Haha, my topic scored 0 reply. Ok, I went for the tea appreciation and learnt that tea got 4 kind:Originally posted by FreeToFly:Yo,
Anyone interested in Tea Appreciation, I need 5 people to form a class. I am going this Saturday noon for tea and Tim Sum :-) I already have 3 confirmed.
I am planning to buy 1 set....so far I just bought the office all in 1 set which is easier to use....not so Ma Fan.Originally posted by FireIce:did u buy ur own tea set to practise at home?
my fren got this relli cool piece.......
spend so long to do all the steps.....tamazde one sip finish liao.......
I take a class in Tanjong Pagar opposite Yakun. Don't know whether got better one or not, but I find the class is good.Originally posted by gasband:woh cool...
well where did you go for this tea appreciation and who conducted it?
White tea has gained quite alot of popularity recently due to its supposed goods that it does to your body, better than green tea, or so as claimed. It also has the taste closest to the natural tea leaves.
Both green and white tea are unfermented tea but white tea seems to have the upper hand due to lesser processing, it is not rolled and just steam or wither then dry unlike green tea which is withered, dried, rolled, then dried again. Because of lesser processing, it supposed gives a better taste.
Yet, i think tea is pretty much an acquired taste and also pretty much misunderstood. Many people complained abt the bad aftertaste tea gives but most of time, it is because we infused the tea leaves or bags for too long, thats why the 'tanin' taste.
Enjoy ur tea![]()
Jasmine tea is Jasmine flower added to tea. Japanese one with grains in them? Is that white tea?Originally posted by MooKu:I like jasmine tea most... and that japanese one, with all the grains in them...
Earl Grey is a kind of Black tea which has Bergamot Oil sprayed on it. Try Darjeeling tea, the 'Champagne' of tea. You may like it.Originally posted by FreeToFly:I take a class in Tanjong Pagar opposite Yakun. Don't know whether got better one or not, but I find the class is good.
Well, if it is about taste, I guess more youngsters will prefer coffee over tea............but for health and beauty reason *I am vain*, there is a good reason to drink more Green Tea or even White Tea. There are 4 kinds of tea and they are come from different part of a tea plant and there is only 1 species of tea plant on earth, regardlesss it is grown in Sri Langka or China. Black tea which is the normal tea we buy from the market is mostly roasted and smoke. Earl Grey is an example. Oolong are half roasted. Green tea is the hand pluck with 1 bud and 2 leaves. White tea is only the bud and is hand pluck as well.
Whatever it is, I just want to drink more White Tea to look younger![]()
and sorry i may have misunderstood u but all kinds of tea is from the tea leaves of the tea plant alone. The only difference is the plantation it is harvested from and the processes it goes thru. Different bushes on the same plantation can give you different quality and grades of tea.Originally posted by FreeToFly:I take a class in Tanjong Pagar opposite Yakun. Don't know whether got better one or not, but I find the class is good.
Well, if it is about taste, I guess more youngsters will prefer coffee over tea............but for health and beauty reason *I am vain*, there is a good reason to drink more Green Tea or even White Tea. There are 4 kinds of tea and they are come from different part of a tea plant and there is only 1 species of tea plant on earth, regardlesss it is grown in Sri Langka or China. Black tea which is the normal tea we buy from the market is mostly roasted and smoke. Earl Grey is an example. Oolong are half roasted. Green tea is the hand pluck with 1 bud and 2 leaves. White tea is only the bud and is hand pluck as well.
Whatever it is, I just want to drink more White Tea to look younger![]()
Yah.......but black tea is collected by machine.....so the stems are swept in as well. That was how I understand it.Originally posted by gasband:Earl Grey is a kind of Black tea which has Bergamot Oil sprayed on it. Try Darjeeling tea, the 'Champagne' of tea. You may like it.
True if you are talking abt cheap black tea....like those normal black tea we drink in the market. Those like in the Darjeeling plantations are hand plucked thats why expensive hehehehe but anyway, i can tell you its true that most people wud choose coffee over tea and its a shame that I am one of them hahaha...but i still love tea but not as much as coffeeOriginally posted by FreeToFly:Yah.......but black tea is collected by machine.....so the stems are swept in as well. That was how I understand it.
