Are you condoning such act ???Originally posted by ditzy:Hahahahah, kaypoh tio soot, hahahahaha.![]()
I do not mind tio soot. It is the parents I sympatised. How in the world they raised such children .... By eating and drinking they are already defying the law.... yet they got the cheeck to glare at me. I only wish they alight first and I got the opportunity to tell them to clear the rubbish. Never mind the social ettique but the least respect the next passenger who is going to sit there ....Originally posted by ditzy:I'm not condoning anything, I'm just laughing at you tio soot by a someone you deem a youngster.![]()
maybe their parents also like that and therefore they got this sort of attitude from them. anyway, its hard to find civil minded people like u nowadays. a clap for you.Originally posted by ditzy:I also dunno how they raise such children, but if they're 18/19 years old already, their parents must be doing something right.![]()
Until I saw it maybe I will post... I am sure u b around to add on to the topic ....Originally posted by ditzy:Luckily you never see people jaywalk, otherwise I dunno what you'll post here.![]()
Thank you, thank you very very much!Originally posted by dibilo:maybe their parents also like that and therefore they got this sort of attitude from them. anyway, its hard to find civil minded people like u nowadays. a clap for you.
Thanks.. but I am sure many of us here have similar experience to share right???Originally posted by dibilo:maybe their parents also like that and therefore they got this sort of attitude from them. anyway, its hard to find civil minded people like u nowadays. a clap for you.
erm the just leave there first whats wrong? you are the one who is presuming that they litter you know its convenient to leave the things there rather than holding it till they get off.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Took an SBS bus today and sat behind a young couple. About 18 / 19 years old. The boy was drinking and using the laptop. The girl was eating. After she finish, she give the paper bag to the boy who place the rubbish on the floor.
I told them in the first place you are not allow to eat and drink in the bus. Now they little the place too. The girl snap back at me say she onli leave the the rubbish there. When I alight I reminded them to clear the rubbish and they just glare at me. Why is today youngster like tat ..???![]()
welcome very very much!Originally posted by ditzy:Thank you, thank you very very much!![]()
leaving crunch and dropping them on to the floor cannot consitute cleanly. When u eat and u drop the food, would u pick it up and put away properly? No, so far I have not seen anyone doing that. Then again, why leave it under the seat instead of putting it somewhere in the lap or someplace where u will not conveniently forget.... ?Originally posted by hisoka:erm the just leave there first whats wrong? you are the one who is presuming that they litter you know its convenient to leave the things there rather than holding it till they get off.
and the eating and drink rule its there but i feel that its meant to be broken cos i see no real reason if you eat and drink cleanly
i said eat cleanly if your definition of eat cleanly is crumbs and what not all over the place then i'm afraid we have widely different standards. btw i will pick up assuming i drop it( i don't cos i dun eat food that can drop easily in the bus unless the bus go and e-brake).Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:leaving crunch and dropping them on to the floor cannot consitute cleanly. When u eat and u drop the food, would u pick it up and put away properly? No, so far I have not seen anyone doing that. Then again, why leave it under the seat instead of putting it somewhere in the lap or someplace where u will not conveniently forget.... ?
Welcome to the real world Origamist!Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:I only started taking bus recently. The last two months, I have seen some people taking slip of water. There was this man who open his bag to take a sandwich out to eat. Then he put the wrapper into his bag. This is what I call consideration to a little extent. I did not mind the eating, it is the littering part. The will invite insect and the bus will smell too..... That's why I open my big mouth and hope they will pick it up.. ( I saw the girl did not finish her food and put it back in the paper bag ).... and the drink also will spill....
I am not looking for quarrel. If you look at your earlier post. You started pointing the finger at me first. I did not reprimand the couple. I merely told them that they should not eat in the first place and worst to put the rubbish below the seat. Then they say they put there first. So I reminded them not to forget their rubbish. Is there anything wrong with the statement? Do I sound like I was looking for fight. I feel sad for today society that young adult is behaving like this. I'm not wrong from all these reply that Singapore is really sick in that many don't understand the need for consideration towards others. There are people supporting these kids that eat and litter here on the bus!!! By the way, I mentioned that that rubbish was under the seat when I talk to them. If they had hold on to it, I have nothing at all to say...Originally posted by hisoka:i said eat cleanly if your definition of eat cleanly is crumbs and what not all over the place then i'm afraid we have widely different standards. btw i will pick up assuming i drop it( i don't cos i dun eat food that can drop easily in the bus unless the bus go and e-brake).
i did say its convenient to leave the thing there where it doesn't obstruct you right? as long as you remember its fine wherever you put it, dun get worked up on the small details.
oh i not saying that his/her civilmindedness is wrong, in fact i appluad it but its to be used correctly and in the right event. the way it was put, a lecture/reprimand was given, on accounts of presuming they were littering. since they may not have been goign to litter i think a reprimand was wrong. a reminder maybe but even that is implying an insult that they are inconsiderate(liken it to you taking a sweet and while you have just put the sweet in your mouth, some one comes up and says remember to throw it in the bin hor, not sure about others but i would feel slightly insulted by the speaker feeling the need to tell me that which is basic behavior)
kkz sorry for the tone but i do stand by the statement that the reminder is still an accusation of sorts and thus offending to them(and you still did accuse them "wrongly" that they were littering), and okz i assumed you reprimanded cos thats what i inferred from your initial post( no quarrels but do go read it again it does sort of imply it). i was just saying that what you did wasn't that good because you were accusing them of littering ( i see that as your main point since you said, i think, that you were fine with the eating.) which they haven't done up to the point you had words with them or afterwards sicne you alighted earlier than them.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:I am not looking for quarrel. If you look at your earlier post. You started pointing the finger at me first. I did not reprimand the couple. I merely told them that they should not eat in the first place and worst to put the rubbish below the seat. Then they say they put there first. So I reminded them not to forget their rubbish. Is there anything wrong with the statement? Do I sound like I was looking for fight. I feel sad for today society that young adult is behaving like this. I'm not wrong from all these reply that Singapore is really sick in that many don't understand the need for consideration towards others. There are people supporting these kids that eat and litter here on the bus!!! By the way, I mentioned that that rubbish was under the seat when I talk to them. If they had hold on to it, I have nothing at all to say...
Maybe you are right.. I take it that firstly they eat, which is wrong. To put it on the floor is tentamount to littering.. so I open my mouth... I'm quite sure there are not going to clear it because like I mention why put on the floor and not holding on to it. The girl had nothing to do while the guy were using the lap top. BTW from the lap top screen, can see they are polytechnic students that why I assume they are 18 or 19 years old.Originally posted by hisoka:kkz sorry for the tone but i do stand by the statement that the reminder is still an accusation of sorts and thus offending to them(and you still did accuse them "wrongly" that they were littering), and okz i assumed you reprimanded cos thats what i inferred from your initial post( no quarrels but do go read it again it does sort of imply it). i was just saying that what you did wasn't that good because you were accusing them of littering ( i see that as your main point since you said, i think, that you were fine with the eating.) which they haven't done up to the point you had words with them or afterwards sicne you alighted earlier than them.
i'm not saying its right to eat in the bus i'm saying its not that wrong, as in its wrong but acceptable to an extent such that i wont say its completely off-limits or condemned. the littering again i say that you were presuming, i do not encourage or aprove of the littering on the bus scenerio but it was never proven to be done