Not sure but probably some hardware problems...Originally posted by dreamlander:Why? virus? adware?
Microsoft? Reliable? IF so then they wouldnt be many complaints right?Originally posted by dreamlander:you mean your notebook crashed when you do the windows update. how can that be? I thought microsoft is sort of reliable. I got sp2 and still so far no problem...
I think nowadays the computers are not advancing so much. Not like last time where the pentium / ram keeps increasing. Right now, when I saw the computers available on the market, the hardware / software sold seems rougly the same - half a year ago and now, except that the harddisk space keep increasing and the price keep dropping.Originally posted by mercurialz:my 2 cents worth: depending on whether u r into the latest hardware, e.g graphics cards... if u are only a normal end-user who needs a PC to surf and do simple work, then ur PC can prob last for abt 3-5 yrs... anyway, u can always do an upgrade of components... so i wonder wat u actually mean when u asked abt the lifetime of PC...
dun download anything that u r not familiar with.. defrag ur comp occasionally... burn files that are not frequently used into CDs... install anti-virus, spy-ware removal tools and firewall... etc...
personally, i dun think a PC will crash that easily... i personally have used a P3 700MHz comp for like 5-6 yrs and it still works fine until the time i got a new comp...
microsoft is very reliable, you can always coutn on them to screw upOriginally posted by alexkusu:Microsoft? Reliable? IF so then they wouldnt be many complaints right?
Originally posted by hisoka:microsoft is very reliable, you can always coutn on them to screw up![]()
agree ............Originally posted by hisoka:microsoft is very reliable, you can always coutn on them to screw up![]()
nice one.Originally posted by hisoka:microsoft is very reliable, you can always coutn on them to screw up![]()
u r rite in saying computers are not advancing much due to inadquency of our current technology...Originally posted by dreamlander:I think nowadays the computers are not advancing so much. Not like last time where the pentium / ram keeps increasing. Right now, when I saw the computers available on the market, the hardware / software sold seems rougly the same - half a year ago and now, except that the harddisk space keep increasing and the price keep dropping.
I'll planning to change my PC once every 2 - 2.5 years. So as to keep up with the technology advancement. Enough time for me to save money and buy a new one.Originally posted by mercurialz:u r rite in saying computers are not advancing much due to inadquency of our current technology...
rgd hardware, prices of RAMs r a bit like stock market... sometimes up, sometimes down, so u will need to monitor the prices... i rem buying a PC2700 256MB RAM for abt $50 abt a yr ago... it subsequently rocketed to abt $70+ for some reason, then now drop again...
the other thing is the graphics cards... a lot of new/faster models are being developed, so i think prices fluctuate a lot for this item also...
for harddisk, assuming u r not doing anything that requires a large capacity, i see no reason for changing it often...
software ---> forget abt the decrease in prices... itz hard to come by...
but i think u only need to u/g the components in ur PC maybe once every 2-3 yrs... like i said, unless u r gaming fanatic or something along that line, then u wld prob need to change ur components often...
haha... if all goes well, u dun even need to buy anything... the other thing is that companies like DELL and ACER are coming up with budget comps... i have tried to worked out some cal previously and found that for a mid-range PC, they do have some gd deals...Originally posted by dreamlander:I'll planning to change my PC once every 2 - 2.5 years. So as to keep up with the technology advancement. Enough time for me to save money and buy a new one.![]()
dont install SP2 ........ lots of bugs... stay with SP1Originally posted by X-men:anyone encounter problem with IE 6.0 after installing SP2 on WinXP?
i admit ACER does suck.. but so far i dun really here my frens complaining abt their comps which they bought from DELL... but one gd thing abt them is that they give a disc to reinstall everything back into ur comp if u have to reformat comp...Originally posted by FireIce:anything but Dell
will become Hell.......
windows recovery disc?Originally posted by mercurialz:but one gd thing abt them is that they give a disc to reinstall everything back into ur comp if u have to reformat comp...[/color]
i think so... not sure wat they call it...Originally posted by FireIce:windows recovery disc?
wat i mean is that if u compare a DIY comp against one that u buy from such companies... reformatting is slightly easier since u have the recovery disc in terms of amt of time spent...Originally posted by FireIce:every brand oso give wat
not jus Acer
dun just take "everything" at face value mah... of course u will put back watz impt and useful mah... but i dun think itz juz Windows only rite? dun they give some other useful software?Originally posted by FireIce:and hor, the CD does not give u "everything back"
oni Windows hor........
arbo format liao still put back "everything" kumlan ah
how many can afford original license out of their own pocket?Originally posted by FireIce:DIY one, if u buy original Windows license, u oso can get the recovery CD
my previous PC is about 5 years..my current PC is about 3 years but had a change of 2nd-hand mobo.my original mobo died already....had a few other PCs but I think 5 years is the longest...it was a Pentium100.Originally posted by dreamlander:anyone knows what's the average lifespan of a PC nowadays? any tips on maintaining a PC? Is scanning my computer for virus once a week enough?