Originally posted by YI:should you ever get started.. start small okay and don't be greedy. open up your eyes to see who your real friends are. those asking you to buy may be selling behind your back. haiz..
lol..Originally posted by dragg:i am sure it did not cross my friends' mind that they will end up losing 200k.
you just dont know about temptation.
both my friends started playing small-time like most people.
shares is just like gambling. the winning feeling gives you the false sense of invincibility.
anyway it is difficult to explain unless you fully understand the ins and outs of trading.
i have lots of colleagues and other friends who have suffered losses, though not as much as 200k.
good luck to you.
btw if you can, dont even start.
this is the ultimate advice of all time! only invest with your extra. leave behind a portion for emergency though.Originally posted by Qitai:Just don't gamble with money that you do not have. The rest is your problem.
yup, i mentioned earlier that after considering the amt to save and spend, the rest can be used to do other things...Originally posted by YI:this is the ultimate advice of all time! only invest with your extra. leave behind a portion for emergency though.
$5-10 in your wallet is hard times only if you have no one to turn to.Originally posted by mercurialz:yup, i mentioned earlier that after considering the amt to save and spend, the rest can be used to do other things...
i hv been thru hard times, and i know the importance of being prudent... i m sure many of u should hv also been thru times where u only had, may be at most $5-10 in ur wallet/acct...lol ...... i will nv want to go back to that state again...
Originally posted by mercurialz:lol..... u gotta it rite... i dun even know where else got info on how to start besides the same few websites, although i do know the procedures le..
... well... we shall leave it to fate as to whether i can embark on this investment journey or not...
it is precisely the point... considering that u have to manage ur own pocket money / watever-money, and by a certain age u will also feel pai seh to ask money from your parents... the other reason y i said that was also becoz i wanted to learn how to be debt-free, so borrowing from frens is out of the qn...Originally posted by dragg:$5-10 in your wallet is hard times only if you have no one to turn to.
Just walk into any security house such as DBS, UOB or OCBC etc. They will do everything for you...just bring along your IC.Originally posted by mercurialz:
hi all,
wonder if anyone here has ever dabbled in shares b4... care to share exp?
would like to know where to get more information as i have only basic knowledge in it...
tks..
Originally posted by Transmission:
actually if you dun mind can browse thru newspaper and look for some introductory workshop.. quite a number bout investments.. go for it man.. i believe somehow or rather u can at least know abit from those talks.. and get to meet people with the same frequency as u! And the risk is just 3hrs of your time IF you find those workshop useless..
All the best!![]()
u mentioned trading online... could u kindly elaborate on that? which website? coz all the info i hv now is that i will need to do trading via a broker...Originally posted by Joshua1975:did not really read all post but one can do online trading without any broker...
never trust any broker but yourself. they are not call broker for nothing.
one must read up and it lots of read up that you need. things like ~
*company profile, what is the ROE, PE, AE, etc etc...
*market sentiment, technology going strong? bio? semi con?
*world events like war, natural disaster etc.
many more to know... but one must start somewhere and it good that your are now. try get to know more ppl in diff field.
check it hereOriginally posted by mercurialz:u mentioned trading online... could u kindly elaborate on that? which website? coz all the info i hv now is that i will need to do trading via a broker...
account yes... broker no... but broker firm yes. online trade without broker advice will have a cheaper brokeage fees at 0.28% where any trade done through a broker will have a brokeage fees of 0.33%.Originally posted by dragg:it is the same for online trading.
you still need an account and a broker.
correct. but whenever you have problems it is the broker who will solve it for you.Originally posted by Joshua1975:account yes... broker no... but broker firm yes. online trade without broker advice will have a cheaper brokeage fees at 0.28% where any trade done through a broker will have a brokeage fees of 0.33%.
correct me if i am wrong on the 0.33% as i had never done so with a broker.
yes... you are half right, it a team of broker but they will not advice you. not like 1 on 1 the normal phone call trade.Originally posted by dragg:correct. but whenever you have problems it is the broker who will solve it for you.
technically it is the same. only difference is broking charges are slightly lower.
when you open a online account they will give you a broker contact. when you trade online you dont call your broker. but there is a broker handling your account.
i call the broker for information too.Originally posted by Joshua1975:yes... you are half right, it a team of broker but they will not advice you. not like 1 on 1 the normal phone call trade.
Originally posted by dragg:i call the broker for information too.
then i hang off and trade online.
brokers, like broking house cannot be trusted.Originally posted by Joshua1975:ohhhh... must have jump a few cents on that counter liao...
nothing meant, i just feel if they are good they will not be there working for others and live on commission earn.
kekeke... something u dun agree with?Originally posted by Joshua1975:![]()
remisiers work for themselves.Originally posted by mercurialz:i came across the poems website too, but too tired to read abt it now... juz played soccer, now my eyelids weigh 1000 tonnes...... but i think having a broker for advice-seeking purposes and then trading online by urself sounds like a nice idea... but wldnt it mean that u will have to pay commission to 2 parties? i dun think any broker will offer advices for free..