2 consecutive days already sick of it. who can eat 365 plates? i have heard of cookie monster but not char kway teow monster.Originally posted by BITCHY_BITCH:1 day = 1 plate
1 year = 365 plates
imagine how much FAT!!![]()
i agree with all except the first part.. i dont see why people that do not have good property should invest in cars.. as cars is something that the value drops quickly. it is certainly not the best investment.. unlike property, dont you agree? my main point is i think that uncle should invest in property instead of cars.Originally posted by gentlerock:Eh, don't look down on hawkers and food-sellers ok? Some examples:
I know this guy who sells pork in the wet market. Although he lives in an HDB flat, he drives a Merc S class (heard he didn't take a loan for it).
Some people sell kaya toast and curry puff....sell until open so many branches in Singapore and become public listed company somemore!
You see the Newton Circus hawkers? They wear singlets, shorts and slippers. Their customers are all in office wear. But after work, the customers take MRT home.....whereas the hawkers drive their Mercedes home (this was reported in the papers a few years back).
Years back, I actually knew this local engineering undergrad who wanted to go into the fruits distributing business after he graduated (at that time, the economy was good). This was because he knew someone (his relative) who was in that business and made more than most engineering grads ever would!
Orhhhh....simple. He was waiting for the 5 years contact to finish (when you buy HDB, you can't sell it within the first 5 years).Originally posted by coffeeortea:i agree with all except the first part.. i dont see why people that do not have good property should invest in cars.. as cars is something that the value drops quickly. it is certainly not the best investment.. unlike property, dont you agree? my main point is i think that uncle should invest in property instead of cars.
Actually, its good to be your own boss, have freedom, even if you earn less. But the panic is when business goes down lah. Sometimes, I feel like giving up and just work for others....and just work like a robot from 8-5, then collect salary at the end of the month.Originally posted by 'm back:whith all the communications skills grad have (or anyone not a grad), might as well do everything alone (d man sure u will hav to when u r your own boss and have to oversee or do everything on your own) and reaps the profits instead of working for others getting the same pay every month !![]()
Or hor!!!! IRAS knows abt it or not??Originally posted by gentlerock:The best, perhaps, is to have the best of both worlds. Work for people, but have a sideline.![]()
no wonder so many people look so tired at the office.Originally posted by gentlerock:Actually, its good to be your own boss, have freedom, even if you earn less. But the panic is when business goes down lah. Sometimes, I feel like giving up and just work for others....and just work like a robot from 8-5, then collect salary at the end of the month.
The best, perhaps, is to have the best of both worlds. Work for people, but have a sideline.![]()
huhOriginally posted by gerrykoh:Already some graduates are driving taxi, maybe in future u will find them working in the casinos as waiters
maybe, I'll find grads working as road-sweepers as well?Originally posted by gerrykoh:Already some graduates are driving taxi, maybe in future u will find them working in the casinos as waiters
cwoOriginally posted by BITCHY_BITCH:maybe, I'll find grads working as road-sweepers as well?![]()
No, PERM STAFF!!!!!Originally posted by StaplerCreamPie:cwo
Originally posted by BITCHY_BITCH:No, PERM STAFF!!!!!![]()
PSLE grads!!Originally posted by BITCHY_BITCH:maybe, I'll find grads working as road-sweepers as well?![]()
they dare not employ malay bcos their degree is sub standard, imagine i got one B two C and GP 4 n i cant enter u but my classmate fail thier A level and they can enter U bcos they are bumiputra,n they have quota system, malay 55% chinese 35%, n indian 10%Originally posted by kingofbeholder:malay fries kway teow? u(or newspaper) dont tiger me hor
thats meOriginally posted by nospam:The problem with University. Everyone has a degree these days. Sigh. Some degree holder dun even know what they sre studying after grad.
bo bian... if everyone has a degree, those who dun will lose out if they are competing to get a job... this is true in general... unless the job requires a specific skill which is not offered in uni... e.g car mechanic...Originally posted by nospam:see la. the blind rat following the other rats.
i nv said so, and i agree with ur last sentence... but not all u-grads think they are kings/queens, i have to refute that... i m juz saying that our society believes in meritocracy, so if got chance, most wld follow the uni path..Originally posted by nospam:come on la. it is more about eq than iq to survive. Singaporeans all too smart liao. but wat differentiate the successful is their ability to think out out the book. Look at all the haolian Grad who think they are KINGs and QUEENs with their "DEGREE". how to survive long?KNN not everyone academically smart one lor. then u mean wat? those poly ite grad sure die in future? Pls la. a degree is just a faster way to success. not a guranteed.
Originally posted by nospam:the wind is my fart to them. anyway they think got degree is big fark but when they step into the working world...hehehe culture shock.
Originally posted by mercurialz:... relax, dun need to stereotype every uni grad... u might hv met with proud ones, but i dare say most are very much like normal pple u find on the streets...