Hi coolger03.....may be tea can help your appetite...haha, hey do you think tea can be modernised.....since we have coffee and cafe....and may be tea and modern tea house for the youngsters.....??Originally posted by coolger03:wah! tea appreciation!! hehe
used to have a fav cha guan in chinatown one.... but very sad... they closed down liao... or shift to dunno where... hai... their nor mai gai quite nice....
but anyway, liked there as i can always go there, sit long long with frens and chit chat... love the long jing there...
actually, some tea are nice leh... it's really what ppl describe as gan tian.... when u swallow it, u can feel the sweetness in the throat... that's the type i like... hehe...
what kind of chinese tea u like?Originally posted by coolger03:wah! tea appreciation!! hehe
used to have a fav cha guan in chinatown one.... but very sad... they closed down liao... or shift to dunno where... hai... their nor mai gai quite nice....
but anyway, liked there as i can always go there, sit long long with frens and chit chat... love the long jing there...
actually, some tea are nice leh... it's really what ppl describe as gan tian.... when u swallow it, u can feel the sweetness in the throat... that's the type i like... hehe...
Originally posted by FreeToFly:Hi coolger03.....may be tea can help your appetite...haha, hey do you think tea can be modernised.....since we have coffee and cafe....and may be tea and modern tea house for the youngsters.....??
hmm... long jing?? think it's mainly those non-fermanted one...Originally posted by gasband:what kind of chinese tea u like?
Experienced this before, eat 2 plates of chicken rice and 1 can of green tea......so bloated whole night cannot sleep.....think chicken rice and green tea doesn't go too well for me........you allegic to caffeine lah......if you drink NYDC elephantcino you will surely puke....Originally posted by coolger03:will it?? but then hor, last time i got try to drink green tea after lunch... but in the end, i feel so bloated and wants to puke instead leh... that was teh last time i drink those green tea liao....
haha.. i dun go for coffee.. drank once b4 and got headache straight after... hehe...
modern tea house will be good but i think unless someone managed to make tea hip, and to promote tea appreciation to youngster.. if not will be difficult leh....
erm.. could it be the 2 plates of chicken rice that makes u bloated?? hehehe.... but i dun mean those canned green tea leh... it's the teabag type...Originally posted by FreeToFly:Experienced this before, eat 2 plates of chicken rice and 1 can of green tea......so bloated whole night cannot sleep.....think chicken rice and green tea doesn't go too well for me........you allegic to caffeine lah......if you drink NYDC elephantcino you will surely puke....
Yalor, I was thinking of promoting the product for beauty reason....you know lah........can attract girls mah :-) I was told either Estee/Origin has this cosmetic product that has either White Tea in it......
oh ok long jing is basically a kind of green tea...nice tea...Originally posted by coolger03:hmm... long jing?? think it's mainly those non-fermanted one...
but usually also got drink jasmine...
tie guan ying reminds me of bai-bai tea... so dun really like... but realise that there are some japanese restrurant that serves tie guan ying![]()
wah looks like you are into tea huh hahahaha....Originally posted by FreeToFly:Experienced this before, eat 2 plates of chicken rice and 1 can of green tea......so bloated whole night cannot sleep.....think chicken rice and green tea doesn't go too well for me........you allegic to caffeine lah......if you drink NYDC elephantcino you will surely puke....
Yalor, I was thinking of promoting the product for beauty reason....you know lah........can attract girls mah :-) I was told either Estee/Origin has this cosmetic product that has either White Tea in it......
prefer those with subtle taste... strong tea like a bit too bitter liao...Originally posted by gasband:oh ok long jing is basically a kind of green tea...nice tea...
Jasmine is tea with flowers....
and Tie Guan Ying is a kind of Oolong tea...so i guess you cannot take strong tea....
Originally posted by coolger03:Well, after that incident got a few similar one....1 plate with 1 can.......although not as bad....
erm.. could it be the [b]2 plates of chicken rice that makes u bloated?? hehehe.... but i dun mean those canned green tea leh... it's the teabag type...
hehehe.. yah.. i know i dun react to caffaine well... that's why i'm always drinking chocolate or milo...
hmm... cosmetic product... so cannot be eaten one is it?? keke...
but u really like tea a lot huh? hehe[/b]