Yes, i agree very much to your point. they're too proud to admit that they're wrong. The teacher did not even return the SIM card to my friend.Originally posted by Ito_^:ill juz say in point form, cuz our tutor at poly, a part timer, often threatened us that he will confiscate our handphones at will and sell it for "charity". i've already feedback about this "threat" and he didn't actually do it, so that ends the case. its against our school regulations to confiscate anything pernamently.
anyways..
1. check your school's regulations.
2. demand the teacher return your mobile phone, you have the right.
3. reporting to police doesn't really help, but with a "case" at hand, its easier to threaten the school. at least they noe u mean business.
4. please don't use vulgar when u go complain.
5. go complain to moe with yr parents directly.
teachers are humans oso, they may make rash mistakes and they arent always right. often they are juz to proud to admit their mistakes, or can't even see em.. wad can we do? bring to complaint to moe lor.
but no,its not considered theft becuz yr fren gave it up willingly. but den again, if yr friend didn't, the teacher will have the chance to sabo him or her in school.. who noes, it might be worse when they kick ur fren out of school becuz of dat right?
kan kai bah.. ppl make mistakes de.
go and call lor the reporter will tell you to fark offOriginally posted by y33bas:Yes, i agree very much to your point. they're too proud to admit that they're wrong. The teacher did not even return the SIM card to my friend.
Its really veery basket.
sonner or later i will call my TNP.
If it doesnt work, my friend will report it to the police.
My friend is a good person with good reputation.Originally posted by Gordonator:1st of all, what kind of person is this girlfriend of yours? come to think of it, if she is a good student, behave herself etc, i don't think a teacher will do such a thing outside school.
but if she's an ah lian with bad reputation. then too bad, the teacher is just taking the chance to make life difficult for her.
The teachers very arrogant and too proud of themselves.Originally posted by Gordonator:in that case, i don't see why the teacher refuses to return the phone? it's too much.
u also eyeing TNP phone??Originally posted by FrozernFire:until now, you have not listed out a step-by-step recount of wad happened. tell us that first, before you continue complaining![]()
A very serious look at things here.Originally posted by Jordan:Ok. I will try to be the devil's advocate here. Another analogy.
Smoking is banned in school. Then a student lights up in public in school uniform.
A school teacher saw it, reported it, and the student is punished.
So now you tell me if you still want to defend your friend on grounds that the act is committed after school?
I think the issue is not where it is committed, but whether a school rule is deliberately broken (granted that the school rule states that no handphones are allowed). Don't think the teacher will dare to confiscate if the student is in plain clothes.
On the other hand, the teacher is also wrong in not returning the SIM card.
My 2 cents worth.
Originally posted by LazerLordz:i dun think its theft, its more like robbery or somethign since threats or force was used
A very serious look at things here.
[b]Smoking and the misappropriation of an item is different.The school may get away with smoking punishments because it is already illegal for a minor to be smoking under Singapore law.
No matter the reputation of the student involved, be it good or bad, the teacher's act of taking a student's handphone away OUTSIDE school premises is theft.The law does not care about your role as a student or a teacher in this case.It is pure simple theft, or you could just add in intimidation with intent to steal.
This is not about education anymore.This is a matter of criminal behavior and the abuse of the role of a teacher to "pull rank" on the student, who is a minor under the law and is not in the know about his civil rights.[/b]
Then it can be classified under robbery and criminal intimidation.Possible to add in another count of misrepresentation as the teacher has allegedly used his/her position illegally to exert fear on the student.Originally posted by hisoka:i dun think its theft, its more like robbery or somethign since threats or force was used