INTERESTING...Originally posted by Devil1976:[QUOTE]Originally posted by pulse:
[b]Hi there,
What an interesting thread of discussion this is. So far, there's been views from Buddhism, Taoism and Christianity. So let me contribute the Islamic perspective.
The Quran, which incidentally enough is the Quranic scriptures, mentions that the meaning of the word Islam is peace. It's a literal translation that's reiterated by this verse in the Quran.
"Religion with God means a commitment to peace. [The Quran, 3:19]
In this vein, Islam, or peace, was the first thing that God imparted to men. Islam, hence, is not a particular faith, but the theme of all of the world's religions. Whichever faith you delve into, you'll find elements of peace, or Islam, in it.
The Quran explains the situation quite succiently.
"And verily, We have sent among every nation a Messenger (proclaiming): 'Worship God (Alone), and avoid all false deities.' Then of them were some whom God guided and of them were some upon whom the straying was justified" (Quran 16:36)
Hence, all religions belong to God, and preach the most essential message of peace.
In Islam, there is a beautiful concept that is called fitrah.
"Then set your face upright for religion in the right state-- the nature made by Allah in which He has made men; there is no altering of Allah's creation; that is the right religion, but most people do not know." (Quran 30:30)
Fitrah refers to the nature of man that God has ordained for all mankind. All men were created pure monotheists, but his upbringing and the surroundings push him towards other creeds, other forms of religious expression. It is man who has gone about twisting the numerous revelations that God sent to us.
"How can you say, 'We are wise, and the law of the LORD is with us'? But behold, the lying pen of the scribes has made it into a lie." (NIV Bible, Jeremiah 8:
Fitrah manifests itself when a baby reaches out for his mother's teat for milk; that is a sign of the fitrah working where intelligence has yet to be nurtured. When a human cries out for a god in times of dire peril; that is the person's fitrah reaching out towards the Creator. When the study of genetics established the fact that all animal, plant and human life share the same genetic language of A (adenine), T (thymine), C (cytosine) and G (guanine), we know that the Creator is One who had established One blueprint for life. Fitrah is all of these and much, much more.
Well, anyway, this is my 2 cents worth...hope I fulfilled FireIce's expectations of not posting something that's gonna run for at least ten thousand pages.
friends, of course not a problem, i neber come here to make enemies... anyway it is okie to say anything about your faith, but to move my heart back into your world, it is difficult as if i will to pull you out of your world. Kyo may be aggressive, but i think everyone has his own temper and views, maybe he just like to post his stuffs this way... nobody can judge a person by the cover, or by some comments he made, maybe he is a damn good guy, or maybe im a criminal, who knows...Originally posted by HitSquad:my dear jedi-knight obiwan,
that is exactly it. how can true religion be only what u like?
how can u paint God in the way u like Him to be?
the answer is no, u cannot.
then it wouldn't be the True God.
like it or not, Jesus is the Son of the One and Only God.
ever think abt it? the whole world hates Christianity more than Islam, or any other religion. Why?
becos, we SO insist that we r right n anything else is wrong.
we cannot shuddup. i'm sorry.
becos we love u n the rest of this world, we cannot shuddup.
u can continue to da and ma wo men, but we cannot shuddup. what we have to say is true, we say u r wrong, not becos we hate u, but becos we want the best for u. we want u to know the real God.
n know this, that He made u in His image.
u cannot make Him in ur image (or the way u like Him to be).
that would be nothing but an idol.
the True God, does not take to being shaped into ur liking.
He is zhen chai shi liao.
i like u, u rn't as aggressive n rude as someone else here.
can we be friends?
on the last day of this world (if it comes while u r still alive) or when u r dead, u will know that i am right and regret that u did not listen to the gospel of Jesus Christ.Originally posted by Wes Brown:Do you know why a lot of people hate christians and manchester united fans? because they have one thing in common: ARROGANCE.
Well...there are people that have seen the things abt Buddha..its just that it is written in scriptures and Buddhist readings..that most ignored it...well..look at the story of Damo..remember abt the shadow that he has imprinted on the walls of the cave...well..if i am not wrong..the shadow is still there...so..what does that mean??Originally posted by HitSquad:well doom, wherever buddha went. nobody saw it. but 40-50000 saw Jesus resurrected after He died on the cross.
as for sai baba, he never walked on water nor calmed the storms. and if u ask him to die, i dont think he dares, becos he doesnt know if he can come back.
