well, that may be true, but is he worth that much admiration? Do u deem him as an eligible bachelor?Originally posted by elindra:Different people have different definations of successful. He is doing ok for a guy his age, but don't forget that there are people his age who don't even earn 3k or even have savings.
As well, there are people who are earning around his salary range and don't have savings and investments.
any girls here wana share your views on this guy friend of mine?Originally posted by shade343:ok what...at least his net worth is more than me...![]()
there are flaws in your presentation.Originally posted by B_ored:Have a close guy friend who is currently 29 years old, monthly income is about $4K+. Owns a 3 room flat and staying with mum but has recently bought another 5 room flat in town area and to move over. He is also contemplating buying a car in the near future for convenience sake... Dun ask me why i know but he has over $50K in cash and shares investment.
Now, the question: is he consider a succesful person at his age? Some of my guy friends seems to envy him .. but why? He is not exactly very rich.. for that kinda admiration.
Some of my girl friends then commented that its not so easy to find a guy who earns that income and has so much savings and property at his age. Is that true? Thought his savings is not that much?
comments pls..
Sorry but are you jealous of the admiration he is getting?Originally posted by B_ored:well, that may be true, but is he worth that much admiration? Do u deem him as an eligible bachelor?
Originally posted by dragg:80% cash
there are flaws in your presentation.
1. he is only 29 and is not eligible to buy HDB flats, resale or otherwise. so it is not possible for him to [b]own a 3 rm flat!! unless he bought it with his mother. if that is the case, chances are he is still servicing the loan. HDB or the bank owns the house, not him.3rm flat is co-owned with his mum. all paid up.
2. since he bought a 5rm flat he should have sold the 3rm. again he is not eligible.ok, think he might be selling his 3 rm flat. or maybe he has secretly gotten married and bought with his wife's name?
3. $50k savings for a 29 year old is impressive. but mixed it with shares it becomes another matter altogether. majority of people lose or have lost heavily in the stock market. [/b]
not that im jealous but think theres no need for the rest to go ga ga over him.. as a girl, its true that he is sort of suffcient in terms of money but he is not exactly that well-to-do. Maybe he is in the 60th percentile in terms of income earned and savings in the Singapore context for his age and that is all?Originally posted by elindra:Sorry but are you jealous of the admiration he is getting?
Well, I don't think there is a need to admire him because I think he is just doing ok as an average Singaporean.
From a girl's perceptive of wanting to settle down, he has the finances to do so in a way, he is eligible in monetary terms and assets ie. No need to worry where to get the money for the wedding, flat etc.
However, I must say your friend seems to be a sensible guy to get a flat and have some savings first before buying a car.
I don't think there is a need to go ga-ga over him as well but I guess those who do are earning a lower income?Originally posted by B_ored:not that im jealous but think theres no need for the rest to go ga ga over him.. as a girl, its true that he is sort of suffcient in terms of money but he is not exactly that well-to-do. Maybe he is in the 60th percentile in terms of income earned and savings in the Singapore context for his age and that is all?
ha, for me, im looking for someone earning at least $8K. that should be enough for wedding, housing, car and misc... plus extras for spa, masssage.. what about u?Originally posted by elindra:I don't think there is a need to go ga-ga over him as well but I guess those who do has a lower income?
As well, not every girl has high expectations so for some of them they feel that what he is earning is already much better then what they think or can have.
As said, I think it is pretty average, but this is my opinion. Someone else might think that is the sky.
You have to consider your own salary in the picture as well you knowOriginally posted by B_ored:ha, for me, im looking for someone earning at least $8K. that should be enough for wedding, housing, car and misc... plus extras for spa, masssage.. what about u?
so guess my judgement is right, he is just a average guy.. .lol...Originally posted by Simple_Bear:Yoz...
How do U rate successful or nt...
In terms of material gains...
If tt the case...he is considered average lohz...lolx...
Cheers...
continue to dream!!!Originally posted by B_ored:ha, for me, im looking for someone earning at least $8K. that should be enough for wedding, housing, car and misc... plus extras for spa, masssage.. what about u?
are you sure $4K + is what an average singaporean is getting? gimme a break!!!!Originally posted by gerrykoh:At 29 he is drawing what an average S'porean guy should be getting.
$50K saving isn't much, it will definately diminish when he owns a car + pay renovation on his flat.
He still has to service hefty housing loan cos 5-rm isn't cheap.
He better get married to a well educated career woman so she can help him with the housing loan or he will end up with very little CPF when he retires.
To be considered very eligible, one should own pte. property & car (most prob paid by rich parents) or have promising career in finance, law or medicine.
shouldnt guys pay for the bulk of things? anyway, so u and your bf are doing ok also. Agree that cash and house should come 1st before a car. kapoh but do u guys earn a combined salary of more than $8k a month? if yes, cannot buy new hdb flat wor..Originally posted by elindra:You have to consider your own salary in the picture as well you knowCan't expect the guy to pay for everything. Just say we currently have all of the above you mentioned except we are putting the buying of a car on hold.
Wow, you are demanding. There really aren't that many young, single men earning 8k/month in SIngapore. Hell, there aren't that many old men earning that much!Originally posted by B_ored:ha, for me, im looking for someone earning at least $8K. that should be enough for wedding, housing, car and misc... plus extras for spa, masssage.. what about u?