advice-seeking is good but try not doing or getting it from a broker that is my advice.Originally posted by mercurialz:i came across the poems website too, but too tired to read abt it now... juz played soccer, now my eyelids weigh 1000 tonnes...... but i think having a broker for advice-seeking purposes and then trading online by urself sounds like a nice idea... but wldnt it mean that u will have to pay commission to 2 parties? i dun think any broker will offer advices for free..
lol...Originally posted by Joshua1975:anyway if you are going into shares... well, all i can say it no diff from a full time job. you need to be working as read up info, world news etc...
if you are working a real work for full time, than buying share for long term investment are what some ppl like you will be doing. just another form of saving which will have a higher risk of losing all of it.
just make sure the coy dun close shop the very next day you buy it share the day b4...
no.Originally posted by mercurialz:kekeke... something u dun agree with?![]()
CAO, citiraya and ACCS are good examples of how one counter can kill your hard earned savings.Originally posted by Joshua1975:anyway if you are going into shares... well, all i can say it no diff from a full time job. you need to be working as read up info, world news etc...
if you are working a real work for full time, than buying share for long term investment are what some ppl like you will be doing. just another form of saving which will have a higher risk of losing all of it.
just make sure the coy dun close shop the very next day you buy it share the day b4...
cann't agree more.Originally posted by dragg:CAO, citiraya and ACCS are good examples of how one counter can kill your hard earned savings.
all three are 'good' companies.
Originally posted by charlize:I've always been interested in learning how to buy and sell shares.
But reading all the shit in the papers about bad corporate governance makes me think that I would be better off buying 4D and toto or keeping my cash under my bed.
all 3 have diff story... not going into the details...Originally posted by dragg:CAO, citiraya and ACCS are good examples of how one counter can kill your hard earned savings.
all three were 'good' companies.
my friend, a first timer bought 10 lots of ACCS at 80 cents. something happened, now 17 cents.
you can always go for online brokers that charges cheaper comissionOriginally posted by mercurialz:
yup, i have read that somewhere... but how to get to know brokers?
pardon me, but i was actually doing a quick cal on the loss that ACCS shares has inflicted on ur fren, and to say the truth, for a first timer, it does seem quite a heavy loss...Originally posted by Joshua1975:all 3 have diff story... not going into the details...
but ACCS still a good buy at 0.165cents. even it at 0.17 now. it TA is at 0.20+/- now. just when who is going to buy up and what plan he has for the coy. anyway the coy is not in debt if it what it say and no one going after them for $$$.
i think almost all bad news is out now unless still have some have not dig out yet.
and yes who are the ppl involve...
i ever went into the eq website juz for a very brief duration, and i got a feeling that the website is no longer valid as i thot i came across a few broken links... may be i will go there to check again...Originally posted by shade343:you can always go for online brokers that charges cheaper comission
www.eq.com.sg
www.poems.com.sg
Actually...ACCS is a good example on how much $$$ you could have made when you short sell.Originally posted by dragg:CAO, citiraya and ACCS are good examples of how one counter can kill your hard earned savings.
all three were 'good' companies.
my friend, a first timer bought 10 lots of ACCS at 80 cents. something happened, now 17 cents.
lol... pai seh missed this post... no lah, i went to in the morning, and came back by noon... i m typing with heavy eyelids... trying to stay up until aft dinner b4 i go kun...Originally posted by Joshua1975:no.
just wondering you play soccer but last entery from you are at 4:28 b4 this saying you just come back at 5:09?
must be boring game for you.![]()
Broken links? Dunno leh...but the website is in operation.Originally posted by mercurialz:i ever went into the eq website juz for a very brief duration, and i got a feeling that the website is no longer valid as i thot i came across a few broken links... may be i will go there to check again...![]()
i agree sometimes this strategy works very well, esp when u dun go for the big profit margin, and itz probably the one that i might use as a newbie... but sometimes itz just very difficult to spot loopholes in a company's financial report... lol...Originally posted by shade343:Actually...ACCS is a good example on how much $$$ you could have made when you short sell.
I know 1 of my grandma's fren, who was a first timer, got burned badly when she bought creative shares at $25 this year..Originally posted by mercurialz:pardon me, but i was actually doing a quick cal on the loss that ACCS shares has inflicted on ur fren, and to say the truth, for a first timer, it does seem quite a heavy loss...
btw, is there a minimum no. of lots that u have to buy? e.g, i decided to go buy Singtel shares, and since i m a newbie, i decided to juz buy 1 lot only... allowed?
i know the website is still in operation, juz felt funny when i was surfing ard the site that time... may be i blur lah... btw, wat r the linkpts for?Originally posted by shade343:Broken links? Dunno leh...but the website is in operation.
I think eq is better than poems becos it gives you linkpoints every time you trade shares.
you can earn linkpoints by trading shares if you own a max card or union card. These linkpoints can be exchanged for gifts or vouchers from NTUC.Originally posted by mercurialz:i know the website is still in operation, juz felt funny when i was surfing ard the site that time... may be i blur lah... btw, wat r the linkpts for?
hmm... creative shares? i thot that belongs to a category called "blue chip" or something? highly volatile from what i gathered when i watch the news on tv... $25/share is pretty siong for a first-timer, and if buy more than 1 lot, i think the adrenaline when it fluctuates can be extremely unbearable..Originally posted by shade343:I know 1 of my grandma's fren, who was a first timer, got burned badly when she bought creative shares at $25 this year......and she has yet to sell it....
oh.. that linkpts... got it...Originally posted by shade343:you can earn linkpoints by trading shares if you own a max card or union card. These linkpoints can be exchanged for gifts or vouchers from NTUC.
Im not sure if Creative is considered a blue chip...but I dont really consider it a blue chip because its not really stable. Creative shares comes in lots of 50 shares. I heard from my grandma that the poor thing bought around 10 lots of it.Originally posted by mercurialz:hmm... creative shares? i thot that belongs to a category called "blue chip" or something? highly volatile from what i gathered when i watch the news on tv... $25/share is pretty siong for a first-timer, and if buy more than 1 lot, i think the adrenaline when it fluctuates can be extremely unbearable..![]()
*gasp*...Originally posted by shade343:Im not sure if Creative is considered a blue chip...but I dont consider it a blue chip. Creative shares comes in lots of 50 shares. I heard from my grandma that the poor thing bought around 10 lots of it.
well...for this year, it did fluctuate like crazy. Early this year it was trading at around $16 before it shot untill $27. Last Friday's price was $13.20....Originally posted by mercurialz:*gasp*...... that's a quite a bit... and oh yah, u mentioned that the shares were being offered and not bought from the exchange... but Creative shares are those that fluctuate like crazy one rite?
i must go read up some more... but definitely not 2day... i can peng san anytime...