1) let me clarify, there was NO original bible. what we have now is the canon. and its the inspired word of God, which doesnt mean it has no spelling mistakes, becos God who is loving did not have the writers as robots, copying every word He said, but expressing the general meaning with their own literary flair. now if u understand literature, u will know that literary flair doesnt affect the textual meaning in any way.Originally posted by Doom:[QUOTE]i'm sure that you agree with me that bibles nowadays are not really the true contents as it was generations back..coz you should also know that some contents will be altered..if you feel offended..i apologoze...i dun mean to insult anyone here or offend anyone...
you are right...he is afraid to die..but who isn't??no-one knows what it is like after death..will there be life after death??or will you just vanish in the face of the earth..well..as i have mentioned before..every religion has its own endings and its own starting...so whatever it is...its really up to the believers...
..and i mean only some...not all christians are doing it..they are just trying to push more people to hell by the way that they are spreading the news...and i really mean those very persistant once who does not have respect to other religions...imagine i was approached by these 3 chrstians in my home..and infront of my home's religious altar..they are preaching the gospel to me..i mean..how absurb can these people get and some even going to the extend of insulting the other religions of praying to mud idols and statues..well...if they want people to respect christianity..in the first place..these people should learn to respect the other religions...i must say again..please do not feel offended..sorry...
sorry to disappoint u, but adam and eve were not jewish. neither were noah or abraham (initially for the latter) ...Originally posted by Wes Brown:I will die knowing that I have made the right choice by not believing in Jesus the false god. What makes you think that the god personifies himself in Israel to save the world. Why does he not appear in China instead? Please lah, Christianity is a Jewish religion, just like Islam is an Arabic religion and Taoism is a Chinese religion.
arrogance? hmmm. in that i know that God is right?Originally posted by Wes Brown:I am indeed irritated, but not by your religion. It's your ARROGANCE that pissed everyone totally off. Why would I be irritated by something that I know is not true.
Well...so far..i have been trying to be as objective and as tactful with my words as possible..and if thats the case..then let me ask you.,..when is the end of the world as said in the bible?? some biblic Scholars decifered it to be yr 2000..but what happen??we are still here typing to each other over the internet...Originally posted by HitSquad:1) let me clarify, there was NO original bible. what we have now is the canon. and its the inspired word of God, which doesnt mean it has no spelling mistakes, becos God who is loving did not have the writers as robots, copying every word He said, but expressing the general meaning with their own literary flair. now if u understand literature, u will know that literary flair doesnt affect the textual meaning in any way.
the Bible while with spelling errors here and there, is in a way, inerroneous. and even more so than the Pope. meaning that it is not wrong. don't believe it? well when the end of the world comes, all will be clarified. hope u clarify it sooner though, cos it might be a little too late then.
2) i know that Jesus wasnt afraid to die for u. sai baba is not Jesus.
3)well, trust me, Christians who dont evangelize to u, just dont give a shit abt u. well, those who r like me, well, we're more free and more determined. n no matter how irritating u find us, and even considering us 'insulting' to preach in front of ur home altar, then i'm sorry, but we hv to do it, becos we dont wanna see u burn.
its all abt love, crazy though it may sound. love for u.
anywayz, if we were to show reverence to ur altar, then we might as well not worship God, becos we shud worship God only, and only Him shall we serve.
we r not afraid of ur altar. it has no powers, i am sorry to say.
i realize i am very blunt. but i really wanna speak my mind here.
so many fellas been launching into vulgarities abt us here, at both me n rapture, that i think its time i gave the truth to u pple without any 'icing'. just the plain hard facts.
think abt it this way. the sunrise every morning is beautiful.
well, God could hv just made a plain old boring sunrise to get the function of warmth and photosynthesis to start kicking off in the early morning.
But no. He chose to call forth and paint a beautiful sunrise each morning for u.
Why? Because He gives a shit. hv a nice day pal.sorry, but shit is not a vulgarity. look it up in the dictionary.
Thank u.
