Agree.Originally posted by gentlerock:Often, marriages fail because people only look out for the fairytale part and forget about the real part of it. While marriage is often based on love, it also often takes many other aspects (other than love) to hold it together long term.
I'm not qualifed to tell how to make a marriage last a lifetime. However, I dare claim to be qualified to say that the chances of an unstable marriage will be very high, if entered with a pessimistic mentality.
That's a nice way to put itOriginally posted by boyish love:sometimes u must try it yourself. no risk no gain
be brave and not be put off by whats happening around you. at least when u die, u can proudly say u have one more experience.![]()
Your argument is highly flawed. Since you used mothers as example, I'll go along that line.Originally posted by Origami:To remain in love for more than 10 yrs impossible? Dun tell me u dun love ur mother anymore? I'm sure u're more than 10 yrs old rite? Dun tell me u're gonna go running to other women n call them mother? Sorry if I offended u, not trying to say anything about anybody's mother. Just using mothers as eg cos they're the closest woman to most men's heart.
old liao all will turn ugly lei..Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:same 1 for 60 years see whether you sian anot...
tats why its necessary to find a gd looking life partner..
if not u see ugly face for life..![]()
i dont agree. it is true that men are by nature easy tempted. to say that men are promiscuous is a bit too extreme. all men are guilty of ogling and fantasizing. but physically doing it is another matter altogether. it all depends on the individual. i have friends in their late 30s, straight and healthy. still are 'virgins'. it is indeed true that however pretty the wife, it is only a matter of time that the man will get tired of her looks, but not tired of her. mind you! this is why it is important to find a man who loves you......Originally posted by Exhibitionist:Hey Icy....you are pretty idealistic....
It's quite impossible to remain in love after,say,10 years. Your marriage may last but that doesn't mean your love is still there. You might be together for the sake of kids or coz it's convenient to remain married or whatever.
And let's face it, men are naturally promiscuous- you may still be in love with him after 20 years but he may be screwing ard with other women for all you knowSighhhhhhhhhhh......the problem is, it's hard to find a man who will stick to you for life.
Sad but true. Right guys......?
Well, u can't please everyone....Originally posted by mushigen:Your argument is highly flawed. Since you used mothers as example, I'll go along that line.
You don't sleep with your mother. (Sleep here is metaphorical).
Your mother is not the mother of your children.
You don't get to choose your mother.
It's like saying all swans are white. What one needs to do is find a black one and the theory goes down the drain.
Not all children love their mother like you do.
I may love my mum forever, but it does not mean I will also love my spouse forever. The only similarity between mothers and wives is their gender.
getting that cert, then can get the HDB flatOriginally posted by Exhibitionist:Sometimes I wonder, what's the point of getting married?? 'Coz most marriages start to flail after 7 years or thereabouts anyway. Let's face it, there's no such thing as true love that will last a lifetime....right...?
Can someone EVER find love that will last? Coz there's absolutely no such thing.
And I've always thought that for gals, marrying your best guy friend is the best way to go.
Hmm...any thoughts...?
I think you are very deprived.Originally posted by Exhibitionist:Let's face it, there's no such thing as true love that will last a lifetime....right...?
Hmm...any thoughts...?
"marrying ur best guy friend" is probably ideal, provided u 2 can bring ur friendship to the deeper level that combines love AND body...Originally posted by Exhibitionist:Sometimes I wonder, what's the point of getting married?? 'Coz most marriages start to flail after 7 years or thereabouts anyway. Let's face it, there's no such thing as true love that will last a lifetime....right...?
Can someone EVER find love that will last? Coz there's absolutely no such thing.
And I've always thought that for gals, marrying your best guy friend is the best way to go.
Hmm...any thoughts...?
Originally posted by Exhibitionist:Sometimes I wonder, what's the point of getting married?? 'Coz most marriages start to flail after 7 years or thereabouts anyway. Let's face it, there's no such thing as true love that will last a lifetime....right...?
Hmm...any thoughts...?
Just to add on... my mum and dad marriage is arrange. My dad got to see my mum only on wedding night. They remain happy and raised 6 children. My dad passed away last year. My mum still misses him badly.Originally posted by ^spidee^:Love that lasts a lifetime is all around, you just have to look a little closer. An example is the late Mr. and Mrs. Ong (the previous President and First Lady of Singapore). I believe that their love for each other was true and everlasting... Remember that he played "Yue liang dai biao wo de xin" on the piano on a TV show, dedicated to his wife? True love definitely exists, I'm starting to believe it now![]()
a lot of couples are not so 'lucky'. i am happy for you.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Just to add on... my mum and dad marriage is arrange. My dad got to see my mum only on wedding night. They remain happy and raised 6 children. My dad passed away last year. My mum still misses him badly.
On the other hand, my wife parent marriage is self arranged. They met, par tor and marriage. Though they are still living together, the hardly talk. Anyone open mouth is alway, waiting for a fight.
There is a big contrast in the above two marriages but it prove one point. Marriage is about two person living together blah blah blah... So it take two to make it work .... There must be communication. I am on my 21 years of marriage and I still love my wife very much though she did one time she mentioned about divorce but now she is making effort lor... It happen when I lost my job five years ago and I hardly talk to her after that.. I felt ashamed then. So there must be communication. I hope we can last another 21 years.....
Originally posted by Exhibitionist:Sometimes I wonder, what's the point of getting married?? 'Coz most marriages start to flail after 7 years or thereabouts anyway. Let's face it, there's no such thing as true love that will last a lifetime....right...?
got license to make love?Originally posted by Exhibitionist:Sometimes I wonder, what's the point of getting married?? 'Coz most marriages start to flail after 7 years or thereabouts anyway. Let's face it, there's no such thing as true love that will last a lifetime....right...?
Hmm...any thoughts...?