models are good for certain probsOriginally posted by thoreldan:model is a good way to visualise problem.
pri sch kids might not understand the a,b,c's in algebra
yah true.Originally posted by WoShiNoobie:Man... your dad is destroying you... But... what did you say to him to get him to complete your work?![]()
Lmfao... Then I think there might only be one or maybe 0 secondary school pupil...Originally posted by thoreldan:Should teach calculus in Pri One![]()
This qn very tricky. I forget Ali & Ben Same amount ==> this line i useOriginally posted by FireIce:a + b + j = $1050
a = b
=> a + a + j = $1050
2a + j = $1050
j = $1050 - 2a
j + $50 + $50 = 5(a - $50)
j + $100 = 5a - $250
j = 5a - $350
$1050 - 2a = 5a - $350
7a = $1400
a = $200b = $200
j = $650
at least you have ruler now. when i was young, i used pencil box to draw lines most of the time..not because poor, but ruler lent lent...disappear.Originally posted by FadeToBlack:I got to struggle and use the algebra when my bro teach me and he dunno models...
yah.....p5 or p6.......but the kids are oredi too used to drawing models oredi....tot every maths prob oso use models........takes quite some time for them to accept algebraOriginally posted by xian89:btw... if I not wrong, now P5 got learn algebra liao right...
I remember my days, I learn algebra in sec 1.
3 eqn 3 unknown mah so easy use matlab lor if too lazy to do algebraic manipulation.Originally posted by technoboy:ali, ben and jialu have $1050 altogether
ali and ben have an equal amount of money
if both give jialu $50 each
jialu will have 5 times as much money as each of them
how much does ben and jialu have at 1st?
Anyone can solve them?? I cant get the ans... Lol...
siao.Originally posted by hisoka:3 eqn 3 unknown mah so easy use matlab lor if too lazy to do algebraic manipulation.
fi jie,dunnid to sae until so complicated deOriginally posted by FireIce:a + b + j = $1050
a = b
=> a + a + j = $1050
2a + j = $1050
j = $1050 - 2a
j + $50 + $50 = 5(a - $50)
j + $100 = 5a - $250
j = 5a - $350
$1050 - 2a = 5a - $350
7a = $1400
a = $200b = $200
j = $650
hehe sorry was doing a 5 unknown tut so abit siao, but seriously that one not hard in fact can straight away became only 2 unknowns dun even need to use the 3rd unknown, but if use graph i dunno le 15 years ago things cant rememberOriginally posted by the.raven:siao.![]()