Hey I got that BXG link last night while doing research too..I think I might go for that one..although a bit expensive, after you get the moves you can always practice for free on your own somewhere.. I think most likely I'll go for Muay Thai, but am going to search around a bit more first...thanks for your information. And I agree that most fights always end up on the floor sooner or later.Originally posted by gentlerock:Hey Perseus,
You portray yourself as a novice, but you've got good eyes....I'm a hobbyist and amatuer....but I'll air my views anyway.
Honestly and sadly, there is no such thing as self-defence. "Self-defence" is a term invented by lawyers for court cases. Like it or not, this is often how a street situation is won:
- Hit first (the one who hits first usually wins).
- Hit from behind.
- Have some reliable friends with you, even in a so-called "one-to-one" fight.
- Run damned fast - only an idiot will stand around after a fight.
I'm not kidding....the above DO happen and no martial art can teach you how to handle them.
Coming back to the arts.....its not really the art that counts, but the person. Give a Ferrari to a lousy driver, give a Honda Civic to an expert driver......let them race through a difficult circuit.....after the Honda crosses the finish line, the novice in the Ferrari will still be wondering what the appropriate gears are for each part of the track.
Being a not-so-bright person, I favour arts which are simple, easy to grasp and definitely without all those complicated fancy helicopter acrobatics. The simplest ones are also usually the free-style ones which leave a lot to your own creativity (eg. boxing, kickboxing, Judo, etc.)....which makes them not so monotonous. Having said that, if you've trained hard and smart enough....any common art (TKD, Karate, Judo, etc.) can be good.
Importantly, there must be that element of human-to-human interaction - ie. contact sparring. The closest thing you can come to fighting is contact sparring (although they're still very different). Here's some places which have it:
- Muay Thai at BXG (http://www.bxgfitness.com).
- Wing Chun (there's a Kiwi teaching, quite rough, but no website).
- Boxing at Kadir's (http://sgboxing.tripod.com/).
- any other place with contact sparring, regardless of the art.
I've recommended only stand-up styles this time because its best to learn stand-up fights before going into groundfighting.
Lastly, please realise that this is something you can't learn by watching, reading, etc. You have to be out there sweating it out, drilling, training, conditioning....
Hey, if you don't mind, after your decision is made, let us know which direction you're headed.
Yeah, BXG is a good place to start. Look for Joe - he the friendly and humble guy who owns the place, is an enthusiast and is into other martial arts too (ie. he's not "blinded" by one art and try to promote only muaythai), and has professional fighting experience in Thailand too.Originally posted by PeRsEuS:Hey I got that BXG link last night while doing research too..I think I might go for that one..although a bit expensive, after you get the moves you can always practice for free on your own somewhere.. I think most likely I'll go for Muay Thai, but am going to search around a bit more first...thanks for your information. And I agree that most fights always end up on the floor sooner or later.
well there are 2 schools of thoughts. One prefer to focus on techniques the other prefers to focus on ki.Originally posted by Bloop...:Here's another one - http://www.ki-aikido.com.sg/ Slightly different Aikido... softer, more fluid... uses Ki and even less strength than the other Aikido.
i dun want to sound offensive....but i ever went there to play their full contact sparring...some of them really jia lat...i'm normal build, 1.74m bout 70 kg,i go there already can tear some of te so called seniors apart liao...those age bout 27 to 33 there...but never try wid their teachers,only wid their better students..all older them me..Originally posted by samadhi_fire:How about trying out Kyokushin Karate? It's not called the strongest Karate for nothing.
Full-contact sparring is a regular feature of training but for beginners, the intensity will be regulated. Training is cheap as well - Where else can you pay $30 a month for 3-4 sessions a week from top-notch Senseis?
Eh... check out www.ikosingapore.com for a list of dojos and more information. I recommend the Honbu dojo at Orchard Towers. The Sensei was an uchi-deshi(indoor disciple) who lived and trained at the Honbu dojo in Japan.
Kyokushin Karate is a very practical art for self-defense due to the nature of training. The Gurkhas have a Kyokushin Dojo in their camp at Mount Vernon and the local black belts take part in international competitions regularly. One of the local black belts came in 7th in the last Asia open in Bali last year.
Just curious, which dojo did you visit? Hopefully, not the Orchard Towers dojo. Haha I can garuantee you that the black belts there are all zai zai standard. One of them just broke my nose 2 weeks ago as well. There's also the Fighters Training Program there for those who want to train for competitions.Originally posted by bo liao:i dun want to sound offensive....but i ever went there to play their full contact sparring...some of them really jia lat...i'm normal build, 1.74m bout 70 kg,i go there already can tear some of te so called seniors apart liao...those age bout 27 to 33 there...but never try wid their teachers,only wid their better students..all older them me..
