Ang mo eat a little bit, talk alot. Asians will be too busy eating to talk.
Since they are ang mo, and they are bringing their event to multi racial Singapore, they should be allowed to set their rules. Not good for us to tell them "No, you come here you follow our custom." Oktoberfest you drink Chinese wine makan nasi briyani? Singapore is a pot puri of distinct cultures.
They should have stipulated, western style food, and manners right from the begining.
Indian lady to wear white sari, means she is a widow, how is she to go with her husband. So the dress code should be better spelled out.
If you watch YouTube you see all sitting down, talking, and supposedly eating.
Asians are groupies, and prefering round tables and sharing food.
ikea must be wondering how come suddenly so many ppl go there buy white tables and chairs.
i wonder hw much each person paid for this dinner.
saw some pix.
many locals yo.
Let's create a Dîner en Noir, so that we can have some kind of tau huay buffet.
Even the PM ate the tau huey on Makan Day brought to him by Mr Brown. For once, he behaves like a son of Singapore. Salute.
(Update: He just replied on Twitter that he enjoyed the tau huey. Good to know, haha! "@leehsienloong: @mrbrown Thanks for the tau huey. It was good – smooth texture and just the right sweetness. Hope you enjoyed the tea. - LHL".)
Originally posted by FireIce:ikea must be wondering how come suddenly so many ppl go there buy white tables and chairs.
i wonder hw much each person paid for this dinner.
saw some pix.
many locals yo.
like you said, the big winner here is IKEA
AHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! ![]()
Originally posted by Clivebenss:Even the PM ate the tau huey on Makan Day brought to him by Mr Brown. For once, he behaves like a son of Singapore. Salute.
(Update: He just replied on Twitter that he enjoyed the tau huey. Good to know, haha! "@leehsienloong: @mrbrown Thanks for the tau huey. It was good – smooth texture and just the right sweetness. Hope you enjoyed the tea. - LHL".)
It says a lot that the PM endorsed Makan Day instead of Diner en Blanc.
makanday got more publicity than DeB
so the story of makan day is wat ah?
after DeB de news came out, singaporeans did their own makan day rite? then PM so free to join as well???
actually I roughly heard abt the makan day, but dunno when or where or how to sign up... or is it invite only?
calls up kfc 2353535......one barrel original & crispy.
ur lumber wrong leh.
SHOCKING NEWS
Originally posted by FireIce:ur lumber wrong leh.
Maybe he fell asleep in the 90's and woke up this week.
Makan Day the focus is on food, glorious food.
DeB the focus is on networking and social grace, the food is secondary.
Originally posted by mancha:Makan Day the focus is on food, glorious food.
DeB the focus is on networking and social grace, the food is secondary.
they can fark off
Originally posted by TehJarVu:
they can fark off
Who Mr Brown or the Frog?
Originally posted by mancha:Who Mr Brown or the Frog?
DeB
Originally posted by FireIce:DeB de food must be gt put in effort to prep one.
I saw some ppl brought wine.
did they prep it themselves?
i saw french loaf
i can see that tau huay is white but french loaf is brown
the white food is not compulsory lah
it's the joke
tts why somehow kena miscomm
on social media, i see more happy faces with makanday than DeB
Originally posted by FireIce:the white food is not compulsory lah
it's the joke
tts why somehow kena miscomm
on social media, i see more happy faces with makanday than DeB
DeB rules says bring food you make yourself.
French loaf make or buy one. Tau huay self make or buy one. Also items like roast duck definitely buy one.
DeB also expect a certain class and etiquette, there is no doubt about that.
But Singaporeans like to eat and phui the bones on to the table, reason it is more important to taste the delicious food than to bother about manners.
Certain people in Singapore would like DeB, certain people should eat at home.
Damage en Blanc.
Originally posted by mancha:DeB rules says bring food you make yourself.
French loaf make or buy one. Tau huay self make or buy one. Also items like roast duck definitely buy one.
DeB also expect a certain class and etiquette, there is no doubt about that.
But Singaporeans like to eat and phui the bones on to the table, reason it is more important to taste the delicious food than to bother about manners.
Certain people in Singapore would like DeB, certain people should eat at home.
so french will swallow the bones?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
so french will swallow the bones?
They will mash it into paste, mix it with pinot noir, then sauteed it.