you never serve before lah.. go serve and you'll know...Originally posted by FireIce:why do u guys think it's a waste of time?
aren't u not proud to serve the country and be a man?
whoa, this old man very wiseOriginally posted by wuming78:when one thinks its wasted its wasted. and since its wasted, there really is no way of making up, not even by living 2 more years, or doing things doubly quick.
anyway there are no shortcuts in life, and no cookie cutter solution to each individual's situation.
He's WUMING!!! wu ling shen hua!!!Originally posted by the.raven:whoa, this old man very wise
I can't understand the mentality of the young teenage boys on SGF over National Service. I've never heard so much unhappiness and complaints from the boys back in my JC, first and second year friends combined. Could it be that the boys in my time were more mature, were prouder to be Singaporeans or looked forward to taking on new challenges outside the safety of books? The only frustration I remember was their finding it alittle harder to get back to studying after a two year hiatus.Originally posted by Harris_JeyaRaj:U try la serving....we spent sweat and blood to protec u women and u expect so many things from us.
U think we r yr slave is it? support country, support u . support parent. What else?
you make me BOILOriginally posted by miss_soojung:I can't understand the mentality of the young teenage boys on SGF over National Service. I've never heard so much unhappiness and complaints from the boys back in my JC, first and second year friends combined. Could it be that the boys in my time were more mature, were prouder to be Singaporeans or looked forward to taking on new challenges outside the safety of books? The only frustration I remember was their finding it alittle harder to get back to studying after a two year hiatus.
When these guys went out to work, their salaries were higher than their female counterparts. In certain professions, their starting pay was the same as, if not alittle higher than, the women who started working two years before them. I've yet to hear complaints from these men when they have to go for their reservist training. In fact, they look forward to it because it's a break from mundane office life.
Anyway, back to the "man slave/supporter of women" bit ... I believe the women these days are fully capable of supporting the country (I gather this means paying income tax/COE/road tax, etc??), supporting themselves, their parents, their children, their MEN and maybe even their in-laws! Sometime in the possible near future, I see them serving Singapore with pride and more of them holding higher ranks in the army![]()
You mean I didn't?Originally posted by dreamlander:you make me BOIL![]()
stop talking so much and go sign on in the army!!
AND STOP PLAYING WORD GAME WITH ME!!Originally posted by miss_soojung:You mean I didn't?![]()
Where' s yr Ang Moh husband?Originally posted by miss_soojung:repeat post
We just marry china and viet brides let them have their angmohsOriginally posted by Harris_JeyaRaj:Where' s yr Ang Moh husband?
Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:I think its the propagenda thingy tat make the public thinki its proud to serve the nation. All the poster, advertistment, act garang only. All wayang, hoax the public. We inside, garang also no use, serve 2 yrs fuc k off. Ppl will not recognize how many miles u chiong, how many rounds u shoot n hit target, how many shi t job u did. Those regulars we work under dun give a damn. Some more, commision officer only entitled to nerd, sissy n most jc students. Wat abt those ite students, poly students, i believe these lots can also do better job. But too bad SAF think they r ah beng n dunno how to lead the men. Regular officers everyday do nothing much to repaid the tax payer money. Wat major cornel, pui! Drink coffee in morning, go officer mess eat free breakfast, go back office read e mail, face the computer, den go meeting in air con room n try to ball lick the high rank officer as much as possible in order to promote. Den nothing to do, disturb the nsf a little bit den go home driving their posh car. This type of job ask bangladesh also know how to do... Still got a lot ah, this type of thing say until tmr also cannot finish... One word, SAF need to lick n lick to survive, those kena lick also feel so shiok n dun think tis disgusting. So do u think its proud or not??
Oh dear ... did I hit some raw nerves?Originally posted by Harris_JeyaRaj:Where' s yr Ang Moh husband?
The part about the regulars i dont agree with u. Brudder, lets be bit fair lah. They regular need to go their own training and exercise too to keep their skills intact.Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:I think its the propagenda thingy tat make the public thinki its proud to serve the nation. All the poster, advertistment, act garang only. All wayang, hoax the public. We inside, garang also no use, serve 2 yrs fuc k off. Ppl will not recognize how many miles u chiong, how many rounds u shoot n hit target, how many shi t job u did. Those regulars we work under dun give a damn. Some more, commision officer only entitled to nerd, sissy n most jc students. Wat abt those ite students, poly students, i believe these lots can also do better job. But too bad SAF think they r ah beng n dunno how to lead the men. Regular officers everyday do nothing much to repaid the tax payer money. Wat major cornel, pui! Drink coffee in morning, go officer mess eat free breakfast, go back office read e mail, face the computer, den go meeting in air con room n try to ball lick the high rank officer as much as possible in order to promote. Den nothing to do, disturb the nsf a little bit den go home driving their posh car. This type of job ask bangladesh also know how to do... Still got a lot ah, this type of thing say until tmr also cannot finish... One word, SAF need to lick n lick to survive, those kena lick also feel so shiok n dun think tis disgusting. So do u think its proud or not??