Hai ya.. dun say wat strongest karata, if u learn "wing chun", everydau practice hard, i garenty u beat the living hell out of a kyokushin karata practiceper.same goes for other martial art, u hv good staminer, got strength, some knowlegde of ur opponent,can tahan pain..u already win liao lor..![]()
Haha eh brother, I never say strongest MARTIAL ART. I said strongest KARATE. The way you say - "everydau practice hard" in Wing Chun CONFIRM "beat the living hell out of a kyokushin karata practiceper."Originally posted by bo liao:Hai ya.. dun say wat strongest karata, if u learn "wing chun", everydau practice hard, i garenty u beat the living hell out of a kyokushin karata practiceper.same goes for other martial art, u hv good staminer, got strength, some knowlegde of ur opponent,can tahan pain..u already win liao lor..![]()
they are like giving way to the otherOriginally posted by gentlerock:
learn sword fightingOriginally posted by PeRsEuS:Does anyone know of a good martial art to take up?
I was thinking of taking up a martial art..but not sure which to go for.
I've read that most instructors don't really care about self defense anymore, but more on competition elements.
Besides, I'm kind of dubious about taking the neighborhood TKD classes as I've seen some kids there who are half my height having a brown belt or something, and looking at the way they punch and how it ends up in a flabby shake, I seriously doubt even with all the right techniques they have enough strength to ward off a full sized attacker. (No offense intended)
I was thinking of Muay Thai as it seems more unique and adapted for street defense plus it brings fitness and really good physical conditioning, had a patient once who looked like he could take a piece out of Jean Claude even though he was a really small sized dude.
I don't need anything fancy, just something that works. Any ideas?
From a site I've seen, they tell you that Karate is really good for blocking, if you're fast enough to think about which stance to use to block any punch. And tae kwondo is more for performing really cool kicks. The funniest part this guy said was "Animal kungfu is great, if you're the animal that they're teaching you to fight like, so if you're learning the praying mantis style, you best be a praying mantis yourself"
Would appreciate some information on this, thanks![]()
you can do kung fu?!?!?!Originally posted by gentlerock:Hey Perseus,
You portray yourself as a novice, but you've got good eyes....I'm a hobbyist and amatuer....but I'll air my views anyway.
like kendo? Not cheap lehOriginally posted by the.raven:learn sword fighting
No, but I can sux real well...Originally posted by the.raven:you can do kung fu?!?!?!
hehe, u are correct...its te same place..i go wid my friend...yes, their black blet guys are good, no doubt.they can flip here flip there..but mayb i never make myself clear.. i mean their seniors is not those black blet lah...i dun hv tat standert..is those seniors age 27 to 33 ppl...not black blet instructors there..hahahaOriginally posted by samadhi_fire:Just curious, which dojo did you visit? Hopefully, not the Orchard Towers dojo. Haha I can garuantee you that the black belts there are all zai zai standard. One of them just broke my nose 2 weeks ago as well. There's also the Fighters Training Program there for those who want to train for competitions.
As for the other dojos, I have no experience with them but if you did go to Orchard Tower dojo, then maybe you damn zai lah! Haha but seriously, the black belts and instructors at Orchard Tower dojo are all very very good.
i also never say strongest martial art..hahaha...Originally posted by samadhi_fire:Haha eh brother, I never say strongest MARTIAL ART. I said strongest KARATE. The way you say - "everydau practice hard" in Wing Chun CONFIRM "beat the living hell out of a kyokushin karata practiceper."
Anyway, for those who have never seen Kyokushin fighting, here's a highlight video of one of my favourite fighters, Ryu Narushima.
http://s36.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=2LBIV9L8IPXKM0YBMJQ9NK442H
Btw, Kyokushin Karate is full-contact sparring, not point/touch sparring.
Haha say properly lah. Seniors can mean senior belts or senior in age. Hmm... there are some "senior in age" seniors who are pretty good you know, esp the more senior belt ones. Junior belts of course not very good lah - still learning the basics what. Haha the black belts instructors, besides "flip here flip there" can compete on the same level, if not higher, than the gurkhas!Originally posted by bo liao:hehe, u are correct...its te same place..i go wid my friend...yes, their black blet guys are good, no doubt.they can flip here flip there..but mayb i never make myself clear.. i mean their seniors is not those black blet lah...i dun hv tat standert..is those seniors age 27 to 33 ppl...not black blet instructors there..hahaha
those black blet instructors are damm impressive, when they lik ....er...dunno how to say also lah..
Haha we both cannot say strongest martial art, but I can say strongest Karate!Originally posted by bo liao:i also never say strongest martial art..hahaha...
i mean anytype of martial arts, if u¡¡¿©Ã´