Perhaps like what U say is personal preference. But on the general , how do U feel the whole chinese and cantopop music scene progress from 80s to 90s to 2000s?Originally posted by Looking 4 Trouble:Packaging or not, preference is something that you cannot force. Thus, the comparison is only with reference to your personnal preference. I will always prefer Leslie Cheung to Jeff Chang, Alan Tam to Andy Lau, Sam Hui to Ah Niu. Your so-called 'shi li' is dependent on the views.
-----
I'm Looking 4 Trouble, where are you?![]()
Yes. U are right. There will bound to be different genre of music in different periods of time. Definitely there will be comparison to see how to improve the current thing. Its not only in music. It can go to all sort of things. Transport, housing, politics etc. Yes, perhaps U are right. U should appreciate what music there is today. If no comparison work is done between the good and the bad of the past n present of what to retain n eliminate. In the future it still the same.Originally posted by Looking 4 Trouble:Archilles, I'm not in favour of R&B, rap and hip hop but I'm slowly learning to appreciate what music there is today. You learn to adapt, you don't learn to contrast and compare or you'll never get satisfied. If you ask me, they are of different genre of music and should not be compared.
-----
I'm Looking 4 Trouble, where are you?![]()
Really...?Originally posted by Archilles:Thats right...I always have old momories when I listened to these songs. New songs can't. Most of the singers nowadays either know how to rap or R & B thats all. Not much quality.
They're generally of different style... How to compare...?Originally posted by Archilles:Perhaps like what U say is personal preference. But on the general , how do U feel the whole chinese and cantopop music scene progress from 80s to 90s to 2000s?![]()
Second tat; Jacky sang much better than Jay chou in "Xing Qing" Damn solid man. Anyway as someone has already mentioned; just removed the music and sing the unplugged. Think not many singers nowadays can do it; if there is any at all....Originally posted by RagingWhirlWind:sorry if u did listen to Jacky Cheung new concert cd " Huo Chu Sheng Ming Live Yan Chang Hui " he did sing a jay chou "Xing Qing" its nicer than how jay sing lo.. inside that cd he sing alot of other people song.. like ai heng jian dan etc... very good.. go buy it !! i think Jacky Cheung is the greatest chinese singer ever alive.. his voice damn ho !! why dun u ask jay sing jacky cheung song.. see nice bo.. i doubt so... Jacky Cheung is the shi li pai ge shou !! having sing abt 20 years.. hes still as great man..
"Xing Qing" is not one of Jay's outstanding pieces..Originally posted by ernie77:Second tat; Jacky sang much better than Jay chou in "Xing Qing" Damn solid man. Anyway as someone has already mentioned; just removed the music and sing the unplugged. Think not many singers nowadays can do it; if there is any at all....
You can compared their singing techniques, popularity, packaging or whatever factors U can think of. Jacky Cheung, Andy Lau, Sammi Cheng etc Vs Jay Chou, Jolin Tsai, 5566, Energy, Twins etc.....Originally posted by Devil1976:They're generally of different style... How to compare...?
It's like if I ask you... Is Hip pop, Jazz, Waltz, R&B, house or Rap better...? How do you think you can answer me....?
There're alot more I can tell you and might have said... But it's really kinda off the topic liao... Plus the fact that I'm generally lazy... So... Whatever you people like to comment lor...?![]()
Singing techniques for different kinda schools would be different... Rap has its own style... R&B... Hip Hop... Jazz and soul... More sentimental singings...? Different... Like comparing eggs taste better or vegetables..? Or meats...?Originally posted by Archilles:You can compared their singing techniques, popularity, packaging or whatever factors U can think of. Jacky Cheung, Andy Lau, Sammi Cheng etc Vs Jay Chou, Jolin Tsai, 5566, Energy, Twins etc.....
pls call jacky to sing 'long quan' or 'ren zhe'.Originally posted by ernie77:Second tat; Jacky sang much better than Jay chou in "Xing Qing" Damn solid man. Anyway as someone has already mentioned; just removed the music and sing the unplugged. Think not many singers nowadays can do it; if there is any at all....
Originally posted by Archilles:I must agree. I also bought that album. Some of the songs he sing even better than the original singers.![]()
But you still have to admire his courage to sing a women's song rite. There are seldom male singer who dare to sing female songs. But "ting hai" is quite a nice song.Originally posted by fugue:Not realli...I still prefer faye wong's original version of "yue ding". It's sweet...
That song should not be sang by a male, it's a women's song!