Originally posted by Wes Brown:Your arrogance is not due to the fact that you know you are right, but because you insist that you are right. The government is promoting religious harmony and here you are, trying to irritate everyone. I wonder if the ISD has done wrongly by detaining the muslim extremist and not you.
and if you think that i'm getting aggresive and rude..then i apologize for that...Originally posted by HitSquad:1) let me clarify, there was NO original bible. what we have now is the canon. and its the inspired word of God, which doesnt mean it has no spelling mistakes, becos God who is loving did not have the writers as robots, copying every word He said, but expressing the general meaning with their own literary flair. now if u understand literature, u will know that literary flair doesnt affect the textual meaning in any way.
the Bible while with spelling errors here and there, is in a way, inerroneous. and even more so than the Pope. meaning that it is not wrong. don't believe it? well when the end of the world comes, all will be clarified. hope u clarify it sooner though, cos it might be a little too late then.
2) i know that Jesus wasnt afraid to die for u. sai baba is not Jesus.
3)well, trust me, Christians who dont evangelize to u, just dont give a shit abt u. well, those who r like me, well, we're more free and more determined. n no matter how irritating u find us, and even considering us 'insulting' to preach in front of ur home altar, then i'm sorry, but we hv to do it, becos we dont wanna see u burn.
its all abt love, crazy though it may sound. love for u.
anywayz, if we were to show reverence to ur altar, then we might as well not worship God, becos we shud worship God only, and only Him shall we serve.
we r not afraid of ur altar. it has no powers, i am sorry to say.
i realize i am very blunt. but i really wanna speak my mind here.
so many fellas been launching into vulgarities abt us here, at both me n rapture, that i think its time i gave the truth to u pple without any 'icing'. just the plain hard facts.
think abt it this way. the sunrise every morning is beautiful.
well, God could hv just made a plain old boring sunrise to get the function of warmth and photosynthesis to start kicking off in the early morning.
But no. He chose to call forth and paint a beautiful sunrise each morning for u.
Why? Because He gives a shit. hv a nice day pal.sorry, but shit is not a vulgarity. look it up in the dictionary.
Thank u.
Dun be So How Lian jus becos u posess a 10 inch dicky!!!Originally posted by Wes Brown:I am indeed irritated, but not by your religion. It's your ARROGANCE that pissed everyone totally off. Why would I be irritated by something that I know is not true.
Thats rite Obiwan..Originally posted by obiwan:You are right, arrogance, but at the same time also ignorance and sturborn. his mind has already been "fixed" and "washed" entirely with his god. He will accept nothing except that. But still I am happy at least what I believe there are ppl who support me, so all my friends, in their words, we meet in hell... or is it paradise, who knows....
It is not about love for us that your ppl came to witness, the love i should said is for your own god more. As for the altar, indeed it has no power, since when we said it got powers, you have been a buddhist and taoist, who told you got powers...
But..but..but.. they are concerned. You might burn in hell eternally, and within the confines of heaven gates, they will see it and wept.Originally posted by dotandcross:It is no fun talking about religion. It is worst with senseless merry go rounding/carousel style quarrelling..
But if all go to heaven I would be VERY LONELY after Judgement Day? <- Which day issit huh? I can't remember liao... Wish to note it down in my calendar...?Originally posted by Illegal Operation:But..but..but.. they are concerned. You might burn in hell eternally, and within the confines of heaven gates, they will see it and wept.
Think my 'belief' is BETTER..? Don't even need what TEXT or STUPID SCRIPTs... WAHAHA... Whenever you HAPPY you just CURSE and SWEAR.... It's ALL in YOU!Originally posted by dotandcross:HMMM............................................................................................................................................................................. ... .................................................................................................................................................................................... .......................................................................................................................................
SO ludicrious, quarrelling over something which lead to nothing. I guess you guys just love berating each other over such matters.. Sometimes i onli read the first few pages then give up liao cos the stuff is purely regurgitated. You people and your senless quotations, explanations, theories, self belief, 'me' and my 'religion' onli, dun believe at your own 'peril', take it at your risk attitude.
It is a bit senseless to talk about one's religion to santify or to glorify it among others. Nobody seeks to know what, which religion is the best. You believe what you want to believe, it is as simple as that. I learned that myself.
To those who wants to followers, it is fine by me, but PLEASE dun treat non-followers as people who are condemned to eternal hell blah blah blah..
Similarly, to those non-followers, dun bamblast those followers with scientific proof and wayward reasonning kekekeke (i admit i was one of those).
It is no fun talking about religion. It is worst with senseless merry go rounding/carousel style quarrelling..
You SURE..??! I WANNA SEE!!!Originally posted by RuthBaby:Dun be So How Lian jus becos u posess a 10 inch dicky!!!
I LOVE YOUR SMILE!!!Originally posted by HitSquad:![]()