I agree with FI. Refomatting and recovery with only have Windows and relevant programs/drivers installed in the PC.Originally posted by mercurialz:dun just take "everything" at face value mah... of course u will put back watz impt and useful mah... but i dun think itz juz Windows only rite? dun they give some other useful software?
maybe he's referring to some older version of P2P software that contains no spyware/adware/virusOriginally posted by M©+square:I agree with FI. Refomatting and recovery with only have Windows and relevant programs/drivers installed in the PC.
All Brand customed PCs comes with Recovery Disc - incentive?
CAre to tell me what 'useful software' you or your friends have gotten?
Originally posted by dreamlander:I think nowadays the computers are not advancing so much. Not like last time where the pentium / ram keeps increasing. Right now, when I saw the computers available on the market, the hardware / software sold seems rougly the same - half a year ago and now, except that the harddisk space keep increasing and the price keep dropping.
Is defrag really useful?Originally posted by ne0matrix:My PC is 4 years old liao. Still going strong.
What I do is I defrag monthly and don't anyhow install programs.![]()
Makes your application start faster lo.Originally posted by dreamlander:Is defrag really useful?![]()
cuz files in my comp are always being deleted and created everyday... so i don't think defrag is actually useful for meOriginally posted by M©+square:Makes your application start faster lo.
Find files faster also.
Just slightly faster.![]()
u got it all mixed up... sometimes when u buy a hardware, say a CDROM, they come with an installation disc that has maybe adobe acrobat or some other softwares...Originally posted by M©+square:I agree with FI. Refomatting and recovery with only have Windows and relevant programs/drivers installed in the PC.
All Brand customed PCs comes with Recovery Disc - incentive?
CAre to tell me what 'useful software' you or your friends have gotten?
lol...Originally posted by FireIce:the recovery CD does not have such s/w
such s/w will have separate installation CDs
and they are usually not very good stuff lah (tts why free mah)
what's the price range you're looking for?Originally posted by ctstalin:my com now 6 yrs liao lor...
anyone know any place got sell cheap and gd 2nd hand laptop?
digitek is gone!!! for good!!!Originally posted by mercurialz:lol...... aiyah, got better than dun hv mah.. i still remember my prev comp got this "recovery disc", win me platform... 3 yrs later when i decided to reformat that stupid comp, the recovery disc failed on me... if u think DELL is bad, think Digitek... i think the company close down or smthing already... if havent yet, bao3 zong4...
last time my computer from IPC, also gone burst now.Originally posted by FireIce:digitek is gone!!! for good!!!
lol....Originally posted by FireIce:digitek is gone!!! for good!!!
yup yup... datamini!!! but no exp with them b4 so dunno... wonder if DELL is going to end up like some of them... personally, i hope not, coz it is actually a gd way for beginners to start b4 embarking on DIY comps...Originally posted by Commander_2224:Anybody still remember that companies like Warnes, Datamini, Creative used to assemble PCs as well?
HP is pretty decent.Originally posted by dreamlander:so any idea what's the best brand? COMPACT? HP? DELL?
Quality always come with a priceOriginally posted by mercurialz:compact & HP merge liao mah... anyway, hp n dell r all respectable brands, esp hp... but if i hv 2 choose, hp is a better bet, but more ex...
DIY best. I would choose HP though.Originally posted by dreamlander:so any idea what's the best brand? COMPACT? HP? DELL?