it seems that you did not have very pleasant experiences with the people in the SAF, and hence your strong feelings!Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:I think its the propagenda thingy tat make the public thinki its proud to serve the nation. All the poster, advertistment, act garang only. All wayang, hoax the public. We inside, garang also no use, serve 2 yrs fuc k off. Ppl will not recognize how many miles u chiong, how many rounds u shoot n hit target, how many shi t job u did. Those regulars we work under dun give a damn. Some more, commision officer only entitled to nerd, sissy n most jc students. Wat abt those ite students, poly students, i believe these lots can also do better job. But too bad SAF think they r ah beng n dunno how to lead the men. Regular officers everyday do nothing much to repaid the tax payer money. Wat major cornel, pui! Drink coffee in morning, go officer mess eat free breakfast, go back office read e mail, face the computer, den go meeting in air con room n try to ball lick the high rank officer as much as possible in order to promote. Den nothing to do, disturb the nsf a little bit den go home driving their posh car. This type of job ask bangladesh also know how to do... Still got a lot ah, this type of thing say until tmr also cannot finish... One word, SAF need to lick n lick to survive, those kena lick also feel so shiok n dun think tis disgusting. So do u think its proud or not??
fancy you to even think of that...Originally posted by miss_soojung:Oh dear ... did I hit some raw nerves?![]()
ABC as in Aligator-Buaya-Crocodile?Originally posted by Ogbunwezeh:Not really ang moh. Those ABC they also like...
He must be the type who got condemnedOriginally posted by wuming78:it seems that you did not have very pleasant experiences with the people in the SAF, and hence your strong feelings!
anyway, just to correct one point - alot of poly students make officers too. the corp is in no way exclusive to A level holders. if one is an ITC holder it is unlikely he can make officer, simply because there are so many poly and jc students to choose from - yes, im afraid the current policy still places certain emphasis on education.
as for the rest of your personal feelings and opinions, i wont try to argue with them. its up to the reader to decide whether he/she finds it reasonable.
He probably is the got medical condition, no matter how he keng, oni got to PES C1L1. kekekekekekeOriginally posted by wuming78:it seems that you did not have very pleasant experiences with the people in the SAF, and hence your strong feelings!
anyway, just to correct one point - alot of poly students make officers too. the corp is in no way exclusive to A level holders. if one is an ITC holder it is unlikely he can make officer, simply because there are so many poly and jc students to choose from - yes, im afraid the current policy still places certain emphasis on education.
as for the rest of your personal feelings and opinions, i wont try to argue with them. its up to the reader to decide whether he/she finds it reasonable.
2 years advantage is that u learn stuff about life and politics. 2 years in another way is also waste yr life since u can finish 3/4 tertiary education with that timeOriginally posted by mach10:Not that i am a fan of pap here, but i would like to highlight to all whining guys here, (i.e. those who whine about NS).
If u find that serving ur 2 dam yrs is a WASTE of time...
ur daddies served too, and they got like $100per mth? or even less. Those situations back then is no joke, imagine Israeli Officers came here to train them? u tink what u went thru is siong? i would like to highlight to u, most of our training nowadays are diluted version of ur daddy's days... very diluted. imagine a PC or sergeant even think of skiving themselves... AND... how much is allowance now? Recruits, the last i heard was like $350? yar, dun tok about $$ inflation rate here, but still. compare an Israeli Soldier and Singaporean Soldier, which u prefer?
2 dam yrs in army is suppose to make u a 'better person', be it towards the positive or negative side. If u can handle NS, u can handle work in the corporate arena. coz ur boss will grill u like ur Officers did in NS. that's if u do something silly.
I tink guys by the time u ORD u should be able to handle different stresses. Overall, being in NS is about managing ur commanders. not so much of they managing you. Coz we can always play taiji and they got all the grilling from their top. With Power comes Responsibilities. So they will be the one being responsible for most of the things.
one senario:
Imagine u have a Female colleague who will complain to u about a male boss,... why complain? coz she nvr go NS. her boss probably was some ex regular. kekekeke
Of coz there are many other good examples la.
But i believe u guys are matured enough not to make mistake as often while u in NS.
Conclusion, NS is INDEED waste of time, BUT, should not be to the extend become waste of life. for me at least its not a waste of my life. Whining too much will probably indicates that u wasted ur 2yrs life there.
If u say in the 2 dam yrs (for me 2.5yrs) u cannot even find a friend. Then, i tink u wasted ur life way beyond...
SAF you mean?Originally posted by miss_soojung:I can't understand the mentality of the young teenage boys on SGF over National Service.
dont even know what is SAF, think it is SGFOriginally posted by gyaradoz:[quote]Originally posted by miss_soojung:
[b]
I can't understand the mentality of the young teenage boys on SGF over National Service.
SAF you mean?
Btw may I know what is your age now since you specified it as YOUR time?