Originally posted by shade343:But their dialysis center is quite simple mah...and they still help the patients which is more important right?
but you are only guessing. maybe it is sponsored. we dont know for sure right?Originally posted by the Bear:well, think about it.. there were 8 tanks... so, maybe at a discount.. they cost $50,000
that's a lot of charity money..
Originally posted by dragg:but you are only guessing. maybe it is sponsored. we dont know for sure right?
Originally posted by shade343:Hmm..If Im not wrong, a lot of stuff at NKF is sponsered item right? Even the condominium from CDL. It was all sponsered.
He's young....and dense at the same time.Originally posted by the Bear:cash... what we need is cash so that we can help the patients..
a fishtank in the office is pointless..
a condo? we could do with the quarter million to buy a whole lot of dialysis machines..
get it??
sheesh, shade, you're dense, you know?
Hey bear! Thanks for the stuff you posted hereOriginally posted by the Bear:cash... what we need is cash so that we can help the patients..
a fishtank in the office is pointless..
a condo? we could do with the quarter million to buy a whole lot of dialysis machines..
get it??
sheesh, shade, you're dense, you know?
Wah lau, is there a need to explain to your friends?!Originally posted by shade343:Hey bear! Thanks for the stuff you posted hereNow I can show them to my frens who scold me for not donating to NKF.
Originally posted by shade343:Hmm..If Im not wrong, a lot of stuff at NKF is sponsered item right? Even the condominium from CDL. It was all sponsered.
Originally posted by elindra:I never donate to NKF. I don't like the way they get donations. I mean even if the prizes are sponsored, wouldn't it be better to use that for the needy instead of giving it away as prizes. Plus, using these gifts to entice people to call to donate so that they can win these prizes is like subtle gambling in a way.
yah I know. They say me not altruistic mah cos I never donate only know how to say this say that...Originally posted by M©+square:Wah lau, is there a need to explain to your friends?!
Do you know what is meaning of :donation??
Tell them you support KDF lar.Originally posted by shade343:yah I know. They say me not altruistic mah cos I never donate only know how to say this say that...So I told them that NKF is rich and the whole show is like a buisness rather than a charity. Then they ask to imagine myself as one of the patients lor. Then they say, how would you feel if ppl say this about the NKF...so I dunno what to say
Same thing applies when other ppl talked bad about ppl you affliiated with. Will you retaliate? For me, I will, even though that I know he or she is correct. But one must know how to look deep, don't just see and mesmerize by the surface.Originally posted by shade343:yah I know. They say me not altruistic mah cos I never donate only know how to say this say that...So I told them that NKF is rich and the whole show is like a buisness rather than a charity. Then they ask to imagine myself as one of the patients lor. Then they say, how would you feel if ppl say this about the NKF...so I dunno what to say
Same thing applies when other ppl talked bad about ppl you affiliated with. Will you retaliate? For me, I will, even though that I know he or she is correct. But one must know how to look deep, don't just see and mesmerize by the surface.Originally posted by shade343:yah I know. They say me not altruistic mah cos I never donate only know how to say this say that...So I told them that NKF is rich and the whole show is like a buisness rather than a charity. Then they ask to imagine myself as one of the patients lor. Then they say, how would you feel if ppl say this about the NKF...so I dunno what to say
but this is done partly to upkeep the image of NKF. though charitable, it is nonetheless a big corporation. it is known that they have millions in backup savings. do you expect to see a cluttered, decrepit NKF?Originally posted by the Bear:they could easily say "sponsor correctly".. besides, you know how expensive it is to upkeep those tanks?
Oh my dad was making the comment on Saturday when we saw that disgusting ad that why NKF has to resort to giving away prizes when Renci doesn't.Originally posted by the Bear:with that, i wonder if the Renci thing has these "prizes"?
i don't donate to that one in their shows.. but occasionally in other ways..
Why should an IPC be run like a corporation? It's intention is not to make money, but to help the less fortunate.Originally posted by dragg:but this is done partly to upkeep the image of NKF. though charitable, it is nonetheless a big corporation. it is known that they have millions in backup savings. do you expect to see a cluttered, decrepit NKF?
As for the CEO, he has to behave like a CEO of a corporation too. you dont expect him to live or act like NKF have not enough funds right?
people will have something to complain or write about regardless of what NKF and its management do. the important thing is to donate freely as your heart tells you. but refrain from being critical as this will not help anybody, especially the patients who really need the donation.
Seriously, I really hope you can quote me some links to those news and facts up there!! Urghh.. I told my dad some facts like what you said up there and in the end kena scolding.. Keep saying got proof then talk.. Have to help him do the donation calls oso!! Felt so disgusted!!! He even insisted that I shld donate a bit of money to them monthly when I work.. I said I rather give more to SPCA or CWS.. Siao one.. He made 6 calls already.. Imagine that money goes to SPCA or CWS, how much it'd be a help to them? 30bucks can buy a big pack of cat food(3kg) already!! Can eat quite long for a cat leh!! Plus he donate 10bucks to them monthly!Originally posted by the Bear:you guys want to know why some people like me are against donation to NKF?
well, not too long ago, their CEO was inviting himself to lots of overseas seminars and flying 1st class.. if i'm not wrong, he was bringing his wife along, 1st class too... but that's been stopped after everything blew up and the press got a hold of it..
ever see their "offices"? tropical fish tanks everywhere... not cheap.. i would say about $10,000 each fish tank.. what was shown on TV where the patients were given dialysis, were about 8 of the tanks visible..
someone i once knew went to visit their office and commented on the luxurious office surroundings.. the person said "people give us money, we spend lor"
NKF has sponsored about 3 to 4 mini-series already.. just how much of charity money went into production of the series?
i'm not sure of one of the incidents which ended up in the papers, but a family was actually rejected by NFK when their child was strickened with kidney failure.. if i'm not wrong, it was because they were unable to pay or something like that? there was a thread on it...
most of all, i was "donating" $10 a month from my visa card... when i stopped it, guess what they did? they sent their legions of "patients" to keep calling my mobile, sending text messages and sending me letters to make me feel guilty about stopping my donation... this kept going for a month... until i threatened one of the "patients" and told him that he would feel indebted as NKF has "saved his life" but he should never ever condone a charity wasting funds..
i thought it was a low-down trick sending people in to make people feel guilty for stopping donations.. i now feel better donating more to the St Vincent de Paul's society to help the poor directly at my local parish..
well, these are the few reasons why i would not have anything to do with NKF... they've stopped being a charity, they're now a thinly disguised profit-driven organisation whose sole purpose seems to be raising money...
Institution of Public Character.Originally posted by dragg:sorry. what is IPC?