eeee ...!!!!!!!!!!!Originally posted by starblue:the flies very clean de wor... i got bathe them before playing with them de wor....
lolz... they specially breed de wor.. if not you can just catch flies and sort them by wing shape, abdomen colour and eye colour de meh??? lolz...Originally posted by crazy monkey:eeee ...!!!!!!!!!!!
lolz... i saw my mentor gas a rat to death, cut off its head, dig out the brain and he ask me to help him mesh it with a homogenizer... lolz... cool....Originally posted by cornyfish2000:I think flies are still not that bad.. back in JC during a Bio pract we were made to dissect rats, gassed and delivered from NUS Animal Holding Unit and preserved in formaldehyde.. yuck! But that's where u see who are the girls with a butcher instinct.![]()
warning for wad???? very gross meh??? ok lah.. then i dun talk about bio le loh... the love of my life... aaaaahhh......Originally posted by CoolMyth:Someone add a warning to thread title....![]()
Oh man, that's gross... Meshed rat's brain.. what was he trying to get out of it?Originally posted by starblue:lolz... i saw my mentor gas a rat to death, cut off its head, dig out the brain and he ask me to help him mesh it with a homogenizer... lolz... cool....then they also bleed rabbits. like puncture a hole in their delicate ears and draw bags of blood from it.... for the antibodies that they culture in those rabbits....
they wanted to extract certain proteins from the rats brain... you see, you can calcute proteins in bacteria cultures but they are too little. in a rats brain, you can get about 1-2g of it. more efficent.Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Oh man, that's gross... Meshed rat's brain.. what was he trying to get out of it?
As for the rabbits i've read of people developing anti-human immunoglobulins from them (i think), used to treat certain autoimmune diseases. Interesting.
poor labbitsOriginally posted by starblue:lolz... i saw my mentor gas a rat to death, cut off its head, dig out the brain and he ask me to help him mesh it with a homogenizer... lolz... cool....then they also bleed rabbits. like puncture a hole in their delicate ears and draw bags of blood from it.... for the antibodies that they culture in those rabbits....
not to mention rats, mice, pigs, pigeons, doves, fish, tortoises, guinea pigs, etc......Originally posted by crazy monkey:poor labbits![]()
Brain proteins.. reminds me of prions..Originally posted by starblue:they wanted to extract certain proteins from the rats brain... you see, you can calcute proteins in bacteria cultures but they are too little. in a rats brain, you can get about 1-2g of it. more efficent.
and yes, they inject rabbits with antigens, let them grow the antibodies, then bleed them for the antibodies loh....
Ewwwwwwwwwww..........Originally posted by starblue:not to mention rats, mice, pigs, pigeons, doves, fish, tortoises, guinea pigs, etc......![]()
no monkeys ?Originally posted by starblue:not to mention rats, mice, pigs, pigeons, doves, fish, tortoises, guinea pigs, etc......![]()
You bet.Originally posted by crazy monkey:no monkeys ?![]()
Originally posted by cornyfish2000:You bet.
I've walked past the NUS animal holding unit at Science fac before and thought i heard the shriek of monkeys.
yup.. of cos got.. how can i forget that.....Originally posted by crazy monkey:no monkeys ?![]()
Great. I've always had something for marine creatures, as you can see from my nick.Originally posted by starblue:yup.. of cos got.. how can i forget that.....
cornyfish, yah, i will be doing marine biology, but it's a level 4 module... which i, of cos, will take.![]()
Originally posted by starblue:yup.. of cos got.. how can i forget that.....
cornyfish, yah, i will be doing marine biology, but it's a level 4 module... which i, of cos, will take.![]()
marine creatures??? hmmm... how much you know about them???Originally posted by cornyfish2000:Great. I've always had something for marine creatures, as you can see from my nick.![]()
lol u study life science.Originally posted by starblue:how cornyfish know???![]()
is it? I challenge you to model the rate of oxygen exchange in haemoglobin using a second order differential equation, lets see your bio good enough or not.Originally posted by starblue:warning for wad???? very gross meh??? ok lah.. then i dun talk about bio le loh... the love of my life... aaaaahhh......![]()
Isn't this more mathematics than biology?Originally posted by the.raven:is it? I challenge you to model the rate of oxygen exchange in haemoglobin using a second order differential equation, lets see your bio good enough or not.
Oh, aquarium fish keeping is one of my hobbies.. and my knowledge of marine creatures extends only as far as their common names and how to keep them properly.Originally posted by starblue:marine creatures??? hmmm... how much you know about them???